We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seagreen Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 279 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Seagreen Guesthouse was one of the best places we stayed in all of Sri Lanka. Naman and Maike were the perfect hosts - warm, friendly and helpful. Arranging accommodation there was a breeze and Naman always responded promptly to my emails (and continued being friendly and helpful even when I changed my plans three times!). The guesthouse is very close the wall in the Fort area, making it easy to walk anywhere. The room we stayed in was hands down the nicest room we had in Sri Lanka - very clean, comfortable and quite luxurious. The little balcony off the room was a lovely place to sit in the afternoon with a pot of tea, watching the kids play cricket in the park across the road. There is no restaurant at the homestay, however Naman's brother owns the restaurant right next door which was very convenient for breakfast - and in fact, the Sri Lankan breakfast we had there was the best breakfast we had on our whole trip. Thank you Naman and Maike for making our trip to Galle so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    110
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
284
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Situated next to Villa Fort De 19 where we stayed in August 2013, the restaurant has views of the Indian Ocean and the old ramparts. The owners of the restaurant provided obliging, helpful and efficient service and accommodated the needs of our two children. Food was fresh and dishes were varied and delicious, especially the fresh juices, and the servings were generous.
We thoroughly recommend the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Locon and Dawn Wall
Maleny
Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent 5 nights here at the end of our 2.5weeks in Sri Lanka and it was everything we could have wanted: clean, calm and full of charm. The rooms are spacious and clean with great en-suite bathrooms. Naman went out of his way to look after us and was so helpful in recommending places to visit/eat/see. The roof terrace is the perfect place to relax with a beer and watch the sunset and the restaurant next door serves some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka. Hands down the best place we stayed all trip - I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pols38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Spent a couple of nights here. Located inside the fort with views out over the ocean. Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff plus free and reliable wifi. The guesthouse is very well managed and easy to deal with. The owner's brother runs a restaurant right next door and transport services are also available. Would happily stay there again.
Not surprisingly it's very popular so best to book in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collinson_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Couple with one 3 and half year old child.

B&B situated inside the small Galle fort, just in front of the walls facing the sea. Very comfortable room, quiet, with hot water, air conditioning a very comfortable bed and a very big bathroom. We stayied in Aelous room. Free wifi.

Breakfast is served just next door in a small Sri Lankan style restaurant. It's enough to tie you in till lunch.

The owner is married to a german woman, just so you know.
Very good price/quality ratio from what we have seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everywhere_everyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The food is very simple and basic, but prepared with lots of patience and quality is excellent.

The Couple running the show are very kind and helpful. they have gone totally out of their way to assist us in various other activities with very accurate advice about handling local customs and tricks.

They will make the dishes as per your requirements, very flexible, tell them if you want to avoid some ingredient like in case of allergy or preference.

They had some very nice suggestions for doing things in galle and also good knowledge about various other tourist activities in the vicinity.

From the Terrace you get enjoy the sunset and also see lot of tourist and local activity on the rampart , the sea view is great specially when some fishermen venture close by.

Sometimes you get to see movies being shot.

Just married couples make this area their favourite for getting pictures all dressed up in their best marriage dresses and elaborate photographer's arrangeents.

Room Tip: We had a few meals here but have not stayed there, although the rooms and surroundings are very peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldviewer365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Beautiful building inside the Fort with direct sea views from the two balconies. Naman always responded promptly to booking emails and his staff at the guesthouse were helpful. Our room on the first floor was clean and spacious and the wi-fi signal was very strong. The breakfast (provided in the rooftop restaurant next door) was wonderful, the best we had in Sri Lanka (try the hoppers). Hotels in the Fort are a bit pricier than many other areas of the country, but are definitely worth it for the atmospheric location.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CH132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 60 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#3 of 279 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#15 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagreen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagreen Guesthouse

Property: Seagreen Guesthouse
Address: 19b Rampart Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seagreen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagreen Guesthouse Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing