We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thenu Rest Guest House
Ranked #48 of 142 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thanu Rest

We took the two non-AC Rooms on the top floor. The rooms themselves were fine and I was happy enough with the bathrooms. Breakfast was nice and they were good enough to serve in the sitting area outside of the rooms which was good. We probably visited at a bad time as the commonwealth heads of state meeting in November 2013 meant that the area around the hotel was being renovated and the building noise was pretty constant until late at night - (not the fault of the guesthouse) having said that the room was quiet enough and once in the room we had plenty of privacy.

I've read some of the other reviews and I agree that the owners need to develop a more professional attitude. I was annoyed to come back to find a private maths tuition lesson outside of the room one afternoon. The 'common guest area' on the ground floor is really where the family hangs out to watch TV and isn't really available to guests. Also I didn't really appreciate a sales pitch for tours as breakfast was served even though it was low key. My 'below average' rating is based on this rather than the quality of the rooms which are ok for what they are.

I've spent quite a bit of time in Asia over the last few years. The fort area itself is pretty amazing and I was glad that we visited it - certainly it's one of the more impressive early European constructions in this part of the world. The average person in Sri Lanka that we met was friendly, kind, genuine and good fun. But as a western visitor am I alone in getting very fed up with being invited into every shop I glance at ? Scammers and touts abound at Galle station - so don't get taken in by stories of 'government tuk tuks , shops' etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Thenu Rest Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

This Guest House like my home,very clean,safety.
The master was very warmth,help us cooking sea food,send us to the railway station and so on.
The location is good,inside The Fort and close to seaside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I love this guest house, great environment, kindly boss, cheap price, cute dog.if u want to find a quiet place to stay in the fort, it is definitely a great choice. I stayed there for 10days but still do not want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Neo Holiday Home is a perfectly located place to stay in Galle. It's not super-special, but it's fair & clean enough. Our room was large and had a mosquito net, but the bathroom needs more attention and care. We arrived quite late (10pm) and staff was sleeping and was surprised that we arrived so late.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knapiki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Thenu rest was an ok guesthouse - nothing really great or bad stands out about it. Our room had a/c and was on the top floor, up some very steep stairs to get there. The room had a four-poster bed, which was nice for a change, but the room was very small and some of the furniture was broken. The shower was very poor pressure, but hot water none-the-less. It was a bit expensive for what we got really, I think we payed LKR4200 but in the fort apparently prices are more than elsewhere.
This place seemed to be the cheapest we could find inside the fort and for this reason they are quite busy, but quite unorganised. It was a bit like a bus station with people coming and going all the time - and the owners never really seemed to know who was who. Despite ringing twice before arriving they still asked us what country we were from and if we wanted a/c or not (which we had booked).
The location is quite good though, right beside the sea and fort walls. Easy access to the fort area. So I guess overall its an ok stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspirited_Intuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Simple and perfectly located guest house. Our room was quite large and rather clean, bed had a mosquito net. Our general impression was ok, but it's bit overpriced and should not cost more than 20$ per room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knapiki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very nice and homely guest house. Room very nice, clean and good value. very nice breakfast. Curtains are needed on the first floor room as the net curtains are not very private.
we end up spending 5 nights at this great little place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Villa Malena
Villa Malena
#39 of 142 in Galle
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nisala Guest House
Nisala Guest House
#36 of 142 in Galle
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#15 of 142 in Galle
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#21 of 142 in Galle
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#23 of 142 in Galle
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thenu Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thenu Rest Guest House

Address: 12 Hospital St | Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £21 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thenu Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing