We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I loved that hotel!!! It's elegance, well chosen decorative items, tasteful colonial style furnishings, modern outside bar lit up in a dreamy way - wow!!! Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was excellent and I felt absolutely good in that place which has a lot of character.

Room Tip: I guess they are all good. :-) The captain's and the admiral's rooms upstairs are the bigges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and it is pleasing to hear about your pleasant stay with us.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Tamarind Hill (TH) is a beautifully appointed restoration of a colonial home. Quiet and with a country charm, TH is everything that a large hotel is not, quiet, respectful and calm. Clients can truly relax in peaceful surroundings. Both standard and superior rooms are well furnished and decorated. The staff are generally a young group of people who are eager to please and are at all times friendly and helpful. The food is of very good quality but the main dining area would benefit from a mature and experience maître d' to steer the staff on a more efficient course. Overall a delightful destination.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jervaulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon! We wish you all the best for a prosperous year 2014!

Best Regards,
Team at Asia Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This small (13 rooms) hotel is a short tuktuk ride from the centre of Galle, and a perfect peaceful retreat away from the tourist hustle and bustle. The pool area (complete with cinnamon tree, monkeys and mango trees) out door bar, courtyard and front grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are spacious, chic and clean. The whole place has a wonderful colonial charm, and the service is both friendly and courteous. The food in the restaurant is also delicious.
The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It's great to hear about your pleasant experience with us.
In relation to the room facilities and the dining experiences, we at Tamarind Hill are truly pleased with the fact that you have enjoyed all of it extensively.

Thank you once again for such a wonderful review and we do hope you decide to come again soon. We look forward to it.

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for two nights 14th and 15th Feb attending a wedding in Galle. Wasn't too sure initially from first impressions, but the peace tranquillity, attentive and friendly service from all the staff and the building itself made for a really enjoyable couple of nights. The Valentines dinner was lovely, and a quiet candle lit table in the courtyard garden is definitely the way to go if dining in house. The food was excellent, portion sizes about right and served at a leisurely pace to make the whole evening most enjoyable. Breakfast was really nice, eggs prepared and served as good as any hotel in SL, plenty to choose from and a great start to the day. Even just sitting under the fan in one of the lounge areas is a great way to spend the day. We were upgraded to a night in the Admirals suite which was a fantastic experience, and well worth booking if you have the cash to spare. Overall, well worth considering if you are planning a stay in Galle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewartR216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Ayubowan,

Firstly let me thank you our visiting our hotel and for posting such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to know that the property managed to satisfy you.

The fact that the surrounding atmosphere inclusive of the pool and added calm and serene nature was enjoyed by you is indeed an added advantage.

Thank you for this lovely review. we do hope that you visit us very soon and grant us the opportunity to make you feel at home once again.

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in.
The building is historic and the grounds immaculate. Pool area was lovely also.
Food and drinks and staff were also top notch.
Highly recommend this place when staying in Galle. A mere 5 min tuk tuk ride from the walled fort also.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RosscoPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Manager at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Tamarind Hill. We are truly pleased that your stay at our property was enjoyable and we were able to deliver an unforgettable experience to you and your fellow travelers.
Thank you once again for your review on Trip Advisor, we at Tamarind Hill truly appreciate your comments and will consider it valuable feedback.
We hope to accommodate you once again and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent three delightful days at this small boutique hotel just outside Galle. The room was enormous and well decorated and maintained-the bathroom was also huge. The food was great, particularly the wonderful range of curries; there was a large, good pool; the restaurant and bars were lovely (although we were allowed to eat every night on the lawn, served under candlelight); and we were treated like members of the family. In fact, the friendliness was almost obtrusive at times, as various members of staff lined up to talk to us (practise their English?), but this determination to engage was a common theme of our holiday. If you want somewhere near Galle, but away from the bustle and noise, then this is a place to choose.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Manager at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Let me start of by saying thank you for the commendable review which you have posted on Trip Advisor, it was simply wonderful to know that in your preference we stand out amongst some of the hotels in Sri Lanka.

With regard to the compliments you have made to our staff, do let me extend our heartfelt thanks on behalf of them, knowing that you had felt the effects of our service is indeed a huge achievement and we are happy that you were satisfied.

We hope you visit us very soon and thank you once again for this statement.

Thanking you,

Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A small boutique hotel in a peaceful location. Most of the rooms are arranged around a courtyard garden. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated and each one has its own secluded patio and garden. The food is excellent although the choice is limited as you would expect for a hotel with only 13 rooms. The staff are very friendly and the service is excellent. There is a swimming pool, pleasant gardens, river access and free WiFi.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSetEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family.

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and Its a great reward for us to know that we have touched all your expectations. Its a such a pleasure to have you with us and look forward to welcome you back to our colonial castle in your next holiday too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 25 in Galle
152 reviews
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#9 of 25 in Galle
567 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £114 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing