We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Inn Guest House
Ranked #27 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights in April. The rooms are perfectly clean and fresh feeling. The location is perfect with the Galle fort and lighthouse just a short walk away. There are also many lovely restaurants on the same street. The staff were very welcoming and helpful!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JennaJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights at the Fort Inn Guest House and had a very nice stay. The room was slightly dated but very comfortable and perfect for our needs (good shower, mosquito net, sitting area). The Fort Inn is located in a beautiful old house, right in the middle of the Fort area. The breakfast was decent, we enjoyed the large plate of fresh fruit and delicious tea. Possibly slightly overpriced but this place and its location made our stay in Galle wonderful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank biggie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice guesthouse in the heart of Galle Fort. Few minutes walk to the main attractions and restaurants. Room was clean with a nice view. Wifi available only in public areas. Friendly and helpful staff!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minimigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Close to restaurants and shops and only a stone's throw from the Fort Wall (where I watched sunrise and sunset) this is a simple, clean and affordable guesthouse. Hot showers, comfy bed, clean rooms, mosquito netting, fridge and wi-fi make for a pretty perfect stay in my book!
The rooms may be small by some people's standards, but considering you're inside the Fort it's not an issue. Simple but tasty breakfast on the roof. My room had a nice little balcony overlooking a mango tree. Great A/C and fan, I slept like a baby. Caring and kind owners too - the owner let me hop on his motorbike when I needed to rush last minute to the ATM.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairespice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, the location is great, the price is fantastic, but neither me or my partner slept very well because we found the bed a little hard.
That being said, we paid very little for a good room and the people working there were lovely too. They arranged a tuk tuk driven by their brother to mirissa, stopping at a few attractions along the way for a good price.
Would recommend for a cheap friendly place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosie_92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this guesthouse for just one night whist in Galle, though we could've stayed much longer had our Itinery allowed. From first meeting, the staff are very welcoming but not 'overbearing'. The young girl who greeted us allowed us to ask any questions and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The location is great, near the east side of the fort, very central with good distance between restaurants, shops/stalls, the fort walls and a quaint little beach too. The room is a little small by some people's standards but for us it was perfect. I loved how the double bed (with mosquito net draped like curtains around four poster-style) was next to the window and a gentle breeze rolled in in the morning and you can hear the town slowly waking up. Which is comforting after having quite an itchy night's sleep- despite the mosquito net, some sort of bug got to us but we weren't sure as to what as we didn't see mosquitoes. The breakfast was nice too- toast with jam and egg and a whole palate of fruit each, along with a pot of tea/coffee as preferred. Very filling especially for a potentially long journey ahead. Their food prices are a little on the pricier side of Galle, but from the ambience and attitude of the staff, I believe it would be made with care and they seem like they would probably make it to meet your needs.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nataliela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is conveniently located inside the Fort. However, the bedrooms are very small, and would need refurbishment, especially the bathroom. The A/C does not work properly and is not cooling down the room much. The hotel is located on a noisy street, and the Prayer from the Mosque woke us up in the early morning. The stairs to reach the rooms are very steep, and you have to be careful, especially when bringing your suitcases to the rooms. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#1 of 153 in Galle
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#13 of 153 in Galle
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#12 of 153 in Galle
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#19 of 153 in Galle
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Casa
Green Casa
#20 of 153 in Galle
16 reviews
0 mi away
Frangipani Motel
Frangipani Motel
#32 of 153 in Galle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Inn Guest House

Address: 31 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Inn Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
04 no. of room family run guest house invite to you stay with us, shere your experience with our family.5 minutes by tuk tuk from the bus or railway station. no.31, Pedler Street, Fort, Galle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Inn Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing