We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thenu Rest Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rampart View Guest House(Galle)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deco On 44(Galle)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amangalla(Galle)
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
43
44
13
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
44
13
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold dutch hospitaltop floorair consri lankan breakfastgreat locationhot waterrun by a familygalle fortsheets and towelswelcoming familytrain stationfriendly hoststea coffeeceiling fanrooms are cleanother hotelstv
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the location.

The room was ok , would have preferred the last occupants hairs to be removed from the bathroom. The family appear to be quite lazy. When we paid on the last day the man couldn't take his eyes off the fuzzy cartoons on the tv.

Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in Thenu Rest Guest House for couple of days (26th to 28th Dec). Most of the tuk-tuk drivers know this place, so reaching Thenu from Galle railway station or bus stand is not difficult - if it's not too sunny, one can walk the distance as well - little less than 900m.

We were given the room on the first floor - the one with no view! the bathroom was not clean & the door didn't have a latch! Although it was a double bed room, we were given just one towel - only upon request did the second towel been given. WiFi was unstable for the entire duration of our stay. The owner used to run to the market to buy bread when we came down for breakfast! Although we had booked non-AC room, one hot afternoon we switched on the AC only to realise a lil later that the owners had switched-off the mains!! They could have easily walked up to us & up-selled the room than switching-off the mains abruptly!

Galle was the last leg of our trip to Sri Lanka, and with that experience behind us, we can vouch that the owners were very un-Sri Lankan! Thenu Rest Guest House is decent enough for a budget stay, but if you are looking for professional service, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Owners were un-Sri Lankan
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

After extensive travel in Sri Lanka I can confidently state that this is the worst guesthouse/establishment in ALL of Sri Lanka. I base my findings on the following factors:

1. Despite having booked through Hostelbookers and despite having received confirmation of the booking from both Hostelbookers and Thenu Rest Guest House, on our arrival, the owner could not recollect the booking. The owner, in a patronising tone, accused me of having changed the booking too often, which confused him. I never changed the booking. We were finally given a room. This room was clearly occupied by another person as there were still clothes in the wardropes and personal effects lying around.

2. Despite having paid the accommodation fee deposit in advance, and despite the clearly indicated accommodation fee printed on the accommodation voucher, the owner insisted on an additional 20 Euros. He argued that the price has gone up and that Hostelbookers' commission is too high. I obviously refused to pay. This angered the owner.

3. The room description on the hotel weppage and that of the booking agents are inaccurrate. None of the rooms have seaviews.

4. The service is terrible. Despite being two people, we were to share one towel!! On our first morning we waited more than 90 minutes for breakfast. We eventually gave up and left. On the second morning, after having complained about the lack of service, breakfast arrived after 30 minutes. However, within an hour of having had breakfast, we fell terribly ill (runny tummy, abdominal pain, fever, nausea). It turned out to be a bacterial infection from a dirty kitchen.

5. Do not expect any rest. In fact, the name should change to The NO rest Guest House. The owners drink and shout on their veranda until late at night. The shouting starts at 04h00 in the morning. In addition, the building opposite the guesthouse causes street noise to echo. As a result, the slightest noise in the street has triple the sound effect in the rooms. Expect to hear the owner's son play football or listen to their daughter practice the violin (and she is not good at it) from early morning until late at night. In addition, the owners rearrange the furniture on a daily basis. Don't be delighted with the furniture on your veranda or in your room. It won't be there for long. In fact, you might be woken up at 05h00 in the morning by someone removing furiniture from your veranda. They don't even bother doing it quietly.

6. Finally, our stay at this horrible establishment came to an end. Just as I thought I could wave it goodbye guess what? A bill for 20 Euro for the breakfast. Despite the voucher clearly indicating that breakfast was included, the owner still tried to slip in his demand for the 20 Euro which, according to him, he lost on the commission. What a shark!

The fort area in Galle is quite an amazing place to stay. However, not at Thenu Rest Guest House. There are many other establishments that offer much better service at a better price. Also take note that guesthouses along Rampart street are generally much better and quieter than those in Hospital street. As for Thenu Rest Guest House, sleeping on the street like a dog is better than sleeping at Thenu Rest

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mario1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is a wonderful little guest house, the family who run it are kind and friendly and very helpful. We had a fan room on the top floor at the back for two nights, then another fan room on the first floor for one night. Both lovely rooms, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this to others. While a little pricey for Asia, we thought this place was actually quite good value for Galle since the prices in the fort area are a bit inflated. This place was cheaper than many other guest houses but not bad value for the area and for what you get - you can pay a whole lot more in this town!

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were good. Maybe slightly quieter at the back, but since the fort area only has tuk tuks (no cars), traffic noise is really not much of an issue.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junglebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thanu Rest

We took the two non-AC Rooms on the top floor. The rooms themselves were fine and I was happy enough with the bathrooms. Breakfast was nice and they were good enough to serve in the sitting area outside of the rooms which was good. We probably visited at a bad time as the commonwealth heads of state meeting in November 2013 meant that the area around the hotel was being renovated and the building noise was pretty constant until late at night - (not the fault of the guesthouse) having said that the room was quiet enough and once in the room we had plenty of privacy.

I've read some of the other reviews and I agree that the owners need to develop a more professional attitude. I was annoyed to come back to find a private maths tuition lesson outside of the room one afternoon. The 'common guest area' on the ground floor is really where the family hangs out to watch TV and isn't really available to guests. Also I didn't really appreciate a sales pitch for tours as breakfast was served even though it was low key. My 'below average' rating is based on this rather than the quality of the rooms which are ok for what they are.

I've spent quite a bit of time in Asia over the last few years. The fort area itself is pretty amazing and I was glad that we visited it - certainly it's one of the more impressive early European constructions in this part of the world. The average person in Sri Lanka that we met was friendly, kind, genuine and good fun. But as a western visitor am I alone in getting very fed up with being invited into every shop I glance at ? Scammers and touts abound at Galle station - so don't get taken in by stories of 'government tuk tuks , shops' etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews