We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
1 review
“What a charming hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I strongly recommend Tamarind Hill in Galle for several reasons: wonderful example of colonial architecture, great location on a small hill facing the sea, calm atmosphere, sophisticated service, spacious rooms and suites,fine Dutch furniture, exquisite cuisine. The General Manager, Mr.Nishantha Gamage, will make you feel at home!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank raffaella949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the architecture and the location of our hotel. We like to think it shows you a different side to Galle as Galle is usually known for its beaches.

Will most definitely share this review with Nishantha and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    100
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
146
301
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tamarid hill on our two weeks vacation in Sri Lanka. It was the best hotel over our stay in the island. Just 12 rooms small chaming hotel. 10 minutes to Gall fourt and city just Rs.300 away by tuk_tuk. Sri Lankan breakfast was best out of all meals. We enjoyed our stay with plenty of birds and monkys who runs on the roof top. Will be back to Tamarind hill on our next visit with our friends.
specil thanks to GM Mr.Nishantha and his friendly team who make our stay memorable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank prasath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to review us.

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Tamarind Hill. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we new this hotel was special. This hotel is elegant and charming.The rooms were a touch of luxury. The food was incredible and the service first class. Thank you to the manager Nishantha and a special thank you to Chemerra for his incredible service! We highly recommend this hotel. Our favourite hotel in Sri Lanka. Chris and Karen Australia.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for this review and the personalized email sent.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided. Our quality of food remains one of our strong points and we are glad you enjoyed it.

I will most definitely share your review with Nishantha and Chamara fro a job well done..

Thank you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely two night stay at Tamarind Hill. It is a little outside of the fort, about 5 minutes by tuk tuk but this is no problem and it provides a peaceful and beautiful refuge away from the busy fort area. The hotel is boutique and luxurious, with only ten rooms which face onto a central grassy area. The rooms are huge as are the bathroom and amazing quality at this price. The breakfast similarly is huge! The pool area is gorgeous and service is exceptional, they cannot do enough for you and love hearing about your day in Galle and your life. Special mention to Gayan who was very helpful and charming! We ate at the hotel both nights of our stay as it is very good value compared to overpriced places in the fort area, I highly recommend the rice and curry, at 750 rupees it is absolutely delicious and a steal in such a beautiful setting. Stay here, you won't regret it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbourne222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Tamarind Hill and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Glad you enjoyed the service standards and food at the hotel.

I will most definitely share your review with Gayan for a job well done..
Thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

There are no words to describe it... The hotel is inside a old colonial house, perfectly renewed and really luxurious. The staff is very nice and helpful, and makes you feel like a king and queen. The room is very spacious and luxurious, but still it seems like you are a couple of centuries ago. Wonderful garden for breakfast ( delicious! ) and swimming pool

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol83Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent review. We as a hotel strive hard to make our guests feel truly special during their stay.

We are glad you loved your stay at the Tamarind Hill and we look forward to welcoming you back soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived in Galle, intending only to stay one night. We were lucky and got two rooms at the Tamarind Hill, and stayed as long as we could! Just fabulous. It's just outside the town, so very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are gorgeous, lovely old furniture, huge beds and lots of hot water in the huge bathrooms. Very clean and comfy.
The food was fantastic, best prawn olio aglio ever. My daughter has a nut allergy and the staff were very helpful making sure she ate the right things. We ate out on the lawn every night, just magical.
The pool is lovely, surrounded by flowers and plants. If you are very quiet, large fluffy monkeys come and sit in the tree above you, and watch you watching them.
Galle is five minutes away in a tuktuk, and the beach just a few hundred yards. Not tempted by the beach, as the pool is so lovely.
Will definitely come back and stay again.
Thank you Nishantha Gamage the general manager (for finding rooms for us for three nights) Mano, one of the two superb chefs, and all the staff who were so charming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midnightmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and even choose to extend.

We are glad that we met your expectations and hopefully exceeded them in terms of service, food and the property itself..

We and the team at Tamarind Hill look forward to welcoming you once again to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed there with friends for 2 nights . The room was lovely... being at the end of the verandah we had two private seating areas. Everything we needed was available. The staff were particularly accommodating even bringing in items not on the menu just because we asked! The calm and inviting atmosphere is certainly conducive to a lovely peaceful break away from the cities. The town as well is lovely with quaint shops and small quiet streets. Great meals, great staff in a beautiful setting. What more can one ask for?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindHill, Asia Leisure Team at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your great review.

Glad you enjoyed our service standards and sorry for not having the items you requested on our menu in the first place.

Thanking you again ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
3.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Property: Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#2 Spa Hotel in Galle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing