We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Average”
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #71 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced Average”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

5000 LKR for a room without air condition and hot water. A big business for owners because of Lonely Planet travel guide book's tip.
Not recommended. you can find more affordable, cheaper and much nicer accommodation in Galle.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf_Vohnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    90
    53
    28
    16
See reviews for
28
126
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We spent one night in the motel. The bed and room was fine and clean, and the house looks beautiful from the outside. The reason I am not giving it a higher grade is that I didn't feel very welcome in comparison to other places I stayed. The family lives in the place, but they hardly great you. If you are looking for a comfy bed and a clean room in the centre of Galle fort, go here. But if you are looking for a personal touch, don't go to this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The plug socket in our room wouldn't work and the shower went cold half way through. We gave some laundry to the owner, who then left it out in the rain. We ended up having to take it with us soaking wet as we were leaving the next day. They don't speak much English so communication was difficult. Totally over-priced for what we had.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bejohn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galle hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were booked for three nights but ended up moving on after two. The room was clean and the bathroom presented well but the toilet stoped flushing and the bathroom smell was awful. Breakfast was good , but we chose to eat out for all the other meals in the Fort as there was so much to choose from. I think there are other better options within the Fort. Mama's restaurant is a must.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the upper levels as you get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I booked a room a month in advance and had a long email conversation with the owners about dates and the type of the room I wanted, as well as confirming the booking. I arrived on the day I had booked to find that they had no record of my booking, but were unapologetic and didn't even seem to care that they had messed up and definitely didn't say sorry or offer any alternatives - despite me showing them the email proof that my booking had been confirmed.. It being high season, I struggled to find somewhere else to stay at short notice.

Stay away - rude, unfriendly and unreliable. Glad we didn't stay in the end - looked rubbish from the outside anyway!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed at the Frangipani Motel in Galle whilst visiting Sri Lanka for the cricket last year . I found the landlady most helpful and knowledgeable about all things in the Galle area l would fully recommend this hotel + its in a great location within the Fort a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ants54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent 5 nights in this establishment,chosen on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and we really cannot agree with or understand the glowing remarks made by other travellers. On the positive side, the breakfasts were fine, the family were friendly and the position in the centre of the Fort area was good. On the negative side, the room was not cleaned, or linen and towels changed in the whole of our stay and we had to provide our own toilet paper after the first day.The electrics to the shower were potentially lethal. Mosquitoes were rampant in the room, including inside the mosquito net, which had been conveniently left open to better see the prettily arranged flowers on the bed. There was no insect killer to combat this situation and we left in a VERY bitten state! The final dissatisfaction came when, on our departure morning, we arranged with the family for them to take us to the rail station. We returned after a quick shop,ready for the transfer, to find that the driver had gone out on a more lucrative trip, which we could understand, but that we had sat around for 15 minutes and the rest of the family had not bothered telling us until we enquired. This Inevitably meant we almost missed the train whilst alternative transport was found.
Overall, the establishment is in the wrong price price bracket for the level of service and facilities provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieRolo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#20 of 125 in Galle
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#29 of 125 in Galle
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#15 of 125 in Galle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weltevreden
Hotel Weltevreden
#89 of 125 in Galle
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#4 of 125 in Galle
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#9 of 125 in Galle
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Property: Frangipani Motel
Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing