We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention needed”
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #70 of 121 Galle B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Attention needed”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The photos that are shown on the brochures are al taken at night as the hotel looks rather different during the day. The bathroom was appalling and did not smell very pleasant. No soap of toiletries are provided at all.I would have thought that a glass in the bathroom to brush teeth would be a nice touch. We were asked to remove our shoes in a rather rude manner. I normally don't have an issue removing my shoes upon arrival, but the floors as less than clean. An effort was made to provide breakfast and was cooked individually.

Room Tip: Definitely do not choose room number 5, the bathroom smell terribly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    90
    53
    28
    16
See reviews for
28
126
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel and it was a really enjoyable experience. The hotel is split over two buildings, the original and main building with a garden, reception, huge open staircase and small pond in the entrance hall, then directly opposite a smaller building with extra rooms.

We stayed in the main building, in room 3, which is upstairs at the back, with a huge four poster bed which was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, it might even be better than our bed at home! It is huge and because of the four posts the mosquito net goes completely around it and doesn't sag or hang low anywhere. The a/c worked well and there was also a fan. Our room had a small balcony with table and chairs to sit on, which was just above the family kitchen at the back, though it wasn't noisy at all.

We paid 5,500 LKR a night without b/fast and it was definitely worth it. We had breakfast there which was really good and reasonably priced.

One night we were there was a public holiday to celebrate the end of Ramadam so there wasn't officially any dinner on offer, but the owner said if we wanted to eat what they were eating (ie. rice and curry) we could have that so we did and it was one of the best meals of the holiday! It was truly authentic, delicious (sri lankan spicy!) curry. We had one fish, one chicken and then about 5 extra vegetable side dishes - dahl, carrots, potatoes, aubergine, peas, coconut sambal and popadoms. It was an amazing banquet and I am on a mission to try and re-create the dishes at home now!

The hotel is basically within the family home and there is a really nice feel. Everyone working there is a family member and they are all helpful and friendly but without being pushy or intrusive.

I thoroughly recommend this place and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and our hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The place was relaxed, quiet and clean with clean rooms (4 poster beds and mosquito nets) and several balconies to admire the views from. We didn't eat here as there was plenty of local places to try out.

Great location, walking distance to most places within the fort. If not, there are always tuk-tuks. Great prices. Highly reccomended!

Room Tip: There are two buildings to this motel, across the road from each other. If provided with a choice, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonOfAuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed last year in May, and loved the one night that we stayed. Good rooms with AC and view. A pretty balcony and a bathroom with open space above in the room we stayed. The owners were very friendly and go out of the way to help. They have their own trishaw and a driver/guide who was very friendly and informative person who took us to many places in galle at a cheap rate as well and waited patiently while we admired the locations and took pictures..( am not sure if he is still working there).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Was told staying in the fort is expensive but frangipani motel was excellent priced and close to everything! Hostess was so friendly she even try to teach me how to wear a saree. It was an excellent experience

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for only one night whilst visiting Galle.
We (wife and myself) 'haggled' for the best price and paid 5000 rupees for B&B (£25ish)
Room was lovely, clean, tidy and a nice four poster with mozzie net, hot shower room and large balcony.
Breakfast was OK, but the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Location is good, just a short walk to the ramparts.
Next time in Sri Lanka, we'll make sure we take a trip to visitin this lovely hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you plan to sleep within the fort walls while visiting Galle, be prepared to pay quiet a bit, especially when staying at a place recommended by Lonely Planet. The room we got was okay, with AC and hot shower, and we had a huge balcony, which we enjoyed. However, although the bathroom was clean, it was totally mosquito infested, and internet hardly ever worked. Besides, the owners aren't really friendly.
If that sounds like something you're ready to pay 5000 Rupees a night (without breakfast!), why not, it's located a couple of metres from the fort walls, and the inner decoration is nicely made, with the Kois near the entrance. If you're backpacking, we'd however recommend looking for a place outside the fort walls, especially since food places around Frangipani Motel only serve expensive western food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Street_Spirit85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#27 of 121 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weltevreden
Hotel Weltevreden
#89 of 121 in Galle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#19 of 121 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Guest House
Ocean View Guest House
#88 of 121 in Galle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#16 of 121 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Old Dutch House
New Old Dutch House
#81 of 121 in Galle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Property: Frangipani Motel
Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing