We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #27 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful guesthouse! It is nestled away from the fort area (15min tuk tuk) but worth it for the peace and tranquility you experience.

Beautiful gardens and a pool (we were very thankful of this as we were here for a month).

All of the staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to help.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

I would agree that you should spend 3 nights plus here to take full advantage of the beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
53
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Unfortunately we just stayed for one night in this lovely quiet place. The stuff was very nice and helpful, the rooms big, beautifully decorated and clean. there is so much space to sit outside with many people, books all around, cosy atmosphere. the garden is beautiful! the breakfast was great aswell, all in all a perfect stay!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank agi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Agree with all the other comments this place is beautiful the garden is very well kept and the pool is a good size for relaxing or doing laps in. Coconuts straight from the trees, excellent breakfasts, happy friendly helpful staff and immaculately clean rooms. A little out of Galle so you need to take a tuk tuk anywhere you want to go but that is cheap enough and it's worth being out of the city or over built unawatuna.
I recommend staying at least 3 nights to make the most of relaxing here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have spent a total of 1 and half years visiting Galle to work and have always returned to Leijay for my accomodation. Why? First the quality and friendship of the staff from Yvonne the owner, impeccably professional and helpful and all of her staff: Dinesh and Sudath the tuk tuk drivers, , Dilini the secretary, Jayantha, the cook, Suresh the gardener, Malini the best laundry lady in the world! and all the other staff for whom nothing is a problem, helped to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I miss them all and looking forward to coming back there in the future, hopefully next time with my family.

The food is excellent with good variety of local and Western dishes. The large fresh breakfasts give one a great start to the day. The rooms are spacious and the garden is beautiful. The variety of shrubs, trees, flowers all year round provide a riot of colour. The garden is also maintained on a daily basis. You have the feeling of being in the middle of the jungle, as there are many interesting sounds from the monkeys and a huge variety of colourful birds in this area making it a truly truly tropical paradise. It´s not far away from the bustling busy Galle town only a 10 minute tuk tuk ride and of course the Test cricket ground in the shadow of the ancient Dutch Fort of Galle
There is the decent sized swimming pool, built on a raised mound as a centre-piece for relaxation and cooling off. Daily cleaning and maintenance ensures clear fresh water despite it being surrounded by so many trees and wildlife. I could not ask for any better place to stay for long periods of time. Even has WiFi connections in each bungalow. Thoroughly recommended for tourists , writers, painters, readers, in search of peace and tranquility.
Of course I will return. Thanks Leijay for so many great memories.
Your shoe maker friend, Peter

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterackshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We used Leijay as a base in Sri Lanka for 11 weeks, and we cannot say enough good (or great) things about the place. We have spent quite a bit of time in Galle Fort, but we were sooooo much happier to be able to stay outside the Fort. First, the pool is a fantastic place to spend the heat of the day. Second, the neighborhood where Leijay is located is cooler than the Fort and gets more breeze than all but the seaside hotels around the area. Third, and most importantly, the staff at Leijay takes UNBELIEVABLE care of you no matter the length of your stay. Here are some prime examples: Dinesh (whose English is excellent) is able to provide rides in the Resort's tuk tuk, if needed, or he or Dilini or Jayantha can help direct other tuk tuk drivers to the resort. When we wanted to visit a temple on a poya day, we were given some flowers to take and directed to the temple. Whenever we needed directions to any other town we were visiting, someone was always able to help us plan our itinerary. If we had special shopping requests, Dinesh or Sudath would help us find whatever we needed (or go out and buy it for us!). Malani, Piyushon, and Uresh also did a great job for us, as well!

Yvonne, the owner, is incredibly pleasant and lives on the premises- she can give recommendations on anything from shopping to restaurants. She has chosen a highly professional and courteous staff who live up to (if not exceed) her high expectations for the resort.

Breakfast and dinner were great throughout our stay with a good variety of curry and Western dishes, and Jayantha gave us a cooking class on how to make our favorite dishes prior to us leaving. We stayed in the flat, but all the bedrooms in the two main houses have A/C and hot water. There are some smaller, non-A/C rooms for travelers on a tighter budget, but there certainly is no service discrepancy. The gardens are incredibly well-maintained, and we spent many afternoons pleasantly reading and/or bird-watching. It certainly deserves to be first in its category on TripAdvisor!

Travel tip: the resort is hard to find. Tell your driver you need to go to Madawalamulla neighborhood near Beligaha junction, and bring the resort's phone # (or #s- most of hte staff have their own cell phones and you can ask when you make the reservation) so the driver can call and be directed to the resort.

Room Tip: The flat has an A/C bedroom, an indoor seating area just off one of the patios with chair and twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Once you pass through the nondescript gate you walk into an oasis of palms, Bougainvillea and coconut trees. Look closer and you will see the carefully tendered orchid gardens, with no two orchid alike.

When we reached our bungalow we genuinely thought we had made a mistake and checked the emails. Indeed it was only $25 a night each for 5 people (17500 RS total). The bungalow size is staggering at about 20 x 20 metres with an enclosed porch measuring 12 x 7 metres. They are designed like the Galle Fort architecture - columns, shingle roof, tiled floors and wood paneled ceilings - beautifully finished.

There are 2 bedrooms, kitchen (no stove) and lounge room with cable TV. Our bungalow had 7 tables and at least 17 chairs of a variety of types. But again it is the attention to detail that catches the eye; ornaments, paintings and sculptures everywhere (one cabinet has 24 different types of elephant atop) and a cabinet filled with drinking glasses.

The pool is huge, 20 x 8 metres, enough for lap swimming. A third is shallower for the younger ones while the deeper end is about 1.5 metres. The kids lived in it and so did the adults.

The resort (true use of the term) has a tuk tuk which can take you anywhere or pick you up.

Staff were all super attentive and professional but also unobtrusive, allowing us to let relax and soak up the atmosphere.

Believe me this resort has the WOW factor written all over it.

PS: We flew out of Colombo early on Sunday but were allowed to stay all of Saturday for free around the pool (awaiting for our van at 6.30 pm). Thank you for the gesture.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colostomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We booked Leijay Resort for 2 nights as the start of our Sri Lanka trip, and as a base for our Galle visit.

It was an unexpected pleasant surprise. We found an oasis of rest: situated in the jungle outside Galle with a nice garden and pool, a perfect place to combine city/beach daytrips with relaxing at the resort villa.

The service of Dinesh and his team was great, they gave us a lot of usefull tips (eat at Crep-ology in the Galle fort, go to Jungle beach instead of the crowded Unawatuna beach).

Haven't tried the food at Leijay, we cannot judge that. The airconditioned rooms were nice spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst_Merel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
2.5 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
3.6 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
234 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fort Edge Retreat
Fort Edge Retreat
#12 of 143 in Galle
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#22 of 137 in Galle
58 reviews
2.3 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#20 of 137 in Galle
62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 137 in Galle
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Property: Leijay Resort
Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing