We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That was great!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

It was a great experience in such a beautiful country, Sri Lanka. I was surprised by seeing Sri lankan peoples' hospitality. Food was amazing. I love it. Special thanks to Mr. Nishanth-the GM & the staff including Anushka for their warm welcome and excellent service. Hope to visit that beautiful Island and stay at hotel Tamarind Hill, Galle, once again. Ayubuwaan

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for your review and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I will most definitely inform Nishantha and the team at the hotel for a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Tamarind Hill and to the beautiful shores of Sri Lanka..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    102
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
149
307
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel i june. Honestly I must say I was impressed with architecture, massive huge rooms, and absolutelly brilliant friendly staff, makes you feel very comfortable !

I would recommend this hotel for people looking for some nice quiet place to stay and relax, and personally, this place would be the best place for a wedding !

Great staff, great value. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolezalSvatopluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings From Asia Leisure Family,

We thank you for your valuable comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Rightly stated Tamarind Hill is an ideal location for weddings. Garden weddings can be facilitated in the courtyard for approximately 200 guests.

We are grateful to you for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back to your hotel very soon.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we stayed Tamarind hill just few days back it was fabulous. no wards to say about the food and the service. huge rooms friendly staff. best impression we had just on arrival great welcome by the GM and his team. we recommend Tamarind hill to all of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Family.

We are so excited to see your delightful review and the topic it self described how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are so grateful to you for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcome you back to your favorite boutique hotel very soon.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We went to Tamarind Hill last month for a wedding and on arrival I was so impressed by the tasteful building, decor, and the rooms were simply divine… especially the bathrooms! We ate some excellent Sri Lankan food there. Most memorable of all was the polite, attentive service by the staff, especially the General Manager Nishantha who went out of his way to accommodate us.
Overall, its a wonderful base from which to explore Galle…..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidOne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings From Asia Leisure Family,

Thank you very much for your lovely feed back and we are thoroughly excited to see your descriptive review. Its always a pleasure to find that we have made your stay unforgettable and memorable.

We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and our staff members were able to provide detailed touches to your trip. We look forward in seeing you again.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My friend and I experienced a very excellent day when we took visit in Galle city, the room of the hotel is very claasic, beautiful and special. there is enough space for a family to take rest, our room even has a little backyard which made us very surprise. the service is very nice and the waiters and waitresses are very kind and very hospital. if next time i go to Galle, i will absolutely choose this hotel again and i will be pleasure to recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

Room Tip: the number of room is limited, so make a reservation asap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Ayubowan!

Greeting from Asia Leisure family.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with all of us and we extremely happy to hear about your experience. Wish all your comments and recommendations will help for the future guests to choose their dream destination with us.Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back to our corner of paradise in your next vacation.Please contact our marketing team directly on marketing@asialeisure.lk ,in order to reserve your room at a best rate as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Set in a converted old Dutch building, Tamarind Hill is a quiet oasis around 4 minutes in a tuk tuk from the galle fort. Rooms are massive, and very comfortable. Staff could not have been more attentive or helpful during our stay. Food there was also excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family,

We are very excited to see your lovely comments and we really appreciate all your kind words with regards the food and the atmosphere. The title it self described how much you fall in love with the colonial property, Thank you once again for sharing all your thoughts here.We look forward to welcome you back to our corner of paradise in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

awesome place. simple layout: center courtyard surrounded by a dozen or so rooms. One side is the reception, other is the pool.

the rooms are big, really big. bathrooms could have their own zipcode.

staff were very nice, we were a group of 11 with 3 indian aunties/mothers/MIL (high maintenance) and they assisted with a smile all through the trip.

Make sure you book the sri lankan breakfast its was amazing.

Room Tip: room #4 was the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollygoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure Family.

We are pleased to see your delightful review here and thank you very much for giving us a golden opportunity to serve you and your family. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed the srilankan breakfast and you found our rooms were brilliant .Glad our associates have matched all your expectations with a friendly smile. Again thank you very much for all your compliments ,We hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Property: Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#2 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing