We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I almost cried when I left!”
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #27 of 160 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Many tourists travelling through Galle will no doubt stay in some soulless over-priced hotel in Galle Fort - such a shame! Leijay resort is hidden away in the jungle some 10 mins from the fort (and it's very unlikely any Galle tuk-tuk driver will have heard of it) but do let that put you off for one moment! This place is magnificent. Each little bungalow is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, spacious and has its own little patio looking out into the wonderfully colorful gardens. The centrepiece is the lovely pool, surrounded by flowing plants and visited by many colourful birds. Wifi, hot water, AC, fans, home cooking etc all excellent.

However, the icing on the cake is surely the staff. Cheerful, polite, informative, you name it. Sudath, Dinesh, Dillini, Jayantha and the others which I stupidly did not learn the names of... You made our stay so easy!

Make that tiny bit of effort to stay here, you won't regret it. (TIP: make sure you're armed with their phone number before you get in a tuk-tuk because the driver will need to ring for directions).

We love you,
Owain & Aylin

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Owain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

At Leijay Resort there is a wonderful garden with plenty of different types of beautiful flowers.
The atmosphere is nice, calm and perfect to relax.
You can swim in the pool or eat delicious food, that is nicely prepared by Jayantha the chef.
But mostly I would like to underline the friendliness of the staff.
When I hurt myself three courteous staffmembers took care of me.
I can fully recommend Leijay Resort!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Yvonne can speak french and gave us lots of advice for our beginning trip in Sri Lanka.
The place is far away for the city, on purpose: quiet and peacefull.
We booked a nice suite with two bedrooms (two bedrroms next to each other with a corridor), perfect for our family (2 adults + 2 children).
The garden is beautiful and there is a swimming pool.
Always an available tuktuk to bring you where you want.
To be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I spent a week at Leijay Resort in June 2013 doing business in the Galle area. The Resort is actually a compound of several smaller buildings situated in a beautiful tropical garden (where the lawn is literally manicured). The Resort is located in a quasi suburban section of the Galle-region, which makes it a very quiet place and since several adjacent plots are not built in at all and contain huge trees, there is a feeling of being in the nature. The garden is full of birds, cute little turtles and other smaller local animals, like squirrels (one can see monkeys on the trees of the nearby land plots). There is also a very nice pool in the middle of the garden.

The room I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. In general, it seems to me that cleanliness is almost obsessivly pursued at Leijay. The food was fantastic and I especially recommend the rice and curry which in Sri Lanka is a meal consisting of 6-7 smaller dishes. In almost everywhere in Sri Lanka even if one asks for a 'not too spicy' (not too hot) version, this meal is uneatable (as it is still too hot for most Europeans). Not here; the rice and curry at Leijay is fantastic and so finally even a European can enjoy this great local dish. That said, I was equally satisfied with their other meals from lasagne to fish dishes to freshly made juices.

The service and especially the proprietor Yvonne, is extremely friendly; there is personal attention paid to all guests.

I can wholeheartedly recommend Leijay Resort for all types of guests wishing to spend time in the Southern Province of Sri Lanka. I will certainly go back to Leijay, when I go back for a holiday trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I spent 4 nights at Leijay, then returned for another week after my Ayurvedic treatment since I couldn't think of any place I'd rather be.
Highlights of Leijay are the pool and gardens, beautiful and relaxing. It is a small guesthouse, so you never feel over run by guests. Breakfast, which is included in the room price, was quite nice, with choices of western or Sri Lankan.
The staff was excellent at all times. Service- from the wonderful young woman, Dilini, at the front desk, to all of the young waiters, and the lovely woman who cleaned the rooms- was exceptional.
My room was spacious with good AC. Also there are tons of books for readers.
I would gladly return to Leijay when I need a good place to hang out and relax.

Room Tip: Anything except the small apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Not really a hotel or B&B, more an individual room with a enormous shared balcony for just 2 or 3 other rooms. Garden is fantastic with wild orchids, a large pond, lemon trees and a fab swimming pool. Service always with a smile from all the staff. The owner was away when I was there and the staff was just great regardless. We were treated to the local festival, had tuk-tuk rides to large and small Buddhist temples, the nearby Galle Fort area for lunch and dinners as well. The rooms were large, bed comfy, great mosquito net in case, although the shower could have more water pressure. Denise was the MAN for me! He suggested some great places to visit as my friend wanted to take photos. He was patient, knew every spot we wanted to go too and more. All the other guests were friendly, many there for weeks and months at a time. I stayed for 3 weeks and would certainly go back again. Super value for the stay with breakfast.

Room Tip: Near the pond is great but all are just fine...except the "apartment" style room, wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful guesthouse! It is nestled away from the fort area (15min tuk tuk) but worth it for the peace and tranquility you experience.

Beautiful gardens and a pool (we were very thankful of this as we were here for a month).

All of the staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to help.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

I would agree that you should spend 3 nights plus here to take full advantage of the beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0 mi away
Leisure Land Luxury Eco Villas
0 mi away
Fort Edge Retreat
Fort Edge Retreat
#7 of 174 in Galle
73 reviews
0 mi away
Kikili House
Kikili House
#10 of 160 in Galle
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Indika's House & Tours
Indika's House & Tours
#22 of 160 in Galle
37 reviews
0 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 160 in Galle
241 reviews
0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#26 of 160 in Galle
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing