We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Nearby Hotels
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amangalla(Galle)
US$715
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rampart View Guest House(Galle)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deco On 44(Galle)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
585
117
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
117
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadmiral suitepet rabbitssri lankabeautiful hotelgalle forttuk tukprivate gardenboutique hotelcolonial stylespecial thankssurrounded by treescentral courtyardswimming poolthe general managerold world charmrooms are spacioushotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I loved that hotel!!! It's elegance, well chosen decorative items, tasteful colonial style furnishings, modern outside bar lit up in a dreamy way - wow!!! Staff were very friendly and helpful, food was excellent and I felt absolutely good in that place which has a lot of character.

Room Tip: I guess they are all good. :-) The captain's and the admiral's rooms upstairs are the biggest ones with huge terraces.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and it is pleasing to hear about your pleasant stay with us.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Tamarind Hill (TH) is a beautifully appointed restoration of a colonial home. Quiet and with a country charm, TH is everything that a large hotel is not, quiet, respectful and calm. Clients can truly relax in peaceful surroundings. Both standard and superior rooms are well furnished and decorated. The staff are generally a young group of people who are eager to please and are at all times friendly and helpful. The food is of very good quality but the main dining area would benefit from a mature and experience maître d' to steer the staff on a more efficient course. Overall a delightful destination.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jervaulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon! We wish you all the best for a prosperous year 2014!

Best Regards,
Team at Asia Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This small (13 rooms) hotel is a short tuktuk ride from the centre of Galle, and a perfect peaceful retreat away from the tourist hustle and bustle. The pool area (complete with cinnamon tree, monkeys and mango trees) out door bar, courtyard and front grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are spacious, chic and clean. The whole place has a wonderful colonial charm, and the service is both friendly and courteous. The food in the restaurant is also delicious.
The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It's great to hear about your pleasant experience with us.
In relation to the room facilities and the dining experiences, we at Tamarind Hill are truly pleased with the fact that you have enjoyed all of it extensively.

Thank you once again for such a wonderful review and we do hope you decide to come again soon. We look forward to it.

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for two nights 14th and 15th Feb attending a wedding in Galle. Wasn't too sure initially from first impressions, but the peace tranquillity, attentive and friendly service from all the staff and the building itself made for a really enjoyable couple of nights. The Valentines dinner was lovely, and a quiet candle lit table in the courtyard garden is definitely the way to go if dining in house. The food was excellent, portion sizes about right and served at a leisurely pace to make the whole evening most enjoyable. Breakfast was really nice, eggs prepared and served as good as any hotel in SL, plenty to choose from and a great start to the day. Even just sitting under the fan in one of the lounge areas is a great way to spend the day. We were upgraded to a night in the Admirals suite which was a fantastic experience, and well worth booking if you have the cash to spare. Overall, well worth considering if you are planning a stay in Galle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewartR216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Ayubowan,

Firstly let me thank you our visiting our hotel and for posting such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to know that the property managed to satisfy you.

The fact that the surrounding atmosphere inclusive of the pool and added calm and serene nature was enjoyed by you is indeed an added advantage.

Thank you for this lovely review. we do hope that you visit us very soon and grant us the opportunity to make you feel at home once again.

Thanking you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in.
The building is historic and the grounds immaculate. Pool area was lovely also.
Food and drinks and staff were also top notch.
Highly recommend this place when staying in Galle. A mere 5 min tuk tuk ride from the walled fort also.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RosscoPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Manager at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Tamarind Hill. We are truly pleased that your stay at our property was enjoyable and we were able to deliver an unforgettable experience to you and your fellow travelers.
Thank you once again for your review on Trip Advisor, we at Tamarind Hill truly appreciate your comments and will consider it valuable feedback.
We hope to accommodate you once again and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews