We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Deal with a Fantastic Service at a Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thenu Rest Guest House
Ranked #47 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Amazing Deal with a Fantastic Service at a Prime Location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My Wife & 2 daughters stayed for 4 days after the Sinhala New Year in 2014 at Thenu's Rest. It is very safe with the Police barracks on one side & the Military protecting the Dutch hospital in front of it. The panoramic view from Thenu's is stunning all day around with the ramparts & the light house a stones throw away. The little beach which is approx 100 meters away is guarded by a coral reef. We were greeted by Preethi , Chamari , their children & staff & made to feel at home. We felt a home away from home & my daughters fell in love with the place. Blackie the little Dachshund was an added bonus to my daughters who love dogs. The food was great & the room we stayed in was clean. The ban on Alcohol in the Galle Fort was most welcome as I am a Teetotaller.
The local taxis are known to this place & have had no problem even travelling in the night. It cost only Rs. 100/= ( approx 00.80 US$ cents ) from the railway station / Central Bus stand to Thenu's rest.
Unawatuna, Rumassala are accessible under 15 minutes from here.
Preethi is full of helpful tips to make yr stay enjoyable & worthwhile.
Chamari has proved her culinary expertise beyond any doubt.
At the price offered by them it almost free compared to other places. They believe in Service more than a business.
I have already planed on my next visit to Thenu's rest.
I strongly recommend this little place as it is cozy & warm for a family.

Room Tip: There is a small rooftop balcony on the 2nd floor for star gazers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
8
43
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This guest house is awesome, located right in the heart of Galle Fort. The family who run the place are incredibly friendly and go out of their way to help out. The breakfast is delicious. We loved that there was a sitting room near our bedroom to enjoy the breeze and the views of the water. Would definitely recommend to stay here

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The owners are very friendly and helpful. Well located and close to the sea (about 50 meters). Wifi is not so good. There is no hot water, although the owner said there will be. All in all, good value for the money (3000 rupees) per night for a couple.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Spent one day and enjoeyd our Galle Fort stay. The whole interior was suprisingly quite cooler airier than expexted. Staff is friendly and serves big relatively rich breakfat. No problem with room or anything else. Close to the lighthouse which is wonderful on sunset. Whole fort area is magic.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MeRlin4_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Enjoyed my short stay here. The room was comfortable, hot water on demand and wifi access good. The location, in the Fort, just across from the shoreline and was close to restaurants, shops, etc. I enjoyed talking to the family and playing with Blackie, their little dachshund, and appreciated the restaurant suggestions.

Room Tip: I stayed in the downstairs room, which was nice, but would have liked the view from first floor. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kigali
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms are a good size, clean and the owner is very nice. As long as you don't want anything more than basic you will be more than happy here. The location is great - it's within the fort area and just a couple minutes walk from all the restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the location.

The room was ok , would have preferred the last occupants hairs to be removed from the bathroom. The family appear to be quite lazy. When we paid on the last day the man couldn't take his eyes off the fuzzy cartoons on the tv.

Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Gems
0.2 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#20 of 137 in Galle
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#22 of 137 in Galle
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 137 in Galle
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Palace Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thenu Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thenu Rest Guest House

Property: Thenu Rest Guest House
Address: 12 Hospital St | Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thenu Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing