We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Era Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deco On 44(Galle)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
164
81
18
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
81
18
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsmall hotelsri lankajetwing hotelbigger hotelsindian oceanjetwing lighthouse in gallelovely hoteldedicated staffbusy roadbeautiful colonial styleprivate villabeautiful swimming poolwhale watchingtuk tukhuge bathroomrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were uncertain about this hotel when we arrived as we were booked into a lobby room, which, although vast with large wet-room felt somewhat like a dungeon due to the dark stone tiled walls and lack of windows and mirrors in particular. When we asked if we could have a better room, it turned out that we had the choice of any of the other 7 rooms but not until the next day as all the curtains and bed drapes in the sea view rooms had been sent to the cleaners as none were booked. We opted to take Sea View 3, one of the two smaller sea view rooms but with the best view in our opinion (although this was slightly diminished once the curtains and drapes were installed). We had hoped that we would be given a free upgrade but obviously did not make enough fuss so ended up paying an extra $40 a night. However, once we had settled down and started to relax in what was effectively our own private villa with infinity pool, charming dedicated staff and personal chef preparing off-menu Sri Lankan delicacies, the extra cost seemed less significant. In fact, we felt quite miffed when other guests started to arrive!

The food was the best that we had in Sri Lanka, particularly when chef Kumara was on duty, and the waiters were obviously being well trained in the Western (colonial?) style, in some cases at the "hotel school" not far down the road.

One or two niggles: although hair driers are supplied, the only mirror in the entire bedroom and wet room was too far from the nearest of the rather sparse electrical outlets to be used whilst drying hair; there were only two pegs in the entire bedroom/wet-room and the small wardrobe was compromised by the minibar and safe, making it awkward to hang up longer clothes; the water pressure and temperature was somewhat idiosyncratic; this is not a beach holiday location - there is sand that you can walk on at most states of tide but swimming in the sea was at best uninviting and at worst unsafe, however the sight and sound of the surf are magnificent, especially at sunset.

We loved it for our few days R & R at the end of a wonderful Sri Lankan experience

PS - We had a couple of "small world" encounters with other guests: one had lived in a village adjacent to ours and attended the primary school in our village; another had trained in the same hospital as my wife.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmg3gvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing a comfortable & spacious room to stay in while enjoying the exclusive dishes of our Chef.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests. However, we regret any inconvenience caused and we hope the mentioned minor defects would not deter you from visiting us the next time you come on vacation to Sri Lanka.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel if you want good service, great food and an interesting building with rooms and bathrooms that are definitely a bit different (in a good way!) We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a touring holiday, having asked for a 'beach hotel'. While close to the beach, but you can't swim in the sea there as the beach is very narrow, and there are no other restaurants, bars etc. in walking distance. For that reason we were actually not 100% happy as the hotel wasn't what we'd expected or wanted, as a party of mainly young adults looking for a bit of nightlife. If you're happy with your own company and want a peaceful romantic setting this would be ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Era Beach by Jetwing on Trip Advisor.

We were glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality. It is always a pleasure to read your kind reviews about our satisfied guests. We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed in garden suite for 2 nights in February. Bathroom size of a London flat! Super food and attentive and ever smiling staff. Book a table the night before overlooking the sea and enjoy a romantic candlelit meal with the sound of the ocean. Chef is excellent and has worked at some of the top hotels in Dubai. Ask him to help you choose, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Era Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Era Beach by Jetwing, Galle. We are delighted that you had a great stay at with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in and enjoying the delicious cuisine by Chef Kumara.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era
Era Beach by Jetwing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We did not stay in the hotel, but visited for dinner. Great food at a very nice restaurant. We had lunch the next day and had the option to use their pool facilities. Unfortunately you cannot swim in the sea in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MortenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Era Beach by Jetwing, Galle.

We are glad that you were pleased with your visit to the Villa and also enjoyed the food at our restaurant.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon, during your next vacation to Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era
Era Beach by Jetwing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We've been going to Sri Lanka about once a year for the past 20 years and as it gets more popular, it is increasing difficult to find good value and places to recommend. We are glad to say we can recommend this place for anyone that wants a bit of solitude and great food... Make sure chef Kumara is on duty and you will find yourself staying on the premises most of the time. His Italian dishes are a delight...

Era Beach only has a few rooms so you actually feel like the place is all yours... Aside from the fact that you can't swim in the sea (too rough and rocky), the venue is a great getaway for some real R&R... The staff are exceptionally friendly and the facilities are elegant... We would go back - in fact it's worth going just for the food...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neshan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Era Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Era Beach by Jetwing, Galle. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality and enjoying the delicious cuisine by Chef Kumara.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

With open arms, we await your next visit to Era Beach by Jetwing.

Sincerely,

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era
Era Beach by Jetwing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews