We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, good food, great service, all in a quiet scenic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money, good food, great service, all in a quiet scenic setting”
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Driving into the tamarind hill hotel, we were a bit skeptic. But minutes later chilling with our welcome drink in the lobby and talking to the friendly staff we were at ease. The place is about 10 minutes from the fort area by trishaws so it's away from the main city but easily accessible. We spent 4 nights, it's a 250 year old house in great condition. The rooms were clean comfortable & cosy. The idyllic setting with birds chirping and the river nearby was an added plus. We enjoyed the meals we had(much better than a lot of places in the fort area.

The staff's hospitality and service deserve a special mention. Thanks Rohan, Rayan & the entire crew.

We will be sure to recommend tamarind hill to our Friends

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creativejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    102
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
149
307
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We travelled Sri Lanka with our 2 young children. When we first walked into the beautiful ornate Tamarind Hill hotel my husband and I immediately panicked. It was so lovely, beautifully decorated and peaceful and our first thoughts were that the kids would wreck it, drive everyone mad and be frowned on by the staff. We were so very wrong. Within the first 5 minutes our children were best friends with Rohan, Rayan & Neel. The same friendliness was given to us and the other family and friends we travelled with. The guys were fantastic and organised an excellent river safari for us, served us beautiful food and drinks and made our stay wonderful.

Our room was amazing and huge. Perfect for the 4 of us. Thank you for the amazing towel sculptures. The kids loved them.
We were sad to leave Tamarind Hill and the staff that we now consider friends. We hope that we can visit again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely. Ours was huge and an extra bed was added for our son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stopped at the TH for 5 nights. Set back from off the road, the TH is a good walk into galle, but it offers you peace and tranquility and respite from all the craziness. If you are looking for somewhere central then this might not be the hotel for you, unless of course you are happy walking or hiring a motorbike to get you out and about.
The staff at the hotel and it's facilities we're fantastic. The pool area was beautiful, during our stay over New Year we often had the pool to ourselves. If you got up early enough (around 6.45am) you could swim whilst watching the monkeys playing in the trees, a great start to the day. There's also a river running at the back of the hotel, where you can see water monitors, a vast array of birds and crabs!
The setting is idyllic, the rooms spacious, exceptionally clean and the staff very, very friendly and helpful. All the communal areas were exceptionally clean too and well looked after.
We couldn't really fault this hotel, the only one thing I would say is that it is far cheaper to book your own excursions, motorbikes/transport.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We cannot speak too highly of this hotel. It is an 18th century Dutch house built round a central courtyard sympathetically restored to a 5 star hotel. The result is cool and peaceful, a restful oasis in the hurly burly of Galle. But more than just the elegance of the architecture, the shady cloisters and the high ceilings, the relaxing spacious rooms, it has the most wonderful staff. They are without exception, friendly, courteous, professional and so obliging. From the moment we arrived, to be greeted with cool towels and chilled lemongrass drinks, until our departure when so many of the staff turned out to wave us goodbye, they looked after us as though we were royalty. When we left we felt we were leaving dear friends behind and we can only look forward to coming back to the Tamarind Hill again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Our party occupied 3 rooms on the ground floor round the courtyard - they were all excellent - I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoutthetinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Its really all been said, I only stayed there because it was in the top ten on this website.
I really could have stayed there longer, this hotel is almost perfect, the staff are great, the food is very good, the room was unquestionably the best on our trip and the shower, well that was a treat.
High ceilings, big bed, large room, plenty of hot water from the overhead shower, small private garden, great swimming pool, what else can I say....I have run out of superlatives.
The towel shapes on the bed after dinner were worth waiting for.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they do value their reputation in tripadvisor.
This is a small boutique hotel with 13 rooms, all the same unless you ask for a suite but there is no need, its all great.
The downside....Mmmm the wine was expensive.

Room Tip: Any is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramore7England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We arrived from Negombo in the afternoon and were very unsure of the turning off main road when we arrived becuase the road looks as if it leads nowhere, and you would not expect a hotel to be there. Our driver saw the hotel sign. We were greeted by a member of staff and ushered to take a seat in the lobby area and were served a cool juice. First impressions were beautiful. We were shown to our room # 10 and were pleasantly surprised by the decor of old colonial and the spacious room. The room has a/c plus a fan, mini bar, large bathroom and a private yard area with seats. The hotel has a beautiful pool and sun area, along with on a higher level a seating place for drinks/tea etc. The restaurant and bar are in an a/c area. The standard of service for this small hotel was great and the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel allowed you to relax and enjoy the surroundings and it is on the outskirts of the town of Galle. A walk away from the Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel. It is possible to walk into Galle along the beach promenade and then road, it is a good walk though but quite enjoyable and you get over the stares from the locals. If preferred you can get a Tuk Tuk, easily from outside The Lighthouse Hotel, 500 rupees if there are non waiting outside the gates of Tamarind.
The staff assisted us with a tour for whalewatching and with a driver to take us to our next destination. Staff member Senika is worth a mention. For the whale watching tours you will need to ensure it is the season but well worth it when you see one.

Room Tip: From the rooms we saw and our own, all rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights after Christmas. Clean and comfortable good sized room, tastefully decorated in colonial style, with a king size bed which has a firm mattress. The room has a very high ceiling with a hanging fan and aircon. There’s no mosquito net, but luckily we haven’t had any inside during our four night stay.

Bathroom has a good rain shower, but is a little dark, unlike the bedroom which has halogen lighting.

There’s a good selection of channels on the television and there is also free wi-fi (which was broken during our first two days).

The pool is clean and warm but there are only a few beds around the pool area, although it was never busy during our stay. In fact, the whole place is permanently quiet. Despite being fully booked, you hardly see other guests, and the staff are also very discrete, although attentive when you can find them! However, there’s no front desk, and it’s hard to see who is in charge if you do need to speak to somebody about anything.

The food is nothing special, the buffet breakfast is quite limited, and the curry I had one evening for dinner was a good size but a little tasteless.

The hotel is reached up a very bumpy and muddy track off the main road and is about a 10 minute (300rp) tuk tuk ride from Galle Fort. As another reviewer mentioned, this is a good or bad thing depending on your view, but for us it’s just too quiet here. There's nothing overall to dislike, but I can’t express how very very quiet it is, and if you like that, then it’s fine, but for us, next time we will stay somewhere in the Fort where there is a little more buzz.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
3.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Property: Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#2 Spa Hotel in Galle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing