We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Mango House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mango House
Ranked #4 of 154 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Home away from Home. Mango House is an oasis in Galle fort. The beautiful garden brings

you tranquility. Tastefully designed Old Dutch architecture paired with comfortable interior

gives a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the open verandah. Thanks

to Udara, very friendly & helpful soul of the House. Hugh, the GM, makes you feel at home.

Well maintained, clean & cosy Mango House is well worth a visit.

Don Henry B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We were very happy you felt Mango house offered you tranquillity and an oasis – something we can all use once in a while ☺

We would also like to thank you for your warm recommendation and hope you will come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

A fantastic stay, fantastic staff in a superbly clean hotel.
The rooms are a little on the small side for a longer stay (we were there for 11 nights) but the breakfast is top.
Galle Fort is very picturesque but a bit on the quiet side.
Thanks to all of the staff for a really happy stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agusta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

It was a real pleasure having you both stay with us – and thank you so much for the brilliant review. It feels all empty without you here – and we’ll miss you!

We are happy you liked the house and that breakfast was satisfactory! We are now experimenting with homemade croissants – nothing better than warm croissants in the morning.

It’s true that the Fort goes very quiet in the evening – we recommend Unawatuna beach with its restaurants and bars for a fun night out (!)

You are always welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a great place, very cosy. The house has been wonderfully restored and has a beautiful garden, at a great location in the city. The owners did their best to help us with recomendable activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! It was such a pleasure having you stay and we’re glad you enjoyed Galle Fort.

There are plenty of restaurants whether you’re looking for western food or a delicious local curry and several shops have also opened recently selling everything from souvenirs, clothes and interior design items. The Fort has really developed nicely in the past few years with many restorations of the old colonial houses – it’s a lovely community to be part of.

You are of course welcome back to Mango House anytime and we hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked our hotel in Galle pretty late. So, we didn't have a lot of options left at that time. We didn't expect much from the hotel (it was one of the few that remained available). We had a comfy stay there. It's simple, clean, and have all the basics that we need. The hotel has recently opened. So, if you are looking for simple, clean, new hotel, here is the one (i believe they renovated old building). It's located in the center of everything

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you very much for your great review – we are happy we had an available room at the time and could welcome you to Mango House.

It is a newly opened hotel – we are five months old - but the building itself, though it’s newly renovated is an old house – an old cinnamon factory.

We strive to make it a comfortable stay for all our guests and are very happy to be summed up as clean and simple – with good service. ☺ We have strived to create a haven in the heart of Galle Fort with rooms that are bright and airy, with all the essentials for a very comfortable stay but without getting cluttered.

We hope you come back again soon – and you are always welcome back to Mango House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights as part of a bigger tour. This is such an interesting building and has been restored sympathetically. Our room was pleasant, if a bit bijou and the breakfasts were excellent, particularly the coffee. It is very conveniently situated within the fort.

Unfortunately, we did not get to meet the owners/managers as they live off site. We felt on a couple of issues perhaps a steadying hand on the helm was needed. Running out of napkins (a sheet of kitchen roll was substituted) and bacon for example.

But overall this is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your nice review – we too are sorry we didn’t get to meet you (unfortunately we had paperwork to do in Colombo, which we had to deal with – the more mundane side of running a hotel!).

We’re happy you liked Mango House. We spent nine months restoring the building in accordance with the archaeological guidelines of the local authorities and UNESCO. In fact Mango House was once an old cinnamon factory that belonged to Hayley’s, one of Sri Lanka’s oldest trading companies.

We are also glad you enjoyed our breakfast, but we are sorry that we could not offer you bacon for the breakfast one of the days. Supermarkets here do sometimes run out of specialist items like bacon but in future we will keep more in stock so we should never run out again. Likewise with the table napkins!

We hope we have another chance to welcome you back to Mango House on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed two nights over a long weekend at an excellent price we found online. Sophie the manager was very obliging when we contacted her about extending our stay. Thank You. Kudos to management on small green initiatives they are taking to conserve and reuse while still maintaining professional standards in the service industry. We will be back.

Worth a mention though is the receptionist/waiter Upali was rather rude and did the bare minimum required. He always seemed to be in a rush, and remained seated and unhelpful when we specifically requested help. (We asked that shelving be put up downstairs when we weren't trying to sleep, and our bags be taken downstairs when we left).

Room Tip: Do not opt for downstairs room #1 if you are claustophobic. We also stayed in Room #7 which albeit s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your great review! We were very happy to have you staying and you are more than welcome back anytime you need a break from big city life in Colombo(!)

I am happy you noticed our green initiatives – it’s important to us to look after the beautiful environment of Sri Lanka and make as small a carbon footprint as possible – we are aiming to be a carbon neutral hotel within a year.

I am, however, very sorry about your experience with our manager, Udara. He is a very hard worker and an invaluable member of our staff – a close-knit family, who looks after the guests at Mango House. I have spoken to him about the incident you mention and he is more sorry about coming across aloof than anyone. Most guests always commend him for going that extra mile and for his good humour.

When you complained about the noise, we were setting up a small mesh in the courtyard in the late afternoon (this did include hammering nails in), but all work was halted immediately, when staff were made aware that the noise was disturbing. The hotel should be a restful place and we understand that our guests come here to relax.

Regarding the Oriental Room, it is the same size as our other rooms, with all the same amenities (complimentary organic toiletries, fan, AC, TV/DVD etc), but it does not have the same outside access as do our other rooms and so this is reflected in its lower rate.

As we are only a very young hotel we are very grateful for any feedback guests may be able to offer. We take it very seriously if a guest leaves and did not feel that it was all they had hoped for – we therefore look forward to welcoming you back in future and making sure that in your next stay with us everything is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The service, staff and facilities were excellent. Great value for money. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The location was very convenient. The hotel is so tastefully decorated and has a nice personal touch to it. It feels cozy and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it. It was also kid friendly. The staff was very attentive to the three year old we were traveling with. Plus, it is a green hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

A huge thank you for your really great review! I am so happy you had a good time with us - it was lovely having you stay here.

We have been working hard at becoming a 'green hotel' as you mention - it's really important to us. In fact it was one of the main ideas behind the hotel - to try to leave as little a footprint as possible. We write a bit about it on our website.

You and your family are always welcome back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 25 in Galle
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 25 in Galle
570 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#1 of 154 in Galle
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango House

Address: 3 Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £63 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Galle Fort, Mango House is a bright and airy Dutch colonial-style villa, mixing old elegance with a hip, Asian contemporary feel. From hand-made terracotta floor tiles and bespoke furniture to exclusive pattern designs and a carefully crafted lighting scheme, guests at Mango House enjoy a unique experience, bridging the best of colonial-era architecture with funky, modern twists.Set in a beautiful garden of mango trees and palms, the 7-room boutique hotel offers a peaceful haven for guests within easy walking distance of all Galle Fort's historic sights, restaurants and shops.Each room has a queen size four-poster bed, AC and fan, satellite TV and DVD player, with guests free to choose from an extensive library of films and documentaries. Two of our rooms open out onto a private courtyard, while three others enjoy private balconies. One room offers a second queen-size bed on a mezzanine, perfect for families traveling with children. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, rainforest showers and luxury organic amenities. Wifi access is free throughout the house and our complimentary breakfast is a choice between the full English, Continental or spicy Sri Lankan omelette topped off with fruit salad, yoghurt and Muesli, fresh juices, Italian coffee and Sri Lankan teas. For lunch and dinner, guests are less than five minutes walk from all Galle Fort's delicious range of cafes and restaurants, serving everything from traditional Sri Lankan curry to the best of European and Asian fusion cuisine. Those wishing to stay in can order from the menu of Crepe-ology, one of Galle Fort's top ranking restaurants, who will deliver delicious savoury crepes, salads and sweets for guests to enjoy on our veranda, in the garden or on their private balcony or courtyard. Mango House also offers guests personalised services including airport pick up and drop off, restaurant and spa bookings, tours and a 24-hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mango House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing