We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mango House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mango House
Ranked #4 of 279 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Unfortunately for us, we didn't know of Mango House when booking our stay. We didn't stay here, but were drawn in by it's lush courtyard like an oasis. Sweaty, stinky and bedraggled, we were welcomed by the owner with a couple of properly cold beers.

We got chatting to the owner, a British ex-pat, who provided a great insight to starting a business in Sri Lanka. They have only just opened after lovingly restoring this beautiful building.

Interested in the property, I welcomed the chance to look around. The entrance lobby was so lovely and bright thanks to great big sky lights in the ceiling. It was also very cool thanks to big ceiling fans and air flow. The rooms were beautiful. A good size, tastefully decorated, with the whitest, crispest sheets I have seen. For those that like a nice bathroom, this place has it spot on.

Most importantly, the beers were cheap and cold.

Having been travelling around Sri Lanka, we have found Galle probably the worst in terms of tourist rip-offs. The owner also helped in this regard, giving us info about the local price of tuk tuks (and in the process we found out our own hotel was ripping us off).

A very calm place. Great potential. And off to a cracking start.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank blw_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review! It was great to have the chance to chat with you both and impart some of our experiences from here, as well as hear some tips on running hotels from an expert. Always glad to be of service with a refreshing beverage: We know how baked you can get walking around the Fort. Really glad you liked our renovation and that the garden feels like a bit of a sanctuary .. we’re still populating it with as many palms as we can get our hands on. Only sad you weren’t staying with us. If you come back to Sri Lanka, please do. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    58
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
142
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely guest house for three nights and fell in love with it. Mango House truly feels like a spa. We were greeted with fresh juice and deliciously-scented cool face cloths (which was such a treat in that heat). Our room was amazing! Big cozy bed and a beautiful bathroom with plenty of hot water and great water pressure in the shower. Plus, thoughtful and charming touches abound: bottled water in our room, fresh flowers, ceramic bottles housing shampoo and decadent-smelling body wash, and big fluffy towels. Great music, cool art and colourful decor really make this place stand out. We travelled for a month in Sri Lanka and no other place offered such beauty and creature comforts like Mango House. The breakfast fruit platter was beautifully presented and the fruit so deliciously sweet and fresh. And they have espresso! The hosts are very kind people, really warm and welcoming and made us feel at home and at ease. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonDim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Mango House! We are so happy you had a good time with us – we really enjoyed hanging out with you too and hope we can visit you in Singapore sometime soon.

It’s really satisfying to know you appreciated the attention to details we’ve tried to put into the house - that was one of our mottos when doing the renovation - and that the pressure pump did its job of blasting out a rainforest shower for weary travellers heated by the sun, the beds are crispy clean and comfortable giving guests a good nights sleep before the monkeys wake them up in the morning(!) that each guest is special to us – and that we have the best coffee in town (but no longer at home!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Travelling as a family we couldn't find any accom in Galle until we called The Mango House even after reading it was closed for renovation. Lucky for us they had just decided to open and we stayed 2 nights. The family room had 2 large beds and a great bathroom. There is DVDs for the kids, a common area with daybeds and interesting books . The hosts had great music playing and were helpful with any of our requests. The garden is a beautiful place to start & plan the day while enjoying breakfast. Would love to return some day The Short Family

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyliepaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We were so lucky to have you as our first guests! After nine months of renovating Mango House we were excited to open the doors to guests, but not sure whether everything would be ready. However, you were easy going and relaxed about everything, helping us to iron out the hopefully last few niggles. We really enjoyed your company and will definitely love to visit you if we make it to Australia sometime. Thanks for being the best first guests we could have hoped for. You are always welcome back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
489 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,377 reviews
2.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#2 of 60 in Galle
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#15 of 279 in Galle
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango House

Property: Mango House
Address: 3 Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Galle Fort, Mango House is a bright and airy Dutch colonial-style villa, mixing old elegance with a hip, Asian contemporary feel. From hand-made terracotta floor tiles and bespoke furniture to exclusive pattern designs and a carefully crafted lighting scheme, guests at Mango House enjoy a unique experience, bridging the best of colonial-era architecture with funky, modern twists.Set in a beautiful garden of mango trees and palms, the 7-room boutique hotel offers a peaceful haven for guests within easy walking distance of all Galle Fort's historic sights, restaurants and shops.Each room has a queen size four-poster bed, AC and fan, satellite TV and DVD player, with guests free to choose from an extensive library of films and documentaries. Two of our rooms open out onto a private courtyard, while three others enjoy private balconies. One room offers a second queen-size bed on a mezzanine, perfect for families traveling with children. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, rainforest showers and luxury organic amenities. Wifi access is free throughout the house and our complimentary breakfast is a choice between the full English, Continental or spicy Sri Lankan omelette topped off with fruit salad, yoghurt and Muesli, fresh juices, Italian coffee and Sri Lankan teas. For lunch and dinner, guests are less than five minutes walk from all Galle Fort's delicious range of cafes and restaurants, serving everything from traditional Sri Lankan curry to the best of European and Asian fusion cuisine. Those wishing to stay in can order from the menu of Crepe-ology, one of Galle Fort's top ranking restaurants, who will deliver delicious savoury crepes, salads and sweets for guests to enjoy on our veranda, in the garden or on their private balcony or courtyard. Mango House also offers guests personalised services including airport pick up and drop off, restaurant and spa bookings, tours and a 24-hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing