We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good room”
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #66 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Perpignan, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, good room”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Frangipani Motel for a couple of nights in November and got a double room with fan. We didn't take the breakfast.

Plus :
- Very well located inside Galle Fort.
- Room was very clean and so was the big bathroom.
- Wifi worked correctly.
- Got a fair discount as we stayed more than one night and it was not yet the high season.

Minus :
- The room was quite dark with a big wall 2m far from the window, although not a big issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jijipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    90
    54
    28
    16
See reviews for
28
128
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here overnight but a friend recommended it for lunch which was delicious, very fresh and very contemporary. Seafood ceviche, calamari and yellow fin tuna salad. Really really good and a great position on the ocean. The pool looked nice but it was raining so we didn't use it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was impressed with this place- one of the best rooms I stayed in during my 3 week trip in Sri Lanka in the Rs2000-3000 per night bracket. Modern, spotlessly clean and very central. Was able to negotiate better rate but could have been because was fairly low season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsonlegarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Large rooms with balconies, small grass area, free wifi!
Great location.
Clean, comfortable, fan or ac!
3500 rupees for fan room which was enough for the time of year we were there (September)
HOT WATER SHOWERS

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

one of the most expensive rooms during my trip (without breakfast included), but not the best (bit dark, cold water most of the times, aircon only if i've paid even more, staff was moderately friendly..)

breakfast was good, we also did a tour with one of the staff (and their tuktuk), which was nice to see some more of the surroundings of galle,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in this motel in August 2013 with the two of us. The room itself was not very clean. Still we had to pay 3500 rupees for a small bedroom without AC. Futhermore, the fan was not working properly. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilbert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galle hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deventer, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Frangipani Motel is a very beutifull motel in an old building. Rooms are very bright, clean and bed and shower are good (with really hot water!). Also the service is superb. When they were fully booked the first night, they aragned us a good appartment at ag ood price.

Tip: book in advance, the place is everyday completly full.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Gems
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#23 of 137 in Galle
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 137 in Galle
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#20 of 137 in Galle
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#4 of 137 in Galle
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Property: Frangipani Motel
Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing