We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rooftop in Galle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seagreen Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best rooftop in Galle”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Sea Green is a lovely place inside Galle's fort walls. Nam an is the perfect host and very helpful, as is his staff. The rooms are big, beautifully furnished and have excellent bathrooms. The view from the rooftop is stunning, looking out over the Clippenburg Bastion to the ocean, right where the sun sets. Sensational value and perfect location. Stay here if you're in Galle and can get in!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    110
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
284
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hospitality offered at this small well located guest house by owners Naman and Meike is warm and relaxed. We really enjoyed our stay here, and were particularly enchanted by its location next door to a small school. Waking up to the sounds of the children arriving at school for the day reminded us that this was a real working community and not a shallow tourist experience. Seeing local life was what made Galle so interesting. I trust the local council will insure that Galle Fort remains a living community and does not allow it to become too overwhelmed by tourism as this will detract people from coming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

With the blue of the sea, and the green of the grassy hillocks, this was a romantic stay indeed.
Our hosts were charming. The aircon was efficient and very quiet, and the bathroom adequate.We appreciated that the morning ' hoppers' for breakfast were made from scratch - and that included grinding the coconut.We loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: Our large room at the back of the house was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights from 28th September to 2nd Oct. The guesthouse is well located over looking the green and on non cloudy days you get great sunsets from their roof terrace. We had a big room and there was no shortage of hot water. The owner was away but his brother Channa who runs the attached Seagreen restaurant looked after us well as did the other staff. They are all extremely friendly and it's well worth staying there. Thank you to all of you at the Seagreen for all your help.

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto the shared terraces so are more appealing but get booked qicker
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyWacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Seagreen Guesthouse was one of the best places we stayed in all of Sri Lanka. Naman and Maike were the perfect hosts - warm, friendly and helpful. Arranging accommodation there was a breeze and Naman always responded promptly to my emails (and continued being friendly and helpful even when I changed my plans three times!). The guesthouse is very close the wall in the Fort area, making it easy to walk anywhere. The room we stayed in was hands down the nicest room we had in Sri Lanka - very clean, comfortable and quite luxurious. The little balcony off the room was a lovely place to sit in the afternoon with a pot of tea, watching the kids play cricket in the park across the road. There is no restaurant at the homestay, however Naman's brother owns the restaurant right next door which was very convenient for breakfast - and in fact, the Sri Lankan breakfast we had there was the best breakfast we had on our whole trip. Thank you Naman and Maike for making our trip to Galle so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Situated next to Villa Fort De 19 where we stayed in August 2013, the restaurant has views of the Indian Ocean and the old ramparts. The owners of the restaurant provided obliging, helpful and efficient service and accommodated the needs of our two children. Food was fresh and dishes were varied and delicious, especially the fresh juices, and the servings were generous.
We thoroughly recommend the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Locon and Dawn Wall
Maleny
Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent 5 nights here at the end of our 2.5weeks in Sri Lanka and it was everything we could have wanted: clean, calm and full of charm. The rooms are spacious and clean with great en-suite bathrooms. Naman went out of his way to look after us and was so helpful in recommending places to visit/eat/see. The roof terrace is the perfect place to relax with a beer and watch the sunset and the restaurant next door serves some of the best food we had in Sri Lanka. Hands down the best place we stayed all trip - I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pols38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagreen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagreen Guesthouse

Property: Seagreen Guesthouse
Address: 19b Rampart Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seagreen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagreen Guesthouse Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing