We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #32 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Frangipani Motel is perfectly located in Galle, the small fort town. Galle is gorgeous and a must visit for anyone travelling to Sri Lanka. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was good with fruit, toast and fried egg - filling. We were accommodated in the motel's second part, opposite the main part of the motel. We were on the top floor, which meant we had a lot of privacy and a balcony to ourselves. The room was large but had a few issues such as a non-working TV and very noisy bed that squeaked loudly if you rolled just a few centimetres. The owners weren't super friendly but did their job well.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor in the annex opposite the main part of the motel - very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaandtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early January and were very pleasantly surprised with what we got for our money compared to many of the other hotels we had stayed in during our travels.
We called in on the off chance and were shown 3 rooms in the main building which all looked very nice, spacious and clean, each with their own private balconies.
We chose the slightly more expensive room (no.1) on its own at the top of the building which had a sizeable terrace (in the daytime the staff came up to put the washing out on the roof to dry and water the plants but, otherwise, it was private). 7000 LKR a night included air-con and plenty of hot water (the latter was a rarity). There was also a TV and a fridge in the room, and sufficient plug sockets (another rarity). Everything was clean, it was quiet, a good bed, and we found nothing to complain about. There were saloon type swing doors to the bathroom, which some might not like for privacy reasons, but it did not bother us. We slept well, the only slight disturbance was the early morning call to prayer from the mosque, but it was not that bad and I think you will hear it from most places in Galle Fort.
We had some washing done for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was not included, but that was fine for us (no need to get up early!). The location is very central in the fort area with plenty of pleasant bars and restaurants nearby.
We wanted to stay longer, but they were fully booked so we had to move on. I would stay here again if returning to Galle.
There is an annex across the road, but the larger main building is set back a bit and seemed more private. However, having not seen the annex rooms I cannot really judge.

Room Tip: The two rooms we were shown in the main building on the first floor both looked good. We liked the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucySky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We found this large roomed hotel very convenient for 2 night stay in Galle old town area.Mosquito nets,fans,a/c,large balcony,clean and comfortable. Minor sink problem quickly sorted,and plenty of hot water (once I found the switch! )Breakfast extra, very nice.Good value.I was impressed how all the bedding and mattress were aired outside and great attention to a nice fresh bed and clean floor.

Room Tip: Seemed a quieter street,hotel set back from road in garden,so no traffic noise really at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Located in the heart of Galle Fort, we found this hotel last minute, we book a room (N° 15) with a large terrace, all was very clean and comfortable. Very calm as in the fort. Breakfast is correct. The owner pays keeps the standard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsun82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I didn't really do my homework before arriving in Galle Fort so I just went by LonelyPlanet and to be honest I think there are probably better options around (Mango House, for example). As with a lot of places that get featured in LP, the prices go up and the quality goes down. It was very quiet when I was there, the lounge and dining area were deserted and it was a little dark and gloomy inside. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean, nothing to complain about there. The one bright spot was that the family that run the place was extremely accommodating to me, I was able to leave some shopping there whilst I went to Mirissa for a few days and also leave my backpack there one of the days when I was just passing through and taking photos.

If you need a place to stay on short notice for a night then this place is ideally situated smack in the centre of the Fort area. But if you really want the chic experience that Fort has come to be then spend a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Very kind staff and good value for its location(in the heart of galle fort). We paid 2800lkr per night for an air con room. Room was clean and Breakfast was nice (not included). They forgot to wash my clothes which were still damp when I left

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank toniolombardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

For the first time visit Galle, this will be a nice choice for stay. This hotel is clean and with good service. You can tell the stuffs all the problem u meet and they are very well to help us. And the breakfirst here is delicious for us. Anyway, this is recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raven0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 153 in Galle
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#14 of 153 in Galle
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#1 of 153 in Galle
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#26 of 153 in Galle
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#13 of 153 in Galle
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#4 of 153 in Galle
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £18 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing