We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Warning this hotel overbooks*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Era Beach by Jetwing
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“*Warning this hotel overbooks*”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Arrived at this hotel and despite having received a confirmation and also a reply to a request, We were told that they were full and moved to another hotel which wasn't what we wanted at all. Reading below it seems that overbooking is not unusual at this property. Please be warned book at your own risk because even if you have paperwork in your hand and you reconfirm your visit before you arrive. they still let you down. How can anyone run a hotel like this. Don't trust them and this is good advice.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. Looking forward to staying at Era Beach is a waste of your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CG1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all let me extend my sincere apologies for the situation you faced upon arrival at the property on 16th April 2014. We had to transfer you to a sister property belonging to the same Management, as we did not have availability to accommodate you upon arriving here.

When we received the Confirmation of your Booking at the hotel we realized it was an Over-Booking and immediately informed the necessary persons to speak to your Agent and inform you accordingly. We kept following up on this and also made sure that the Central Reservations speak to your Agent in order to make you aware of the situation.

Prior to your arrival when we double checked with Reservations, they had done the needful and also had kept reminding your Agent to make sure you are informed. Later on, we received feedback which said that your Booking had been transferred to one of the sister properties and that you and your wife will check-in there on 16th April 2014.

Unfortunately you had not been informed of the situation by the Agent and us had to take the blame for not making you aware of the Over-Booking situation. We did not handle the reservation and we do not receive Guest details prior to arrival. We only receive the Booking Confirmation.

Please be kind enough to understand that Era Beach is not at fault and that we would have been delighted to have you with us during your vacation to Sri Lanka.

We at Era Beach do our best to satisfy our Guests as we are a small property providing personalized service. Had you checked-in to the Villa, you would surely have experienced the high standards of hospitality we offer here.

While extending our sincere apologies to you and your wife, I would also like to make this an opportunity to welcome you once again to this little haven of comfort and tranquility.

Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    74
    17
    15
    9
See reviews for
68
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
soton uk
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for six nights and this was a lovely relaxing hotel.We stayed in a sea view room which was big,had a big bed with an ample bathroom.
The staff were brilliant and at one stage we were the only ones in the hotel.
We were half board and the food was very good.
I had noticed that a lot of the reviews were only four star which surprised me on first impressions but we had problems with the shower and water,there is a lot of road and exterior noise and the wardrobe and clothing storage are pretty sparse.
If these we sorted then this would be fantastic
Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Era Beach by Jetwing, Galle. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us while experiencing a comfortable & spacious room to stay in and enjoying sumptuous cuisine in our restaurant.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

While extending our appreciation for your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities we look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Staying at this small hotel was one of the highlights of my trip to Sri Lanka. To start with the staff was really amazing. They were very helpful and friendly in a genuine and not too over the top way. When my luggage was lost, I would be asked, did you get your luggage yet? and when I got it a few days later, I kept hearing from members of the staff. I hear you got your luggage that's great. It's just a little thing, but it shows how they are all on top of what's going on with the guests. At the same time it was easy to relax and have all the privacy you need. I know it's a hotel and the staff needs to be friendly, but it felt different here, I felt like I feel when I go to Italy and stay with my wonderful relatives there, and they will do anything to make sure I'm happy and well taken care of. The hotel itself is very comfortable and clean, at the same time very rustic. There is nothing ugly there. Every wall every ceiling every tree. It's all beautiful, in a very natural way. The view of the Indian Ocean itself was worth the cost. I really hope to come back and spend much more time in this wonderful little gem.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Era Beach by Jetwing, Galle. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and it is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests for it gives us the message that we have lived up to the unique standards of Jetwing hospitality.

While extending our sincere appreciate for your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities we look forward to welcoming you once again to Era Beach for a longer period of stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel with high hopes - wanting the most lovely five star luxury hotel experience on a well-earned break away from our children.

We booked two weeks ago - and with everything confirmed, travelled over 24 hours from Africa only to arrive with no one to help us in and no one on hand to help us at reception!?!

Eventually a manager arrived and with not so much as an apology - she told us we had no reservation or booking even though the hotel had taken our money and confirmed our upgraded deluxe sea view suite.

Apparently they were already full.

We were simply told to leave and despite major major complaint and arguing that lasted several hours - this - according to their management -was simply not the problem of the hotel, or the Jetwing hotel group, and they were - AND still are not going to do anything about it.

This hotel and it's appalling inept management have totally ruined our holiday. I cannot state this more clearly.

I have never been treated this badly and in such an offhand manner by any hotel - anywhere - period - and certainly not by an internationally recognised five star chain where customer service should come above all else.

It is beyond a joke.

I am still in Sri Lanka trying to salvage my holiday.

THANK YOU ERA BEACH.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me first thank you for taking time to bring to our attention your recent experience upon arrival at the Era Beach by Jetwing.

Having gone through your review, allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your wife while assuring you that your comments have our full attention.

Your comment with regards to your Reservation at Era Beach grabs my attention. The Villa did have your Reservation but did not have availability to Confirm a room for you for the reserved period of time. This being the fact, the Villa Manager had informed the necessary persons well in advance to inform the Agent regarding the overbooking situation so that they could arrange for another Villa Property of the same Management with similar standards and services to accommodate you accordingly.

Jetwing had thus done the needful to the Agent but they had not been able to communicate the same to you before you arrived in Sri Lanka on 25th of March 2014. This is why the Villa Manager had to be the person to communicate this message to you since Era Beach had no other way of contacting you beforehand. The Villa does not handle Reservations and so they do not hold details of the Guests arriving through Agents.

In the meantime to rectify the expected dissatisfaction, Jetwing had already arranged a Sister Property to accommodate you during the reserved period of time.

Era Beach by Jetwing is well known for its hospitality and great service of the Staff. Had the Villa been available to accommodate you, they would have taken best of care to make your vacation a most memorable one.

It is very unfortunate that we could not treat you with our high standards of hospitality, being a Company well known for it. On behalf of the Management I would like to once again apologize while hoping that this incident would not deter you from staying with us the next time you visit Sri Lanka.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in future for a pleasing stay with Jetwing.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were uncertain about this hotel when we arrived as we were booked into a lobby room, which, although vast with large wet-room felt somewhat like a dungeon due to the dark stone tiled walls and lack of windows and mirrors in particular. When we asked if we could have a better room, it turned out that we had the choice of any of the other 7 rooms but not until the next day as all the curtains and bed drapes in the sea view rooms had been sent to the cleaners as none were booked. We opted to take Sea View 3, one of the two smaller sea view rooms but with the best view in our opinion (although this was slightly diminished once the curtains and drapes were installed). We had hoped that we would be given a free upgrade but obviously did not make enough fuss so ended up paying an extra $40 a night. However, once we had settled down and started to relax in what was effectively our own private villa with infinity pool, charming dedicated staff and personal chef preparing off-menu Sri Lankan delicacies, the extra cost seemed less significant. In fact, we felt quite miffed when other guests started to arrive!

The food was the best that we had in Sri Lanka, particularly when chef Kumara was on duty, and the waiters were obviously being well trained in the Western (colonial?) style, in some cases at the "hotel school" not far down the road.

One or two niggles: although hair driers are supplied, the only mirror in the entire bedroom and wet room was too far from the nearest of the rather sparse electrical outlets to be used whilst drying hair; there were only two pegs in the entire bedroom/wet-room and the small wardrobe was compromised by the minibar and safe, making it awkward to hang up longer clothes; the water pressure and temperature was somewhat idiosyncratic; this is not a beach holiday location - there is sand that you can walk on at most states of tide but swimming in the sea was at best uninviting and at worst unsafe, however the sight and sound of the surf are magnificent, especially at sunset.

We loved it for our few days R & R at the end of a wonderful Sri Lankan experience

PS - We had a couple of "small world" encounters with other guests: one had lived in a village adjacent to ours and attended the primary school in our village; another had trained in the same hospital as my wife.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmg3gvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing a comfortable & spacious room to stay in while enjoying the exclusive dishes of our Chef.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests. However, we regret any inconvenience caused and we hope the mentioned minor defects would not deter you from visiting us the next time you come on vacation to Sri Lanka.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel if you want good service, great food and an interesting building with rooms and bathrooms that are definitely a bit different (in a good way!) We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a touring holiday, having asked for a 'beach hotel'. While close to the beach, but you can't swim in the sea there as the beach is very narrow, and there are no other restaurants, bars etc. in walking distance. For that reason we were actually not 100% happy as the hotel wasn't what we'd expected or wanted, as a party of mainly young adults looking for a bit of nightlife. If you're happy with your own company and want a peaceful romantic setting this would be ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Era Beach by Jetwing on Trip Advisor.

We were glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality. It is always a pleasure to read your kind reviews about our satisfied guests. We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed in garden suite for 2 nights in February. Bathroom size of a London flat! Super food and attentive and ever smiling staff. Book a table the night before overlooking the sea and enjoy a romantic candlelit meal with the sound of the ocean. Chef is excellent and has worked at some of the top hotels in Dubai. Ask him to help you choose, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Era Beach by Jetwing, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Era Beach by Jetwing, Galle. We are delighted that you had a great stay at with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in and enjoying the delicious cuisine by Chef Kumara.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Sabiha Samad
Head of Era
Era Beach by Jetwing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
6.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,722 reviews
6.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
232 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
3.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Era Beach by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Era Beach by Jetwing

Property: Era Beach by Jetwing
Address: 834 Galle Road, Talpe, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Era Beach by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views and a tranquil environment, unwind listening to the therapeutic sounds of the Indian Ocean. This outstanding place, offers pure relaxation and luxurious understated elegance and comfort. Throughout its expanse, in architecture and in choice of furniture and fittings, a strong Dutch influence prevails, giving you a glimpse of a historic past. Just a few seconds walk through the garden and find a pristine stretch of the beach with golden sands and turquoise sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Era Beach by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Era Beach Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing