We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and private with massive rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and private with massive rooms”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Set in a converted old Dutch building, Tamarind Hill is a quiet oasis around 4 minutes in a tuk tuk from the galle fort. Rooms are massive, and very comfortable. Staff could not have been more attentive or helpful during our stay. Food there was also excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family,

We are very excited to see your lovely comments and we really appreciate all your kind words with regards the food and the atmosphere. The title it self described how much you fall in love with the colonial property, Thank you once again for sharing all your thoughts here.We look forward to welcome you back to our corner of paradise in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    103
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
151
311
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

awesome place. simple layout: center courtyard surrounded by a dozen or so rooms. One side is the reception, other is the pool.

the rooms are big, really big. bathrooms could have their own zipcode.

staff were very nice, we were a group of 11 with 3 indian aunties/mothers/MIL (high maintenance) and they assisted with a smile all through the trip.

Make sure you book the sri lankan breakfast its was amazing.

Room Tip: room #4 was the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollygoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Family.

We are pleased to see your delightful review here and thank you very much for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and your family. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed the srilankan breakfast and you found our rooms were brilliant .Glad our associates have matched all your expectations with a friendly smile. Again thank you very much for all your compliments ,We hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel last month for a friends wedding at the Lighthouse which was right across the street. As you walk in you wonder if you are the only ones staying there! It was very private and you can only hear the birds and crickets, with the odd monkey swinging in the trees!
The swimming pool was lovely, although the pool attendant was a little creepy - ladies don't go and sit by the pool without your other half around! Overall the service was ok, everyone was very friendly, but it was extremely slow - maybe we are just used to the fast-paced life in Dubai.
Don't go expecting 5* luxury as you will be disappointed, instead look at it as a lovely and charming hotel that is very romantic!
The rooms are very clean and nicely made up every day, and they provide you with lots of water which is always appreciated. Finally the bathroom shower was what made our trip, a huge rainshower with large windows that you could have fully open and no one could see in! Bliss..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayley675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure team.

Dear Hayley ,Thank you very much for sharing your valuable thoughts with us and we glad that you found the environment of the tamarind was good and you were happy with the room fixtures and amenities, Specially the rain shower area. We are sorry if in case our service was not matched up your expectations.
However we appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences and improve the service standards. We would be really great full if you could give us a opportunity address this with you personally. Please contact us on marketing@asialeisure.lk.Look forward to hear from you.Hopefully will have another opportunity to welcome you back to tamarind hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have spent 4 nights at Tamarind Hill and all I can state that it was one of our most memorable experiences. Once you enter the gate, you know you are up to a special treat. The staff are exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and neat. We pool is very tempting, and the food is great. We also took a river tour which has is linked to the hotel. The tour is a must if you decide to stay at Tamarind Hill. The only downside is internet speed. All in all one of the best hotels if you decide to visit Galle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgitani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Family.

We are so excited to see your delightful review and the topic it self described how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Yes , our utmost intention is to deliver Extraordinary Experience for all of our valuable guest. We are thrilled that you have explored the southern hospitality well and enjoyed every bit of it. We are taking your comment on board with regard the internet access and take all the necessary arrangements in order to prevent such a situation in the future.

We are so grateful to you for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back to your favorite boutique hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel itself is stunning, among the best we stayed at in Sri Lanka. The Dutch Colonial Villa has been tastefully decorated and rooms are very well proportioned, stylish and comfortable with huge four poster beds. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, although at times they pushed a bit hard on the hotel’s own excursions (we were asked about 6 times whether we wanted to book their river safari) but this wasn’t really an issue. Food was excellent on the whole, the only disappointment being an overcooked tuna steak one lunch time (I had asked for it rare). I knew the hotel was a little out of town, so had no issues with this, and it only took about 5mins to Galle Fort by tuktuk. We used the pool area a lot which was beautiful and it was fun to watch monkeys and birds playing in palm trees around you while you swam. For what we paid, I also thought it was excellent value for money.

Our only complaint, for which we had to mark it down, was the protection racket that they have going on with van drivers. Tamarind Hill will charge you LKR12,000 for a driver to Colombo (c. £60) whereas the same journey is being advertised by drivers in the Fort for LKR7,000 (c. £35). We tried booking a driver in town that could pick us up from the hotel, but as soon as they found out where we were staying, they turned down the job explaining they would be beaten up by the drivers who operate out of the Tamarind Hill / Jetwing Lighthouse (next door) if they accepted it (!). We then offered to get a tuktuk into town and meet them there, but they explained that the tuktuk drivers would follow us and would cause trouble if they found out what we were doing. It was nearly impossible to find a driver to accept the job. While we would expect the hotel to charge a small mark-up, the mark-up here (almost double) we felt was huge and unjustified. Additionally, no other hotel / guesthouse that we stayed at on our 2 week trip had had an issue with us booking our own transport. Eventually we found a driver from out of town that accepted the job. Sure enough, the next day when he came to pick us up, he was followed into the grounds by a tuktuk driver who then threatened him (we didn’t understand what was said at the time, but the driver later told us). We thought this may be something going on between the drivers only, and that the hotel may be unaware, but management are definitely aware of this, because the deputy manager was outside and watched the tuktuk driver threaten our car driver and did nothing about it. Having had a near perfect stay at the hotel, this left a very sour taste in our mouths…. Guests be wary of this

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Ayubowan Mr.Edward,

Greetings from Asia Leisure Team,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time on this review and We are extremely happy that you found the location, Service and associates were brilliant .It seems like you have enjoyed the nature to the fullest.We are taking all your points on board very seriously and we apologize for the unpleasant situation you faced at the latter part of your stay,
As a house rule we don't encourage of entertain outside parties for safety reason. We always recommend our guests to utilize our travel counter service to prevent distasteful issue with the local community. However we quoted all of our travel fairs in par with the other hotels in the vicinity. Still your points were well taken and thank you very much for brought your "way of thinking" in to all of our attention.
We Will take all the necessary action and keep all the local authorities informed against the unacceptable behavior of the local venders and make sure all of our guests are well safe and well treated as always.
Again we are thankful for you to giving us an opportunity to serve you and look forward to seeing you at Tamarind Hill in your next visit of Ceylon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
219 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The resort was located kind of out of the way from the main road leading to Galle center. However, once you get passed the gate, a different world is about to unveil. Colonial era building was tastefully renovated such that the classic colonial architecture is preserved while the interior has been completely upgraded. Room is very spacious with huge bath room. Service is very good as well. The resort truly lives up to the famed Galle colonial past while providing the utmost modern amenity such as big flat screen TV and excellent internet connection.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family.

Thank you very much for sharing your true experience and we glad that you have enjoyed your stay to the fullest. The way you described our colonial castle is very colorful and hopefully this will help for most of the guests to choose Tamarind Hill as their holiday destination with the pleasure . Its a great feeling to have you with us and wish you will give us a another opportunity to serve you upon your next visit in Sri Lankka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Sadly, the tour I was involved with, stayed only one night at this beautiful hotel. It was by far the best accommodation we had in our two week holiday. The rooms were huge and extremely comfortable and the swimming pool area was a delight.

Each member of staff was warm and welcoming, and only too happy to answer questions about their country and local area. The restaurant and room service couldn't be faulted and the food was of a very high standard.

One member of staff took us down to the river, which is just outside the hotel grounds so he could show us some of the wildlife - a really beautiful place. We discovered that we could have had a boat trip from the hotel down the river. We met a couple just returning from it, who thoroughly recommend it, but we didn't have the time to take advantage of it. Other guests might like to enquire in the evening about an early outing the following day.

A wonderful, relaxing hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings From Asia Leisure Family,

Thank you very much for your lovely feed back and we are thoroughly excited to see your descriptive review. Its always a pleasure to find that we have made your stay unforgettable and memorable. Though it was very short time to explore the warmness of the southern hospitality , glad that you have had a leisure time to have a river side walk along with our associate.

We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and our staff members were able to provide detailed touches to your trip. look forward to welcome you back at our colonial castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,710 reviews
3.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
670 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
229 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 24 in Galle
515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Property: Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#2 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing