We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed there with friends for 2 nights . The room was lovely... being at the end of the verandah we had two private seating areas. Everything we needed was available. The staff were particularly accommodating even bringing in items not on the menu just because we asked! The calm and inviting atmosphere is certainly conducive to a lovely peaceful break away from the cities. The town as well is lovely with quaint shops and small quiet streets. Great meals, great staff in a beautiful setting. What more can one ask for?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your great review.

Glad you enjoyed our service standards and sorry for not having the items you requested on our menu in the first place.

Thanking you again ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    102
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
149
307
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights during our short vacation and really enjoyed the quiet stay at this affordable hotel. The staff were very friendly and always there to assist when needed. I think the culinary was second to non and no doubt real value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinsleyDeMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Tamarind Hill and we thank you for your great comments..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent 4 days at The Tamarind Hill Resort in the month of June with My Wife. I must say that it is one of the most memorable holidays we have ever had. Quiet Place, Ideal resort if you want some privacy. The Staff were very helpful right from the moment we checked in.
The Manager Nishanth gave us a free upgrade to a poolside villa ,considering it was our first wedding anniversary. Staff Gayan and Chameera made us feel at home. They gave special attention to all our needs.The boat ride along the river right behind the resort is a must. Excellent food at a very affordable price unlike other luxury resorts. They have an excellent chef who spoiled us for choice. We were treated with some of the best Sri Lankan Dishes and other type Of Cuisine of our choice.
Will definitely stay at Tamarind Hill every time we go to Galle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshan_Deepika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are glad you chose Tamarind Hill for your accommodation during the period of your first wedding anniversary.

Glad you enjoyed the food and the services of our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Tamarind Hill soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Late in writing this review as we stayed in February 2014. On arrival we were upgraded to the biggest hotel suite we have ever stayed in! We had a massive bedroom, sitting room, bathroom and two verandas. One was huge, overlooking the front of the hotel with an amazing view of the sunset it went down over the coconut trees . The moment was augmented by some amazing G&T's! The other veranda overlooked the back of the hotel and we were able to enjoy part of our meal there before descending down to the outside dining area. The menu was exceptional and the food and presentation along with the service was impeccable. It was the last day of our tour in Sri Lanka and we regretted that we had not booked to stay longer. It is incredibly, relaxed and quiet and the service amazingly efficient whilst being totally unobtrusive. We enjoyed the pool, gardens and the wonderful buildings which all added to the calm and chilled atmosphere. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your amazing comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our food remains one of our strong points and I will most definitely share your review with our Food and Berverage staff for a job well done..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here during our honeymoon. We loved the decor, the building, the garden and the pool especially. They are all done beautifully. Cleaning was done to a high level, the toiletries in the bathroom were all high quality and we loved how the shady back of the pool looked at trees with great wildlife.

We disliked being quoted extortionate prices. For a ride to Galle Fort, which would have cost around a 100 Rupies, we were consistently quoted 300. When my raised eyebrow didn't even register with him, I explained that I understand how much it should be, to which he blatantly lied, telling me that it was what it was. Whenever we felt comfortable and left the hotel using the services provided by them, we routinely paid 2-3* as much as we did when we came back from the city to the hotel. The same with the 2 hour trip they scheduled to the mangrove lagoon. They charged us an exorbitant sum (locally speaking) for a dingy little boat with a guide who hardly spoke any English. He was nice enough, but for this much money, I would have expected a luxury cruise with some extras like a buffet. It's not the money that annoys me, it's that they don't treat you as guests, but as targets for their schemes.

I'm sure you'll also be told by them that the prices are what they are. Do yourself a favour. Walk down to the main road and catch a tuktuk from there, See what happens.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SeafoodSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Sorry for the late reply as I have had to do some fact finding on my own before responding to this. We are extremely sorry that you had to go through this.

The tuk tuk prices are very unregulated in Sri Lanka specially when you are away from Colombo the price disparities becomes much worse as most of the tuk tuk have no meters..

I am surprised and glad that you were able to obtain the rate of Rs 100/- for an almost 5 km trip as even me as a local would not be able to obtain a rate like this.

The reason the rate you pay at the hotel is higher is because we provide drivers who are reliable and driver who are known to us. By hopping into a tuk tuk by the side of the road we may not be able to give you this guarantee and as a tourist you may be charged much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It was by chance that we came across this Fantastic Resort by word of our friends in Galle..
We got all that we requested and more. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully furnished and we found everything very clean and tidy, we felt very homely.

We had our little grandson of 16 months who found the gardens his playground most of the day although he was a bit scared of the monkeys he enjoyed watching them swinging through the trees. my husband and I being hoteliers found the staff very friendly, helpful and courteous, which is not found in city hotels and that made our stay very comfortable.

We found the GM to be a great Hotelier too, his fantastic public relations skills are amazing and I am sure it is an asset to this property. I wish him and his friendly staff the very best. I will not hesitate to recommend this property to all our friends & family in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your excellent review of our hotel.
Coming from a hotelier we are glad that we have managed to exceed your expectations as this is something all hoteliers aim to do.

I will no doubt share your review with the staff at the hotel for a job well done..

We look forward to welcoming your friends and you back at the Tamarind Hill soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is simply a gem of a place. Set away from the hustle and bustle of the Galle Rd you enter an oasis of calm and tranquilly that oozes simple style.
Fantastic pool, beautiful design, great food and charming staff.
I can't recommend this boutique hotel enough

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are truly humbled by your high recommendation of us. We are glad to have met your expectations and hopefully exceeded it.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your excellent review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
3.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Property: Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#2 Spa Hotel in Galle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing