We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seagreen Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 143 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A group of three married couples we stayed here for two nights whilst on a tour organise by Shangri Lanka Villa.

A friendly welcome from Naman led us to three comfortable and clean air conditioned rooms.
Beds are very comfortable and the showers hot. We ate at the restaurant next door. The guest house benefits from a wonderful position overlooking the ramparts.
We were fascinated to sit on the balcony in the evening watching the lads playing cricket. We were woken the next morning with the sound of Auld Lang Syne being played by a school band. We spent two hours over breakfast watching at least two hundred girls practising marching (with the guidance of the army), in preparation for Independence Day. A wonderful sight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Seagreen Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent a month n Sri Lanka and absolutely loved it - everywhere we stayed we experienced such warm hospitality and the standard of accommodation for our budget was incredible. Seagreen really stood out though - the rooms were lovely, stylish and spotless, with THE most comfortable beds. The view from the top balcony was priceless - watching the sun set over the Galle Fort walls while local kids played cricket on the green was quintessential Sri Lanka magic. The best thing about Seagreen by far however is the people - Naman and his charming staff are so helpful and friendly and fun to hang out with, and his brother Chana and his wife who run the restaurant attached looked after us like old friends.They took especially great care of my nine year old son. The food was delicious - best dhal in all of Sri Lanka, and the whole fish and jumbo prawns are to die for. We felt as though we had struck gold, and stayed two nights longer than we had planned. Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and both were gorgeous.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was my first hotel experience in Sri Lanka and what a wonderful experience it was!
I can only echo the excellent reviews this lovely guesthouse continues to receive.
Friendly, very helpful service including the very convenient restaurant next door!
I felt as though I was treated like a valued friend and I really can't wait to return.
Thankyou to Naman and his family for everything! B.Thomasson

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronwen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

There are alot of new properties in Galle fort now for travelers. Seagreen has one advantage in that the front of the property looks out across the green and ramparts to the sea. It has a first floor and second floor balcony with this view - although a road runs in front which may be noisy early morning (tuk tuks and suchlike!) That being said only two rooms have front facing windows (and so great views) - whereas the remaining rooms are at the rear or on the side and so probably quieter. A/C works well and is not noisy. Polyester sheets :-(

The rooms are plain but functional with nice polished concrete floors (as are common in Sri Lanka). There is no restaurant in the house but there is a restaurant next door, and of course plenty of places in Galle fort.

Good enough

Room Tip: "Clippenburg bastion" room is top floor at the back of the guest house - works well
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Really lovely owners and accommodating staff. Rooms are clean,air conditioned, spacious, and colourful. Great location by the wall of the fort next to a bustling girls school. Tiny bit noisy but exciting town life

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Walkingabout0180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here for three nights to recover from jet lag after flying from canada to Sri Lanka. The guesthouse is perfectly located in Galle Fort and my room had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. The room was clean and bathrooms were excellent. The price was right for staying in the Fort. Recommended for budget travellers who enjoy little extra touches. Owner Naman was very hospitable and helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January and couldn't speak highly enough - Naman and Meike were wonderful. The room was really homely and the staff were so helpful. The location in Galle Fort was perfect. Also highly recommended Naman's brother's restaurant next door - the best fish we ate in a month in Sri Lanka. Such great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Tigers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 143 in Galle
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 143 in Galle
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#2 of 23 in Galle
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#1 of 143 in Galle
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagreen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagreen Guesthouse

Address: 19b Rampart Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £39 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seagreen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagreen Guesthouse Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing