We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming with history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
Calm and very nice surroundings, with the jungle close.
You can enjoy your stay at the pool wathing monkeys in the trees.
Food was good, and service was extraordinary.
Mr Rohan took very good care of us during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallgeir O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tamarind Hill, with us. It was great having you at our property and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Thanking you,
Sonali Van Dort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

one of the most beautiful hotel we have ever been. not only the building and the surrounding but mainly because of the staff. they were just so kind and nice. we strongly recommend to stay there. you will not regret, they were no.1 trip advisor hotel in 2013 and they deserve to repeat many years! thanks tamarind, see you soon....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vthavonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Tamarind Hill. We take great pride in providing our guests with personalized service and are pleased we were able to do the same for you and your family.

Thank you for your lovely comment and we look forward to seeing you again soon in our corner of paradise.

Warm Regards,

Sonali Van Dort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location with excellent rooms. Our room (no1) was a bit noisy as just next to the kitchen. Lovely breakfast and nice pool, but out of town, no beach and no view and every thing 2x more expensive than somewhere else in Sri Lanka.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DonStadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!!!

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Furthermore, we have taken necessary steps to rectify the areas that need attention.

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I went to Galle yesterday and it was a great trip. We were welcomed with cool hand towel and drinks. We really enjoyed the relaxing mood and helpful staff. Rohan was one of the best staff we had the pleasure of interacting with at the hotel. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience with us. Your appreciations will be forwarded to our members of the staff. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Sonali Van Dort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel could come into the pure luxury category. The main building is a beautiful manor house, and the rooms are wonderfully fitted. Even better, and has been noted by everyone, the staff and service were truly 5* -- because it's small, all the staff know your name, and were always on hand to offer advice or help as required.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruntworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager S, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!!!

Thank you for your review which captures the very essence of our hotel, the service we offer our guests.
The hotel was designed around an ethos of calm and tranquility. We are thrilled that we were able to share our piece of paradise with you.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Thanking you,
Sonali Van Dort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a great ending to a fantastic trip. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay to end our trip to Sri Lanka. Rooms are beautiful and the service is outstanding! To Ferdi, Rohan and the team thank you for everything, we will be back. Luke & Jess (Australia)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukerob2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi Luke & Jess,

Ayubowan!!!

It is wonderful to know that yet another guest leaves our property thoroughly satisfied. Thank you for the lovely compliments regarding the property and our service. We will surely share this review with our members of staff.

Thank you once again for this lovely review. We do hope that you come visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I happend to visit Tamarind Hill in July 2013 with my sister's family who were on holiday, and the hospitality extended by the staff made me to decide staying there over night for few days.

I took time off in September and spent two nights over there.

I have to place on record that i have not experienced such a quite and a serene place !

The construction of the building and the upkeep is so high standard, I and my husband were truly delighted and returned home much refreshed.

Thanks to Chef Ananda, He is really really good in his job and keeps the guests quite well fed!
There are no strict rules and regulations and the staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

I would not hesitate to visit this place again.

Renuka Jayatilleke

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renuka j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Renuka,

Greetings from Asia Leisure!

It is pleasing to hear about your experience at our sanctuary – Tamarind Hill.

Our concept is to create a quiet and peaceful environment for our guests and we are glad that we were able to do so for you and your sisters family.

We are happy that our service met your expectations and we will convey your compliments to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tamarind Hill soon.

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,799 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 24 in Galle
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
6.2 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
274 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £98 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing