We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful. Wonderful location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Inn Guest House
Ranked #30 of 142 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Idylically located within walls of the historic old fort at Galle in southern Sri Lanka. It is easily reached by road or train from Colombo. Wonderful scenery and beaches nearby. New town offers good shopping but old fort area also has everything you need from shops to restaurants, churches, temples and museums. The Fort Inn is clean, comfortable and very welcoming. Family run business by two young friendly, helpful and caring Sri Lankans. We could only stay three nights but really enjoyed it. The room showed the owner had put her heart into the decor and there was hot water shower and fan or aircon. The food was fantastic at supper and breakfast. There is a large communal area and Satalite TV, a balcony where you can sit and eat/drink and the owner makes internet or wifi available on request. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Fort Inn Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

The Fort Inn Guest House is a great example of "small is beautiful", having four guest rooms. The live~in hosts Rasika & Rasika, are just what you, the weary traveller needs on arrival in a new town, warm and welcoming hosts, while not being over~intrusive, are ever attentive to your needs and wishes ~ from meeting you at the train station, to ensuring you are comfortable in your room, and well advised on eating and other interests around the Fort.
The rooms are compact but comfortable - with everything advertised, including hot water, working and available 24/7.
The Inn is ideally situated on one of the main little thoroughfares in Fort Galle - with mainly pedestrian traffiic - and a balcony above, where you can enjoy your breakfast, or a quiet read while watching the passing parade. The only possible downside is that there are four levels and quite a few stairs.
But should the FortInn be booked out,, then there is a sister guest house just 50 metres away, almost as convivial, where they will probably be able to get you in, and where there are very few stairs..
I would rate the Fort Inn as excellent value for money, particularly if you are looking to spend a few days leisurely brousing through Fort Galle - which is definitely one of those 'abandon the program and just follow you nose' sort of towns.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We had a great time at the Fort Inn. They had clean rooms, mosquito nets, air conditioning and nice big breakfasts every morning. They are simply lovely people and it's a great way to experience life inside the Galle Fort. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterVanDort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Fort Inn was charming in nearly every way. A spindly and very dutch stairway led to our room, which was small but more than adequate and utterly cozy: The bed was big and soft (had my best sleep in Sri Lanka on it) and the room was bright and...well, quaint , like an old Dutch house though much simpler. Since the Inn is in the middle of the Fort on one of its nicer roads, it was a perfect spot to spend a few days wondering about and soaking up the unique Galle atmosphere. The owner of the Inn was an adorable woman named....I forget, but generous with her time and resources; not surprisingly, her breakfast were large and beautifully cooked (I chose the Sri Lankan menu, my friends the Western). Downside? My room was quiet but I imagine that those at the front might hear more noise in the morning--not cars but voices. The showers are like many in the country--lots of hot water but slow drainage. Finally, it is best to dine on the balcony since the non balcony dining areas are short on airiness and light. In any case , I will stay there again the next time I go south.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We expected a great deal from all the reviews. When we arrived at the guest house, we were led down the street to their new property called Fort Fifty. "Same place, different location", we were told, minus a working kitchen. This worried us but we followed along.

The room wasn't ready, so we left our bags at the front and wandered the town checking ot different guest houses - but everything was booked. A couple of hours later they gave us our room, nothing like the pictures.

It was small and finished in white plaster and fluorescent lights. There was mold and mildew stains on the wall. There was a TV, 10 inches up in the corner like and old bus station. We left it off. To turn on/off the air con, you had to climb on the bed and plug/unplug it.

The bathroom reeked and could be smelled from the room entrance. It was set up withe the shower right beside the toilet. When using it, the toilet paper was drenched, so we kept spares rolls outside. The toilet tank leaked onto your shoes from a hole in the side when you flushed.

All in all, we found it a bit disgusting. Fortunately our place in Unanwatuna could check us in early, so we left the next day. They proudly display their lonely planet review, take too many reservations and then push the extra to their new, inferior place. Not very honest.

I reccommend confirming which spot you're getting.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qatar_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chanul, Owner at Fort Inn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

When these guest called we expllained that the entire fort was fully booked.we tried to find a room elsewhere and this small room was available at 'FORT FIFTY INN'. Sri lanka was suffering torrential rain and all houses were damp and humid. This room was properly cleaned between guests and the newly found fault with the A/C switch explained. The previous guest check out in the morning and these guest were able to entere the before noon. We were unware of the leaking for let until they informed us.The next day check out. we agree some of this review.
In the this review impliest that the room fault and discomfot of the guest was fault of the FORT INN MANAGEMENT. They stayed at the 'FORT FIFTY INN' ,(newly opened three months ago) same family but not the same guest house. Thatswi we want to explaint to them.
We merely tried to assist watelogged travellers by find alternate accomadation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I had stayed one night at the Fort Inn guesthouse ! the owners made me feel so much at home ! their great smiles and service won my heart ! i really wish i could have stayed back for a few more nights ! The food was excellent and the rooms were the best in all of the hotels i stayed at in the entire trip !! cheers to the Fort Inn management! thanks for making my holiday in galle even more spectacular !! :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Fort Inn is by far the best guest house we have found in Sri Lanka. Rasika and her family are very welcoming- so friendly and helpful and you are always greeted with a smile. The guest house is sparkling clean and the food is fantastic. We had breakfast here every morning and it was wonderful. Also a balcony to sit out on in the middle of Galle Fort. You can also hire a moped here at the guesthouse and there is free Wi- Fi. From a girls point of view, when we arrived there were flower petals on our bed a lovely array of cushions also. I would highly recommend this place- very good value and very good service with no service charge- very rare in Sri Lanka !! We really enjoyed our stay- fantastic!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toolin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#21 of 142 in Galle
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Palace Guest House
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#23 of 142 in Galle
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#15 of 142 in Galle
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nisala Guest House
Nisala Guest House
#36 of 142 in Galle
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Malena
Villa Malena
#39 of 142 in Galle
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Inn Guest House

Address: 31 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £19 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Inn Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
04 no. of room family run guest house invite to you stay with us, shere your experience with our family.5 minutes by tuk tuk from the bus or railway station. no.31, Pedler Street, Fort, Galle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Inn Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing