We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Every generation was in heaven here”
Luxury villa on a soft sandy beach. sea good for swimming. Exclusive. Ideal for families and couples
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury villa on a soft sandy beach. sea good for swimming. Exclusive. Ideal for families and couples
Sun Rise and Sun set both can be seen from the garden. The villa is on a little headland, The sand is soft and sandy. sea is good for swimming. this is not a crowded beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Luxury villa on a soft sandy beach. sea good for swimming. Exclusive. Ideal for families and couples
Sun Rise and Sun set both can be seen from the garden. The villa is on a little headland,
The sand is soft and sandy. sea is good for swimming. this is not a crowded beach.
The view from the sitting areas and 2 bedrooms are stunning
dinning area has stunning views of the ocean
seating areas have sea views
if you like you can have your dinner inside and still have the sea view
sea room bedroom has 2 queen size beds, Satellite TV, AC, Ceiling fan en suite large bathroom
master bedroom has a king size bed, Satellite TV, AC  Ceiling fan. Sea view and en suite bathroom
Master bathroom with rainfall shower, his and her basins, Toiletries and fresh linen provided.
Pond room and Sea room each has attached bathrooms, which are large and spacious his and basins
Pond room over looks a lovely carp filled pond and pool. King size bed, TV, AC, Ceiling fan
the staff take great pride in laying the table
we have 20 meters of garden along the beach. sea good for swimming
If you wish you may dine inside and still have a stunning view of the ocean
our staff will arrange your meals in the garden. just let us know what you want. No extra cost
comfortable seating inside and still have sea view
ideal for families with children. plenty of space to run around and nothing to stress parents
We have 20 meters of garden along the beach.  plenty of sunbeds and comfortable seating.
have your breakfast on the deck under the warm early morning sun
private pool for South Point Villa guests only
dining under the stars
fish eye view of the properties
Enjoy your meals in the garden
from sea view of south point villa and the beach stretch
South Point Villa is on a little headland - table set side of the headland
Surfing possible far end of our beach.  Surfing instructors available 1/4km away
Oct to April help the fisherman to pull in the boats and pick the catch of the day
Our seafood is catch of the day - a personal chef to preapre all your meals
SrI Lankan rice and curry meal has about 8 dishes. rice, vegetables, meat /fish dish
Sri Lankan rice and curry.  Guests enjoying 10kg of crabs prepared in 3 different ways.
we can arrange an elephant for the day to feed and bath. This contributes to the elephants upkeep
Chauffeur driven vehicles available 24/7.  we have 2 child car seats. our driver can act as a guide
Yoga instructors and Ayurvedha massages available . If you want bring your own oils.
We can arrange your wedding.  firework displays, cultural shows, registration can be arranged.
Deep sea trolling, surfing can be arrange from our beach.
white tea plantation, where tea tours and tasting possible is 15 minutes away.  Herman teas
For groups we have two more beach villas adjoining properties. each has a private pool and sea view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pierrecru...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every generation was in heaven here”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were looking at a tall order and when we looked at the criteria for our family get together. My parents in their 70's, their three sons, wives and 7 grandchildren aged between 18 and 2. This place appeared to tick every box when we booked the trip and smashed the criteria into the stratosphere when we got there. It just got better everyday, to say we didn't want to leave is an understatement.

We had 15 people so hired the Villa and the Abbey, they are next door to each other and each had a pool. Then there was the beach which was only yards away. The bedrooms are massive, air conditioned with adjoining bathrooms. They are kept pristeen by the team of wonderful staff who you barely notice. As you know with kids near a beach, and pool, sand and water was constantly dragged into the houses. You would never know it, gone, before you had chance to apologise to the staff. The rooms were all tidied and beds made before you were back from breakfast and if you wanted coffee, tea or a beer you simply had to ask and you could sit at any of the beautiful parts of the property and enjoy the sun, the shade, the peace and quiet or go and be a part of the action at whichever pool was populated by the kids that particular day.

We stayed for 12 nights and we all ate together at the Villa and spent evenings after at the Abbey. The food was first class and the chefs would cater for whatever tastes you wanted. We all love spicey food and the local dishes were superb and graded heatwise to peoples different preferences including dad who asked for super spiced and got exactly what he wanted! That was him happy for the whole fortnight. They also catered for the younger children and made excellent pizza's, soups, pastas and burgers when they fancied some less exotic food.

Everyday was made special by the staff, hand picked by Sonali who we did not meet, but we did meet her son who took the older kids quadbiking while we visited their family tea plantation. We also met her husband who dropped by to deliver another beautiful cake and a welcome bottle of wine. Nothing was too much trouble.

We ate out a couple of nights at posh hotels in Galle and realised the food at home was just as good so not worth the effort. What was lovely was taking a 2 minute tuk tuk ride to the nearby Fortress Hotel for pre dinner cocktails which we did a couple of times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonder 5 star staff who were phenominal
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Thank you very much for your review - We try very hard to make the stay of our guests memorable. We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your family to south point properties once again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwachelle
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

South Point Villa was a true highlight of a Sri Lankan family holiday we’d been planning for many years, it did not disappoint. Our party included three generations, from three year olds up to their sixty five year grandparents, and everyone’s needs were perfectly catered for.

The villa itself is magnificent, the charm of old-world luxury with all of the modern conveniences you’d expect. You are on the edge of a secluded beach which is essentially your own. The staff are exceptionally warm and accommodating, and the freshly prepared traditional Sri Lankan meals kept getting more lavish as the days went on. This holiday was a truly special occasion, and on our last night where the beach was lit with torches, and and we sat gazing at the sunset, we all promised we’d return.

To be frank, it’s tempting to create a criticism of South Point Abbey to ensure the secret doesn’t get out, so we are not fighting for a booking next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa with wonderful friendly staff.”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We only spent three nights at South Point Villa but wished we could have stayed for longer. The villa is very spacious with a lovely swimming pool area with direct access to the beach. The staff were all lovely, particularly the chef who went to great lengths to make sure our meals were all delicious. Two of the bedrooms face the sea with french doors out to the garden, but the third bedroom is at the back of the house and suffers from road noise. This is a slight draw back, but given all the villas along the coast are fairly close to the road it is unavoidable and all the rooms were decorated to a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at South Point Villa and would definitely like to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly staff!
Liked least: The road noise in one of the rooms.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
We thank our guests for their review.

South Point Villa has been built in the centre of the property. We are sorry if the noise had reached our guests in the pond room.

By Aug 2013 the new highway being constructed 8 to 10 miles inland will be completed and extending to Matara, which is beyond our properties. The traffic will no longer be diverted onto the coastal road past south point villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nathanfam...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the South point villa for the second time around with our friends and family occupying the Abbey and the Chalet . We first stayed at Southpoint in 2011 and our daughter fell in love with the beautiful villa. In fact she loved it so much she chose to have her wedding reception there.

We had a wonderful wedding reception in the Villa for 25 guests who had travelled from London, The Netherlands, the USA and Australia . The majority of our guests stayed in the Villa, the Abbey and the Chalet. Sonali Goneratne the owner was admirable and she organised everything for us so well. All our requests were met without any problems and her suggestions and input were invaluable. We had a fantastic and magical 10 days during our stay. It was truly wonderful and exceeded all of our expectations .The food , the dancers and the fire works made our daughter and son in law ‘s wedding reception very special and one they and their guests will remember forever . All our guests enjoyed their stay so much and were so impressed that many are keen to return. They all commented on what excellent value for money the properties were. The food was simply incredible and we very much appreciate the dedication and enthusiasm of all the staff- special thanks to Gamini and Janake the chef who consistently impressed us. All the staff from all three properties really worked hard to make our stay very special .We were pleasantly surprised at how carefully the costs were managed . We had daily discussions about our requests and all our needs were catered for. We were so happy with the overall expenses as were all our guests.

We will, without hesitation be back to this Sri Lankan paradise

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Staff, Food
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at South Point Abbey for 5 nights following a 2 day adventure trip, rafting and kayaking on the Kitulgala river.

As soon as we arrived at the Abbey, and were welcomed in such a friendly manner, we knew that we had made the right choice.

The Abbey was beautiful - wonderful setting, beautifully furnished, generous bedrooms, all en-suite. The veranda table was beautifully laid up for every meal, and I have to confess that we never set foot outside the villa/beach for the entire duration of the stay.

The beach directly in front of the villa was stunning - fabulous waves, clean water, clean sand. Coral reef for snorkelling, with beautiful fish. Rocks for crab searching. Our children (9, 13 and 14), loved having the company of the 2 dogs, Lisa and Sandy (optional - only if the guest wants them), the 2 rabbits hopping around, the fish, not to mention all the fascinating wild-life.

We spent hours in the pool, or reading cosily on the veranda as the rain lashed down (October trip!). The sea and pool were beautifully warm.

The food was exquisite. All beautifully prepared and served. You could wander in to the kitchen at any time to watch Shantha, the chef, create his feasts. Sujith, the house-keeper, and his helper Mahesh were on hand permanently but so discreetly. Serving meals and delicious drinks. The villa was always clean and tidy - don't know how they did it - never actually saw them working, but magically folded clothes and made beds appeared as if by magic. Sujith has the most lovely manner - such a warm and friendly smile. He even helped us to pack at the end, collecting belongings, and finding things we would definitely have missed.

There is a road right behind the villa, where vehicles do tend to make frequent use of their horns. During the day, it was no problem at all, as the soothing sound of the waves drowned out any unpleasant noise. We did, however, use earplugs at night, to avoid being woken up in the early morning by the lorries and buses passing by.

These 2 villas are a gem to find. We hope to be able to return with extended family, to take both the villas side by side, as you definitely get 5 star hotel treatment, with the luxury of no other guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and service
Liked least: The noise from the horns on the road
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian N S
uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“fantastic location-paradise.”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012

we stayed at the villa for our daughters wedding in march. she rented the whole villa and the one next door for friends and family,we stayed at southpoint villa in the lovely fish pond room, which had a large very comfortable bed ,the whole villa was clean and comfortable the staff very attentive and helpful,the chef cooked wonderful meals especially the srilankan chicken curry which one afternoon he showed myself and my daughyer how to make.The wedding took place at the villa and was arranged with a lot of care the manager spent a lot of time with the bride arranging every detail of the day, it was a fantastic memorable day.I would certainly reccomend the villa for a holiday or wedding .The grounds and swimming pools at both villas are kept in good order,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milly B
London
1 review
“A Wonderful Holiday in a wonderful place”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at South Point Abbey. It lived up to very high expectations which is quite impressive! We stayed at Club Villa Bentota and the Frangipani Tree before coming to South Point but it was only when we arrived at South Point Abbey that we truly relaxed. The staff there are wonderful - so smiley, gentle and helpful without being intrusive. The whole family adored Sujeth, Mayesh & Shanta (please excuse spellings!). They really made us feel right at home and they really made an impression on us.

Shantha's food was fantastic - the curries were outstanding and the children loved the calamari and chips and fried fish and spaghetti bolognese, not to mention the breakfast pancakes, the chocolate cake and the juices and milkshakes.

The baby bunnies which Sujeth brought out for the children was a huge bonus and he very kindly took us for a lovely walk through his village, visiting the New Year's celebrations and spotting bats and monkey and birds. What a kind man - we all warmed to him very much.

Of course another thing that made South Point Abbey such a pleasure was the very pretty garden, the fantastic view & the lovely swimming pool - all a very good layout with utterly beautiful views across the ocean. In the house, we found the beds and bedding particularly comfortable and the bathrooms pleasantly spotless and new - all of which I think really go a long way to making one feel comfortable and happy. There are 3 huge double bedrooms upstairs each ensuite and a living room with a large verandah. Downstairs is another large double bedroom and bathroom, a small study with books and magazines and the kitchen.

I sincerely hope we will one day be able to return to South Point Abbey. It really was a wonderful few days!

Some people have mentioned the road. It is very near to the house but surprisingly it never bothered me. The only time I really noticed the noise of cars was in the bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views, the staff, the owner, the food, the pool, the beach...hard to pick!
Liked least: The road is nearby but only audible in the bathrooms and hardly at all from bedrooms
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing