We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leijay resort is one of the best.”
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #27 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Leijay resort is one of the best.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had an opportunity to stay at this fabulous breath taking resort. Unimaginable as it was like home awayfrom hhome. Friendliness and polite staff offered me and family every thing upto my entire satisfaction.
I must thank madam yvonne and staff for their efforts and commitment.
I recommend any traveller who wish have a happy days in Sri Lanka to stay at leijay and see the difference.

I wish this resort to grow further up in the hospitality industry.

Welldone and keep the flag fly
Captain Rohan Lelwala

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diyakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
53
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having traveled to several places around the world, I can honestly say that Leijay is one of a kind. There is simply no other place like it.

Not only is it filled with the essence and beauty of Sri Lanka's flora and fauna but it exudes a kind of warmth which one finds in their own home. This is because, at Leijay, you will find some of the kindest people you will ever meet: Sudath, Dinesh, Piyushan, Suresh, Dilini, Jayantha, Suresh, Malani, Chathurani and Madame Yvonne. Even the four sweet pet dogs, Balu, Duchess, Mama and Cherie, add much to the warm and loving atmosphere.

All of these amazing individuals treat their guests as one would their friends and family members. They always greet you with a warm and welcoming smile, are willing to help you in any way that they can and serve delicious food which, although it may be foreign to you, is prepared with all of the love of home cooking. Having traveled to the country alone, this was all a great comfort to me. It comes as no surprise, therefore, that I too, as many other guests do, consider Leijay to be my home away from home and everyone at Leijay as part of my extended family.

To all who are considering traveling to Sri Lanka, Leijay is your reason to go and will surely become your reason to come back again.

~Mrs. Moon~

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_HMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Many tourists travelling through Galle will no doubt stay in some soulless over-priced hotel in Galle Fort - such a shame! Leijay resort is hidden away in the jungle some 10 mins from the fort (and it's very unlikely any Galle tuk-tuk driver will have heard of it) but do let that put you off for one moment! This place is magnificent. Each little bungalow is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, spacious and has its own little patio looking out into the wonderfully colorful gardens. The centrepiece is the lovely pool, surrounded by flowing plants and visited by many colourful birds. Wifi, hot water, AC, fans, home cooking etc all excellent.

However, the icing on the cake is surely the staff. Cheerful, polite, informative, you name it. Sudath, Dinesh, Dillini, Jayantha and the others which I stupidly did not learn the names of... You made our stay so easy!

Make that tiny bit of effort to stay here, you won't regret it. (TIP: make sure you're armed with their phone number before you get in a tuk-tuk because the driver will need to ring for directions).

We love you,
Owain & Aylin

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

At Leijay Resort there is a wonderful garden with plenty of different types of beautiful flowers.
The atmosphere is nice, calm and perfect to relax.
You can swim in the pool or eat delicious food, that is nicely prepared by Jayantha the chef.
But mostly I would like to underline the friendliness of the staff.
When I hurt myself three courteous staffmembers took care of me.
I can fully recommend Leijay Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Yvonne can speak french and gave us lots of advice for our beginning trip in Sri Lanka.
The place is far away for the city, on purpose: quiet and peacefull.
We booked a nice suite with two bedrooms (two bedrroms next to each other with a corridor), perfect for our family (2 adults + 2 children).
The garden is beautiful and there is a swimming pool.
Always an available tuktuk to bring you where you want.
To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I spent a week at Leijay Resort in June 2013 doing business in the Galle area. The Resort is actually a compound of several smaller buildings situated in a beautiful tropical garden (where the lawn is literally manicured). The Resort is located in a quasi suburban section of the Galle-region, which makes it a very quiet place and since several adjacent plots are not built in at all and contain huge trees, there is a feeling of being in the nature. The garden is full of birds, cute little turtles and other smaller local animals, like squirrels (one can see monkeys on the trees of the nearby land plots). There is also a very nice pool in the middle of the garden.

The room I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. In general, it seems to me that cleanliness is almost obsessivly pursued at Leijay. The food was fantastic and I especially recommend the rice and curry which in Sri Lanka is a meal consisting of 6-7 smaller dishes. In almost everywhere in Sri Lanka even if one asks for a 'not too spicy' (not too hot) version, this meal is uneatable (as it is still too hot for most Europeans). Not here; the rice and curry at Leijay is fantastic and so finally even a European can enjoy this great local dish. That said, I was equally satisfied with their other meals from lasagne to fish dishes to freshly made juices.

The service and especially the proprietor Yvonne, is extremely friendly; there is personal attention paid to all guests.

I can wholeheartedly recommend Leijay Resort for all types of guests wishing to spend time in the Southern Province of Sri Lanka. I will certainly go back to Leijay, when I go back for a holiday trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I spent 4 nights at Leijay, then returned for another week after my Ayurvedic treatment since I couldn't think of any place I'd rather be.
Highlights of Leijay are the pool and gardens, beautiful and relaxing. It is a small guesthouse, so you never feel over run by guests. Breakfast, which is included in the room price, was quite nice, with choices of western or Sri Lankan.
The staff was excellent at all times. Service- from the wonderful young woman, Dilini, at the front desk, to all of the young waiters, and the lovely woman who cleaned the rooms- was exceptional.
My room was spacious with good AC. Also there are tons of books for readers.
I would gladly return to Leijay when I need a good place to hang out and relax.

Room Tip: Anything except the small apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
2.5 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
3.6 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
234 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fort Edge Retreat
Fort Edge Retreat
#12 of 143 in Galle
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#22 of 137 in Galle
58 reviews
2.3 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#20 of 137 in Galle
62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 137 in Galle
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Property: Leijay Resort
Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing