We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No need to look anywhere else!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Main Living Room
Outdoor Barbeque area, Paddy house
View From Paddy House Pool
mixed salad for a light dinner
Main bedroom
Main Bedroom
Sunrise Paddy House Pool
Pool 2
Nearest Beach (Wijaya)
Living Room, Main House Villa 1
Dusk on Koggala lake near Villa
paddy house kitchen
Kitchen Paddy house.
Outdoor shower
Bedroom 1 - Main House
(all rooms air conditioned with ceilng fans)
Gated front entrance of Villa - Surangana meaning 'Angel' in Sinhala.
Front of Villa
Manoj (Villa Manager) with his new Tuk Tuk
The New treehouse and decking over Tea Plantation
Sri Lankan String Hoppers and Curry dinner
Chef Priyangika, curry night selection
Breakfast fruits
Dinner - seafood, BBQ and salads
Wait Staff Asitha & Kasun
Fresh watermelon juice & Tambili 'Coconut' juice.
Coconut Custard dessert
Freshly caught fish, on the barbeque
House Manager Manoj. ready to BBQ.
Chicken Curry
Front door view from the Paddy House
Monkey friends in our trees
Bedroom 2 - Main House Villa (all rooms have air-con & ceiling fans)
Bedroom 2 - Main house Villa (all rooms have air-con and ceiling fans)
Bathroom 1 - Main Villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
433katah
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No need to look anywhere else!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful setting, beautiful location, beautiful people. Meals are devine. To say highly recommended is an understatement. Such a pleasure, wouldn't think twice to stay here again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa K
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having recently returned from a very special week in Surangana, we came from Australia, India and South Korea for a family reunion of sorts, and to celebrate a birthday. Thankfully we found Surangana for our stay and what a place to reconnect. The villa is simply stunning - the photos don't come close to doing it justice. We spent a heavenly week in this little piece of paradise and could not have asked for more.

Manoj, the villa manager, was the perfect host and our needs were met before we were aware we needed them. His team were super professional, discreet and so efficient – you could be mistaken for thinking the villa is run by a 5 star establishment. Priyanka, the chef extraordinaire, produced the most delicious food we had in Sri Lanka – after travelling for 3 weeks around the country before arriving at Surangana, we definitely saved the best till last.

The villa with its peaceful surrounds and staff - so marvellous - made it difficult for us to find a reason to leave and explore the region.

Having experienced numerous villa holidays in Europe, Asia and previously Sri Lanka, Surangana is without a doubt one of the best villa experiences to date. The question should not be, ‘would I go back’, but rather, ‘how soon can I go back’…..?! Surangana surely has to be one of Sri Lanka’s best kept villa secrets!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, staff, food & location!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
746Phoebe
Thame
2 reviews
“Totally magical house and garden”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just back from a wonderful week at Villa Surangana. The house is beautiful and the garden bounteous and the situation totally magical, but Surangana is even more special because of the people who work there. Can't praise them enough. Manoj, the villa manager, is totally charming and so helpful - a lovely discreet and kindly presence for whom nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and every person who was on site was absolutely sweet. The house is beautifully furnished but also extremely comfortable with a good flat screen tv, wifi and sound system to keep the teens happy and I don't think we have every played so much table tennis! The house is also very convenient to get to all local attractions, including Galle and it's easy to book tuk tuks to get you around through Manoj as well to surf, whale watch, go out and explore using the house bicycles etc.

We so didn't want to leave! Both families agreed that is was the nicest villa experience we've ever had - and we've had quite a few through the years. We really hope to be back one day, but for now we would just thoroughly recommend it to anyone who would enjoy being in a lovely house, deeply embedded in the natural world being looked after by a lovely lovely team.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful house, fantastic garden full of wildlife, lovely staff
Liked least: liked all of it!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich123Th...
1 review
“Wow. Incredible”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

A beautiful property in a great location. Very friendly and accommodating staff, close vicinity to amazing beaches. Would recommend to anyone for the perfect getaway in Sri Lanka. 10/10

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatest holiday ever for a multitude of good reasons!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

This was paradise…..arriving by van from Columbo we were met at the villa by the charming Sanjeeva sporting a huge smile and holding a tray of cold tropical beverages. From that moment, we instantly relaxed and enjoyed everything this incredible villa had to offer. The grounds are immaculate…the pools are spotless and inviting….the food was just too good to be true. Everyone employed at the villa was always available to help coordinate travel, arrange meals at specific times, obtain any forgotten supplies, and generally clue us in on local info and history. The bedrooms are massive and airy with the obligatory insect nets whichare not only obligatory but attractive and atmospheric. The gym is ample with two exercise bikes and hanging rings, mats, and fitness balls. We would book back in a heartbeat. Sri Lanka is an incredible holiday destination and this villa only adds to that experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prinaka, the incredible cook
Liked least: mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: I cant say I disliked anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing