We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£35
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JG
Northampton, United Kingdom
Comfortable and friendly accommodation
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jan 2017via mobile
I would recommend this guesthouse because of its location and friendly hosts. The guesthouse is located within the walls of the Dutch fort and next to the old hospital, which contains several restaurants. The guesthouse is run by a welcoming family who serve a tasty breakfast.

Do be aware that the front door is locked at ten. This wasn't really a problem since most of the shops and restaurants in the fort have closed by this time.

There are good communal areas to relax in and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom was ok, but, as in most of Sri Lanka, not up to European standards. It could do with some updating. Also be aware that the local mosque's call to prayer may wake you up early in the morning.
Date of stay: December 2016
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
45
46
17
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
45
46
17
9
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Its a perfect little place just 5 minutes away from the beach.
They offer decent free wifi and the rooms are Air conditioned.
The room i stayed had a tv with a lot of dish tv channels and a mini fridge.
Perfect to stay for like a three day visit.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank praviya32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights in this lovely guesthouse!great location just opposite the old dutch hospital. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a great room...1st floor double with a/c!lots of space!simple but very tasty breakfast!id highly recommend a stay in galle fort.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms were basic but very clean and spacious.

The location is amazing and surrounded by loads of good restaurants.

The family that runs the place is lovely and the breakfasts are sensational and huge.

This is a really good value for money place & gives you a little insight to Sri Lankan hospitality!

Date of stay: August 2016
2  Thank BryceY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2016

This guesthouse seemed expensive for what it was (the room seemed budget, with only internal windows and noisy AC), but you're paying for the excellent location in Galle Fort - it's easy to walk anywhere in the old town, and over the road is the dutch hospital which has been converted into restaurants etc. Good breakfast & friendly staff.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed there 4 nights (only planned for one). Although all of Galle Fort is easy walking distance, the fact this is directly across the street from great ocean side bars and restaurants makes it the best place to stay in the fort. The owner/operators are nice and I loved their dog (although she does bark a lot).

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank True_Blue_Iowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews