We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of Sri Lanka for us”
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #27 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The best part of Sri Lanka for us”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My fiance and I spent 2 months at Leijay while we were working at Karapitya hospital. Our two months were fantastic, largely because we were staying at Leijay.. Each morning we woke up to a lovely breakfast on the veranda looking over beautiful gardens. In the afternoons we came home to a very tasty lunch, an afternoon swim and fun conversations with the staff here- Dinesh, Sudah, Dilini, etc. The rice and curry here is better than any in Galle (even Mama's) and they will even give cooking lessons provided they're not too busy. They treated us like family and we truly will miss them. While it isn't in Galle fort, its a short tuk tuk away and offers tranquility and a pool, which most of the places in fort cannot. We have more physician friends coming to stay in Galle and we will recommend that they stay at Leijay. We too, hope to return with our families in tow, rent out the entire bungalow next time. :)

Room Tip: We recommend the bungalows over the apartment but all are great and an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
53
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troyes, France
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Leijay Resort has very good value accomodations considering the quality of the rooms, the delicous food, and the wonderfull environment with the swimmingpool in the middle of a garden full of trees, flowers, singing birds even nesting under the umbrellas! Staff is very friendly, helpful. It is very easy to travel around with their tuk-tuk. I spent three very relaxing days there, it is so peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank régis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a lovely week there in February with our son and daughter in law who live in Shanghai.
Dinesh and his team looked after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble. The gardens were lovely and the team looked after them so well. It was a quiet haven on the edge of Galle

Barry and Anniek Jameson

Room Tip: Looked after very well. Nothing was too much trouble for Dinesh and his team.The garden area is real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 2014. It was incredibly relaxing and the excellent staff looked after us with kindness and attention at all times. You actually stay in a large, lovingly cared for beautiful garden, with a surprising amount of wildlife. The resort is located a little way out of Galle but the 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride to the centre can be done in the hotels own vehicle which was always "on call".

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterandBarbara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We've started our stay in Sri Lanka already twice in Leijay Resort. It's such a perfect place to relax! The garden around the hotel is so beautiful and as Leijay is not situated next to the main road, you do not get any traffic noise, just the voices of nature...perfect! The pool is clean and really well kept, our children enjoyed that really a lot. And so did the grown-ups...:) Food is really good, too. And all the team of Leijay is such a nice and highly professional---thank you, Dilini, thank you, Dinesh, thank you, everybody! Thank you, Yvonne! We hope to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eneliis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Quiet, clean and serene with great service and friendly staff. High quality all around, rooms and garden top notch (especially compared to normal SL level). Only drawback is nothing within walking distance. 10 min charming tuktuk ride to Unawatuna beach.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Turewib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

- Beautiful gardens make up a tropical oasis of calm with swimming pool
- air conditioned rooms and verandah to eat breakfast
- VERY friendly and accomodating staff. Nothingwas too much trouble (did our washing for us and returned it the same day, Dinesh got up at 5am in the morning to take us to our boat in Marissa for whale watching (we saw several whales, dolphins, flying fish!!)
- Good value accomodation and good and varied food offered
- Leijay has a Tuk Tuk and will drop you off in Galle and pick you up when you want to return. They also recommend other nearby places of interest, good beaches etc and take you to any of these for a small and very reasonable charge. We were very impressed and will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with a verandah (containing comfortable rocking chairs, sunbeds, normal chairs) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaA1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
2.5 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
3.6 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
233 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fort Edge Retreat
Fort Edge Retreat
#16 of 139 in Galle
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#24 of 137 in Galle
58 reviews
2.3 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#20 of 137 in Galle
62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 137 in Galle
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Property: Leijay Resort
Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing