We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rampart View Guest House
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I arrived at Galle Fort from Mirissa via tuk2 and didn't make any reservations. We were greeted by Mrs Rauf and we were lucky enough that there was a room available. The views were amazing especially during sunrise and sunset.
Special mention goes to Mr & Mrs Rauf for feeding us a delicious lunch before we left Galle Fort back to Colombo. We'll be back again soon but this time we'll be sure to make a reservation ;)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hafizzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This b&b was in a perfect location, right on the fort wall. Lovely view from the balcony and roof garden. Rooms clean and tidy . Food very good. Total privacy as the staff did not bother us at all except for breakfast service. Great value for money , good air conditioning. Would recommend. Xxx

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A great place if liquor is not your only motivation :) Right at the beach, with the best view from the room, along with amazing hosts. After a long travel - flight to colombo, direct train to galle, and then walk to the hotel - it was the perfect place to sip a cup of coffee and enjoy the view from the room.
got to know the next day about the rooftop view, which is much better than the room views. Simply amazing to catch up with yourself, a bit of music, and a hot cup of sri lankan coffee :)

Room Tip: Room right in front are the best ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Puru G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Then we came back for an extra two weeks. If you have the time to sit on the balcony, watch life swirling past and soak in the stunning, horizon-wide views of the Indian Ocean... Rampart View (and Galle Fort) will work its magic on you. You breakfast overlooking the ocean. You watch sunsets from the rooftop terrace. You stay in a place other tourists come to photograph. Inside the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and the staff are delightful. The owners of Rampart View are highly respected local people and are unfailingly helpful to guests; offering travel tips, money changing advice, info on the best swimming spots and even helping negotiate rates with a local tuc tuc driver. Everywhere within the Fort is within an easy walk and the Guest House is a destination in its own right. Great value and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are only four upstairs rooms. 1 & 2 are on the breezier, sea-facing side. 3 & 4 have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Located by the rampart of the Dutch fort our upper floor room looked out to sea over the top of the ramparts. Great for viewing sunsets, bridal couples having photo shoots and the daytime influx of school parties and tourists bussed in from the West Coast resorts. Fear not its very quiet part from the 10.00 to 16.00 time with only the sound of the waves to be heard. At night the fort area is peaceful with only the few tourists staying in the fort itself and the locals around.

Comfortable room with goof bed and clean ensuite bathroom. Breakfast were excellent, we would recomend the Sri Lankan options.

The owners were very friendly and helpful.

This was our second visit to Galle and next time we shall stay at The Rampart View.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank HertsOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I spent four nights at the Rampart View Guest House. The people who run the place are extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating.

I chose to buy the breakfast (not included in the cost of the room, but that was okay). It was 500 rupees and when I was given the choices, I said that what I would really prefer was just a bowl of fruit each morning, along with my coffee. They were able to prepare a really nice bowl of papaya, mango, banana, and pineapple for my breakfast, and it was quite satisfying. I was very happy to eat there and not have to walk out of the hotel to look for breakfast.

I would recommend this place without any qualms.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms, all at the same level with the ramparts. I think there is not a bad choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduardo13820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I chose this guesthouse because of the location, and it was perfect. It's quite strange to step outside your room and onto your balcony and be at the same height as people walking along the ramparts! So it's not exactly private, but great for people watching.
The room was very nice, the bathroom was well furnished, with a hot shower.
It was a little bit difficult to get up the steps to my room, especially with my bag (which isn't even a big one!) and you would need to take care if the steps were wet.
Breakfast is served on the balcony. Very nice, but potentially a bit hot (no fan) so you have to hope there's a sea breeze. There wasn't when I was there.
The balcony area is nice, but it is shared, so if the other guests are smokers, it isn't pleasant. In fact someone in the room next to mine smoked heavily on the balcony and I could smell this in my room. I couldn't sit on the balcony when he was there because of this. (I suppose I could have asked him not to smoke.)
The owner is lovely, and very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karentoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Gems
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#13 of 24 in Galle
22 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#15 of 24 in Galle
337 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#9 of 24 in Galle
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rampart View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rampart View Guest House

Address: 37 Rampart Street, Fort, Galle | Sri Lanka, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galle
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £41 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rampart View Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is situated overlooking the sea and it has rooms with sea view. The view of the sunset & sunrise is what unique and the big terrace where the guests could have the sun bath is what differentiates our Guest House. Registered and approved Home Stay Guest House by the Sri Lanka Tourist Board. Free from alcohol.The view of the ocean, Southern & Northern side of galle. It is only ten minutes walking distance from the Galle town to our Guest House.We at Rampart View will deliver reliable and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rampart View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rampart View Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing