We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful guesthouse in best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seagreen Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 128 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very beautiful guesthouse in best location”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This small guesthouse is on a silent street in the fort across the rampart. The few rooms are airy, light and in a beautiful outfit. Nice and helpful owner. Big roof terrace and also a small inside terrace where we took our drink during the rain. The guesthouse is quite new and very sympatico for a relaxed stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    113
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
285
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent one night at this wonderfully welcoming Guesthouse tucked just within the walls of the Fort. Naman and his wife did their most to make sure we felt at home: thank you.

A few "happy hour" beers were enjoyed on the rooftop balcony (might want to keep that fridge stocked!!) as the sun set. Had a great sleep and was quite excited about my breakfast that I had ordered the previous evening at the restaurant next door. It did not disappoint........ try the hoppers if you can.


Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: We had the top floor which provides prime access to the rooftop balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at Seagreen for 2 nights while we were in Galle. The location is great, being just inside the fort, but a short walk away from most of the other hotels and restaurants. It made it a nice quiet location. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room for the price we paid (3,500 rupees non/AC). The room was nice and spacious as was the bathroom. It could get a little stuffy in our room, since our windows did not face the ocean, but there is really no way around that without AC. They have a great terrace on the roof which is nice to sit out on at night. I have to say though that one of the best parts about this guesthouse is the three wheeler driver who is friends with the owner. Sadly I don't remember his name (but he is always there hanging out) but he was the most sane and friendly driver we met on our trip. He took us to see stilt fishermen that were not just posing for tourists, but we the real thing. We were also told by Juliette (a local expat who does walking tours of the fort) that we got a great deal, as the average price of a room in the fort is usually around 5,000 rupees.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bballbronco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Naman family is one of the best guesthouse owners we had met ever. They are very friendly, accommodating and can provide you the best travel advice.

For the room, it's spacious and stylish. I particularly love the "cement floor" of the whole guesthouse, which makes it cool on a hot and sunny day and always clean. The common area on second and top floor is also gorgeous for relaxing.

The guesthouse is within the Galle Old Town and it's just next to the sea. Maybe this reason, we can always feel the breeze from the sea when we are simply standing on the guesthouse entrance.

Cost of breakfast is a little bit high but I believe this is the norm for the whole Galle Old Town. Not really a big deal. The omlette, bacon and juice are all delicious, together with the wind from the sea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A lovely, immaculately clean and well kept guesthouse looking over the grassy plains on the west side of the old fort. Their rooftop balcony was the perfect place to see the sun set with locals playing crickets below.  The location is great, nice and quiet and just 5 minutes walk from the centre of the old fort. 

Our room was large, the walk-in shower was the best I've had in Sri Lanka, and otherwise very comfortable & clean. The communal areas were inviting and generously sized. 

Of particular note, were the exceptionally helpful and friendly owners who went out of their way to advise and assist us, organise taxis, tuk tuks etc. 

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Such a great guesthouse. Everything you need, want and more. Clean, spacious rooms all done very well and the bathrooms were the same, very good showers taboot. Also a a couple of great balconies to sit and relax with what was possibly the coldest beer in Sri Lanka.....perhaps that was the German influence though! Naman and his family could not have been nicer and more helpful, organizing tuktuks, dinners and of course those beers. They also invited us to spend new years with them which once the milk got boiling was a lovely evening. I couldn't recommend Seagreen highly enough but it was definitely Naman and his family that made it a wonderful stay. Galle's pretty good too

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This place is a real gem. From the perfect rooms to the generous, kind hosts, we greatly enjoyed our time at the Sea Green Guest House.

The GH is situated in a quiet but central part of the fort and is within easy walking distance to all the sights. The rooms are sparkling clean, well appointed and had the best shower head I came across in my travels in Sri Lanka. The German/Sri Lanka host family are friendly and deeply kind.

Can't recommend the Seagreen enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGBDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#4 of 128 in Galle
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 128 in Galle
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagreen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagreen Guesthouse

Property: Seagreen Guesthouse
Address: 19b Rampart Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seagreen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagreen Guesthouse Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing