We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly overpriced but ok (central) hotel”
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #39 of 167 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

one of the most expensive rooms during my trip (without breakfast included), but not the best (bit dark, cold water most of the times, aircon only if i've paid even more, staff was moderately friendly..)

breakfast was good, we also did a tour with one of the staff (and their tuktuk), which was nice to see some more of the surroundings of galle,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in this motel in August 2013 with the two of us. The room itself was not very clean. Still we had to pay 3500 rupees for a small bedroom without AC. Futhermore, the fan was not working properly. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilbert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Frangipani Motel is a very beutifull motel in an old building. Rooms are very bright, clean and bed and shower are good (with really hot water!). Also the service is superb. When they were fully booked the first night, they aragned us a good appartment at ag ood price.

Tip: book in advance, the place is everyday completly full.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Frangipani is an average place with average rooms to stay. The building is nice. The owners/people are not that nice or helpful as we are used to in sri lanka. In our opinion it was too expensive, especially since breakfast was not included. If you, like us, have room no. 1 on the top floor, check if you're not locked in at night, because they tend to close the door from the inside of the roof terrace. For a good breakfast go to Punto Café next door.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My partner and I were travelling across Sri Lanka on motorbike and after many dusty, hot and stressful journeys the Frangipani was a little oasis. Galle itself is very beautiful and cultural, and the Frangipani reflected this. It is a deceptively huge, beautiful building with good sized rooms with AC and hot water at reasonable rates. You receive a warm family welcome and the veranda is a lovely place to chill from the midday sun with a lassi or fruit juice. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Excellent motel. The family that owns the place has great hospitality. Take time to talk with them and you will quickly become friends. They share a lot of their knowledge about the country and their culture. The house is a piece of architecture and so big . Rooms are large and have ac if you need. They organise tour and can help you with their own tuktuk. Really well situated. Pedlar st is in the middle of the fort and every restaurant and interesting points are near.

Room Tip: You gonna be lucky if you find a room without call, its always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilaume M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Excellent guest house with friendly and helpful owners. The house is large, and airy with a lovely garden. Rooms are fine with hot water and AC.Nice to sit in the lounge and chill after a day at the beach. Pedlar St is great. Galle Fort is a quiet mix of Hoi An and Dubrovnik.The family provide a tuk tuk service to local tourist sites or to the beach, as well as simple meals and good tea and coffee - they are very relaxed and not at all pushy.

Room Tip: I am unaware of kids activities or fitness centers....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#36 of 167 in Galle
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#19 of 167 in Galle
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#5 of 167 in Galle
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#14 of 167 in Galle
263 reviews
0 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#13 of 167 in Galle
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Heaven
Fort Heaven
#49 of 167 in Galle
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £24 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing