We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like it. Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Era Beach by Jetwing
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Pandora2210
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“There's no place like it. Amazing!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are currently on our last night at Jetwing Era and all I can say is that we are so sad to be leaving. Having arrived a week ago for a wedding in Galle, a number of friends (8) from around the world stayed at this hotel and as seasoned travellers, we all agreed that it is truly a home away from home. Mr Da Silva the manager, Lalitha and the other staff go above and beyond to accommodate our every request and everyone from the security guard to the barman (Dinesha) and the housekeeping staff (espcially!) are ready to serve with the happiest smile! The rooms are very modern, but are still sympathetic to the beach and colonial theme of the region. The bathrooms (with waterfall showerheads) are enormous as well! One of the great aspects of this place is the food. I've eaten at a number of places during our week here and other places at the Fort but none have come close to the cuisine here which is a perfect blend of Western and Sri Lankan. My favorite part? The tranquility. Even with a hectic week of wedding events to attend, the feel of peaceful retreat and sanctuary can be found here. Though we are leaving tomorrow, this place will always have a special place in our travel memoirs. Thank you again to the staff at Jetwing. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandora2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for this wonderful feedback from your experience here at Jetwing Era Beach, it is an absolute pleasure to read such positive comments from one of our guests and it is so rewarding to the team here who continue to readily serve and assist in delivering the highest in service excellence. The sprawling Dutch colonial style of the property certainly retains its character and charm; the glistening saltwater pool and sun loungers sat just above the gently tumbling waves really make it a sanctuary for peacefulness and relaxation. I am very pleased you were able to appreciate this even with the busy wedding activities, I will be passing along your compliments and on behalf of the entire team here at Jetwing Era Beach I would like to say how much we look forward to seeing you back here again.

Sincerely
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    73
    17
    15
    8
See reviews for
67
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This was our second-last stop on our trip and it was a perfect place to relax. It is very small and elegant. Service and food are first-class and there is a beautiful, narrow strip of golden sand beach which is accessed from a gate at the end of the property.
The chef is excellent but, if you want breakfast on the morning of your departure, allow plenty of time as it will be three delicious courses and take over an hour. It is well worth the time spent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room - it is styled like a Roman villa, with one window overlooking a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear we lived up to your expectations of Jetwing Era Beach. As a small, boutique property we strive to provide our guests with a more adept & personalised service experience and I am sure as I pass on along your compliments to the team this will no doubt support our endeavour to reach the highest in service excellence. I do apologise for the delay on the morning of your final breakfast here with us, I will have to mention it to Chef Kumara (head chef). However, I will also congratulate him for the consistently good comments we have been receiving about his food. Thank you for taking the time out to leave us with this lovely review.

Sincerely
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godalming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed only 2 nights in early March and loved the peace and quiet a small boutique hotel offers. While the hotel lies close to a main road all rooms face the ocean and traffic noise did not disturb as at all. The staff were attentive and keen to please. The food was perhaps some of the best we experienced on a 2 week tour of Sri lanka and if you have specific dietary needs the chef will respond accordingly.
Lovely situation on the coast but during our stay the sea was rough so we were confined to a walk along the beach and swims in a lovely uncrowded pool.

Definately a place to stop and relax during a hectic tour of Sri Lanka

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank freelander1Godalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear you had such a pleasurable experience with us here at Jetwing Era Beach. Although close to the Galle road the rolling waves and song of birds drown the noise of chaotic reality and seem to follow you wherever you go. The food here is something that continues to receive commendations, in such an intimate setting we try our best to cater and serve to the preference of our guests and I am glad you were able to appreciate this. Thank you again for leaving us with this rewarding feedback.

Sincerely
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed For 5 nights and it was exactly what we wanted at the end of our trip. Restful, great food, helpful staff, good aircon.

if you are after night life this is not the place to be. if you are after peace and quiet with a beautiful view of the ocean then this is it.

The rooms are large and comfy although the bed I'd a bit too high. If that is an issue (and it was for us) they will give you a step stool.

The food was amazing, no buffets in sight.

The staff are particularly lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingmaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us with a review of your experience on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations and deliver the peace and comfort desired after your travels around this magical island. I thank you for comments and I hope we can welcome you back to Jetwing Era Beach again in the future.

Sincerely
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We're just back from Era Beach in Talpe. We stayed almost 14 days, most people stay for 3-4 days - so we have had a great chance to get to know the staff and hotel. We stayed in a garden view room. You'll be disapointed if you think that you'll have your own garden - you can dry your swimwear but that's just about it. However, the surroundings of the hotel is a clean 5 star, absolutely fantastic and right outside the room. Our room was what we would class as a good 3 star, it was a little tired looking, needed paint and a general going over. However, it's a big room, bathroom has been updated, lovely comfy bed. I was invited by the staff to look at the other 4 rooms which is upstairs (and a little more expensive) and they are mordern, clean and no doubt quite a bit nicer than our room. Great view too, that's where we'll stay next. Staff were ever so nice, both managers were very attentive. The young man who served us breakfast every morning was so nice and happy, which is a great start to the start the day :). Everyone from the manager to the gardner (who also is so helpful and smiling all the time - made up a nice bed for me in the hammock as soon as he could see me :). Great breakfast and good evening menu. Close to Galle, Unawatuna and other small towns. What makes this hotel great is the fact that it is small, only 8 rooms, right at the beach, superb swimmingpool and hammocks between palm trees overlook the beach. Sri Lanka is a busy place with people and cars, so you can't avoid noise, Era Beach is close to a road you hear the car horns but it didn't bother us, and you can't hear any noises but the waves when inside the hotel. As it's end of season in Sri Lanka just now, we were lucky to have the hotel almost to ourselves. We'll come back next time we're in Talpe - but to make it a even better stay, we'll choose an upstairs room. Thanks for making our holiday a great one.

Room Tip: Choose an upstair room. The garden view room is better value for money and an ok room, but need a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review of your experience on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for all our associates here at Jetwing Era Beach to serve you as our guest for nearly a full two weeks, our team is an attentive group of professionals who really do enjoy what they do and I am sure such positive feedback will be a great reward to everyone here.

In regard to your suggestions, I am disappointed to hear we were unable to offer you one of our rooms on the upper floor for the duration of your stay, on your return we will be happy to accommodate you with a room of your particular preference. Your feedback is vital to the advancement of not only our performance but the property as well and I can assure I will be looking into your suggestions further.

Thank you again for choosing Jetwing Era Beach, we look forward to welcoming you back to an even more pleasurable experience

Sincerely
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel. Beautifully done architecturally..........small, elegant, open to the sea and a delight to experience and to view. Only a handful of rooms and you walk into the lobby which opens to the pool and courtyard, then grass and then the sea....could not be prettier. The bar and restaurant areas have the same view so it is as if you're living outside with the amenities of excellent service. Our welcome was gracious as was the service throughout our stay. The food is very good, the rooms lovely and it is a place I hope to return to often. My only suggestion for improvement, which is the same for many hotels, is that there should be another bar in the bathroom to hang towels and the lighting could be a bit brighter. However, regarding the light, one wants to be outside all the time so that is not so significant. Excellent service from the manager to all the staff...it was hard to say good-bye!

Room Tip: I had an ocean-view room off of a balcony and it was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

As General Manager it is a pleasure to be able to sit down and read such a lovely review from one of our guests; to say ‘it was not easy to say good bye’ is a strong indication of your contentment and this is what we aim to achieve with all of our visitors. The property itself is a spectacle of simplicity and serene ambience, however the professionalism and attentiveness of our team is what really adds to the guest experience.

In regard to your suggestions, your feedback is significant to us here and I will most definitely be looking into it, I will also be passing along your compliments along to the entire team and I am sure everybody here at Jetwing Era Beach looks forward to welcoming you back again, thank you again for this wonderful review.

Sincerely
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We´re a couple from Stockholm, Sweden, who stayed at Jetwing Era Beach, Sri Lanka for 10 days in February 2013. We had a fantastic stay at this small and intimate hotel, which we like. The staff are personable and offers quality service. We stayed in garden suite No 2, which had a good size and a good location.

On the beach outside the hotel you can walk around almost by yourself, which was fantastic.
And the food is superb.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from Galle by tuk tuk. About 30 minutes to Marissa harbour by taxi, where you can go on whalewathing. About 1,5 hours to Kenneliya Rainforest by taxi. About 6 hours by taxi from Yala, if we remember right.

There´s for example a tea factory nearby, herb and spicegarden, turtle farm and many markets.

At Unawatuna Beach the ocean is calm, but unfortunate it´s very exploited. So we recomend Jungle Beach instead. Jungle Beach is a small beutiful beach only 10 minutes away from Era.

We strongly recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_Salle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review on Trip advisor, your comments are of immense value to us all here who endeavour to create experiences that just cannot be forgotten. It is evident that during your ten days with us here at Jetwing Era Beach you were able to explore and venture many of the islands glorious allures; the ideal location of the property and enthusiasm of our team to share and reveal the wonders around make it a relaxed and enjoyable way to experience the culture and beauty of this magnificent island. Thank you again for your strong recommendations.

Sincerely
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
6.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#16 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Owl and the Pussycat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Era Beach by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Era Beach by Jetwing

Property: Era Beach by Jetwing
Address: 834 Galle Road, Talpe, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Era Beach by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views and a tranquil environment, unwind listening to the therapeutic sounds of the Indian Ocean. This outstanding place, offers pure relaxation and luxurious understated elegance and comfort. Throughout its expanse, in architecture and in choice of furniture and fittings, a strong Dutch influence prevails, giving you a glimpse of a historic past. Just a few seconds walk through the garden and find a pristine stretch of the beach with golden sands and turquoise sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Era Beach by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Era Beach Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing