We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Inn Guest House
Ranked #27 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Close to restaurants and shops and only a stone's throw from the Fort Wall (where I watched sunrise and sunset) this is a simple, clean and affordable guesthouse. Hot showers, comfy bed, clean rooms, mosquito netting, fridge and wi-fi make for a pretty perfect stay in my book!
The rooms may be small by some people's standards, but considering you're inside the Fort it's not an issue. Simple but tasty breakfast on the roof. My room had a nice little balcony overlooking a mango tree. Great A/C and fan, I slept like a baby. Caring and kind owners too - the owner let me hop on his motorbike when I needed to rush last minute to the ATM.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairespice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, the location is great, the price is fantastic, but neither me or my partner slept very well because we found the bed a little hard.
That being said, we paid very little for a good room and the people working there were lovely too. They arranged a tuk tuk driven by their brother to mirissa, stopping at a few attractions along the way for a good price.
Would recommend for a cheap friendly place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosie_92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this guesthouse for just one night whist in Galle, though we could've stayed much longer had our Itinery allowed. From first meeting, the staff are very welcoming but not 'overbearing'. The young girl who greeted us allowed us to ask any questions and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The location is great, near the east side of the fort, very central with good distance between restaurants, shops/stalls, the fort walls and a quaint little beach too. The room is a little small by some people's standards but for us it was perfect. I loved how the double bed (with mosquito net draped like curtains around four poster-style) was next to the window and a gentle breeze rolled in in the morning and you can hear the town slowly waking up. Which is comforting after having quite an itchy night's sleep- despite the mosquito net, some sort of bug got to us but we weren't sure as to what as we didn't see mosquitoes. The breakfast was nice too- toast with jam and egg and a whole palate of fruit each, along with a pot of tea/coffee as preferred. Very filling especially for a potentially long journey ahead. Their food prices are a little on the pricier side of Galle, but from the ambience and attitude of the staff, I believe it would be made with care and they seem like they would probably make it to meet your needs.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nataliela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is conveniently located inside the Fort. However, the bedrooms are very small, and would need refurbishment, especially the bathroom. The A/C does not work properly and is not cooling down the room much. The hotel is located on a noisy street, and the Prayer from the Mosque woke us up in the early morning. The stairs to reach the rooms are very steep, and you have to be careful, especially when bringing your suitcases to the rooms. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We moved here from the Mango House which was booked up going forward. It was around the corner. It suited us because we could sit and endlessly watch the street life from the 1st floor balcony where the excellent breakfast was also taken. The room was good for the price Rs3000 with fan nets and air con. The shower was electric and there was a fridge in which we kept our B---. It is central to the fort and we soon became friends with the owner's brother Namal with his tuk tuk. We went with him for a whole day for less than £20 and visited everything we could including a tea plantation and a turtle 'farm'. They really should choose another epithet here as it does not turn turtles into shoes but rescues and returns them when possible.

We also booked our trip to Yala National Park and whale watch with Rasika, the owner and set off for Merissa at unheard of o'clock in the morning. The night watchman made us a pot of coffee before we went. It cost me a cigarette ! It would be difficult to find a more helpful and friendly family than Rasika, Namal her brother and her husband. They are gems. Even the cleaner is interesting. She glides silently around smiling and the hotel becomes clean !

Room Tip: I suspect our room (the only one) on the 1st floor was the best but cannot be absolutely sure. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david-Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent 2 nights in Galle and we loved this place. It is in Galle fort, close to a bunch of restaurants. The room was great. We had a really good breakfast in the morning. From this guest house, we took a tuk tuk to pass an afternoon on the beach of Unawatuna (only 400 rupees to get there).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel is great value for money. The wifi is great, the rooms are clean and spacious and it has a great rooftop area. The family that owned the place were very friendly. The location in the fort is perfect, very close to lots of cafes and shops.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiesydneyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#1 of 153 in Galle
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#13 of 153 in Galle
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#12 of 153 in Galle
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#18 of 153 in Galle
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Casa
Green Casa
#21 of 153 in Galle
16 reviews
0 mi away
Frangipani Motel
Frangipani Motel
#31 of 153 in Galle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Inn Guest House

Address: 31 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Inn Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
04 no. of room family run guest house invite to you stay with us, shere your experience with our family.5 minutes by tuk tuk from the bus or railway station. no.31, Pedler Street, Fort, Galle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Inn Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing