We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family Holiday - Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It was by chance that we came across this Fantastic Resort by word of our friends in Galle..
We got all that we requested and more. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully furnished and we found everything very clean and tidy, we felt very homely.

We had our little grandson of 16 months who found the gardens his playground most of the day although he was a bit scared of the monkeys he enjoyed watching them swinging through the trees. my husband and I being hoteliers found the staff very friendly, helpful and courteous, which is not found in city hotels and that made our stay very comfortable.

We found the GM to be a great Hotelier too, his fantastic public relations skills are amazing and I am sure it is an asset to this property. I wish him and his friendly staff the very best. I will not hesitate to recommend this property to all our friends & family in Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carmen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your excellent review of our hotel.
Coming from a hotelier we are glad that we have managed to exceed your expectations as this is something all hoteliers aim to do.

I will no doubt share your review with the staff at the hotel for a job well done..

We look forward to welcoming your friends and you back at the Tamarind Hill soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is simply a gem of a place. Set away from the hustle and bustle of the Galle Rd you enter an oasis of calm and tranquilly that oozes simple style.
Fantastic pool, beautiful design, great food and charming staff.
I can't recommend this boutique hotel enough

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

We are truly humbled by your high recommendation of us. We are glad to have met your expectations and hopefully exceeded it.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your excellent review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are very big,nice and tidy well cleaned and well maintained and it has nice antique furniture.you can have more privacy in this hotel

Overall the hotel unique architecture is attracting the customer on their first look.

Garden is also very nice and well maintained with huge tamarind trees.very friendly staff.good for long stay customers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Avishka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your great review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad you enjoyed the uniqueness of the hotel as this is something we are striving to do. Give our guests truly memorable holidays in unique settings.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Tamarind Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A highlight was watching monkeys swinging through the trees whilst relaxing in the pool. Also peacocks strut in the gardens. The hotel has plenty of old world charm with wide verandahs and high ceilings. There is a lot of history in this hotel and it was good to relax and soak it all in.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel has almost 250 years of history as it used to be the home of aristocracy in the days gone by.
This home gained most prominence when it was subsequently the official residence of the British Admiral of the Peninsular and Orient Steam Navigation Company – the famed 'P&O Line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is more than my budget traveling usually allows for, but I found a deal online and was not disappointed. It's a stunning building with a wonderful staff, great food, delicious drinks, and a nice pool. All in all, a great experience. The only real negative is that the hotel is a tuk tuk ride away from the main part of galle (including the fort). It's a cheap ride ($3) and tuk tuks come quickly, but still slightly annoying.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest
We thank you for your great review and we are glad your stay with us.
The hotel is placed within close proximity to some lesser known attractions in and around Galle such as the Kovilla Godella Temple located only 0.5 km away and the Gini River located onsite so guests can indulge in a boat safari while staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I don't normally bother with reviews but having just returned from a stay at the Tamarind Hotel I thought I would this time as it is a brilliant hotel with excellent staff! It also is the perfect place for exploring Galle Fort, Unawatuna and Hikkadua

In general the Tamarind Hill is what I would call a small boutique hotel, it is off a side road in Galle and about 5 min Tuk tuk from the main Galle Town. It is situated in a very pleasant location and when walking back to the hotel at night you can see fireflies in the bushes around you.

The hotel is very very comfortable and pleasant. The Hotel is an old Dutch merchant house that has been converted in to a hotel, the whole hotel is very clean and modern while still retaining a certain charm.

The Pool is very nice and it was really nice to come 'home' have a dip to cool off while watching the monkeys playing in the trees! Because of its location there is a lot of different wildlife all of which is great to see.

The room was very comfy and very spacious., The bathroom was amazing.

Where the Tamarind Hill really excels is in the service provided by the Staff! The level of customer service was on the whole no less than brilliant, they where extremely attentive and really went above and beyond in every way. There was also a genuine interest in what you were doing in Sri Lanka and offered really helpful recommendations. Nothing was to much.

The food was very pleasant, we stayed on a B&B basis and we found the breakfast to be excellent, We ordered room service a couple of times and again found it very nice and we had dinner once, although the menu was varied the actual dinner we had there was disappointing which I am sure was not their usual standard, but because the staff were excellent I would not let this stop you going.

There were a couple of negatives though: We were told we could eat outside if we wanted to, then one morning at breakfast we asked to sit outside as some other guests where eating outside and we were told no, and ended up eating our breakfast inside. which was a shame as it was a beautiful morning and no real reason why was given. Just a bit strange.

The staff where very helpful when tuk tuk's were needed and in general we paid around the going rate, however we hired (through the hotel) a car for half a day and only a few days later did we realise we paid double the real price. I personally wasn't that bothered as it was still relatively cheap by western standards. If you want taxis order then from the end of the road and you can get the best price.

If you want to stay in a lovely hotel and experience some of the best Sri Lankan hospitality the I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Definitely in the top hotels I have stayed in the world. But what really makes this place special is the staff and the level of service, it is nothing short of excellent, the Tamarind Hill should be very proud and I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JEB016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for going out of your way to review us. It is much appreciated.

Our food and service levels remain our strongest points along with the colonial charm of our hotel and we strongly believe there is always room for improvement.

Your comments about dinner is noted and we are extremely sorry for not being able to meet your expectations in that area.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our paradise isle and to the Tamarind Hill once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I would highly recommend tamarind hill hotel to everybody who love to have priceless service and classic environment..... Specially the staff who working there so amazing and can't express their kindness from the word including manager mr. Nishantha...food and all other services also excellent.... I really thankful and wish u guys good luck

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbow277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your great comments and we appreciate your recommendations.

I will share your comments with the hotel team for a job well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,761 reviews
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 23 in Galle
69 reviews
6.2 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#9 of 23 in Galle
269 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £84 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing