We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay nowhere else in Galle!”
Review of Mango House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mango House
Ranked #3 of 152 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Mango House for just one night in March, and would have loved to stay for longer. As others have said, the property itself is gorgeous, and a little haven; very calming, light, and comfortable (lots of chairs, cushions etc in the communal areas), and beautifully restored so it still retains a feeling of the history of the building. Sofie (we did not meet Hugh) was absolutely delightful, and very helpful, especially with restaurant recommendations, and advice on getting to Colombo (our next stop).

Galle itself is gorgeous, but very sleepy, especially past about 9pm. We therefore caught a tuk tuk (on Sofie's advice) to Unawatuna for dinner. This was a lot of fun, and there were far more people about, but it was also a real pleasure to be able to then come back to the peaceful haven of Mango House afterwards! We will highly recommend it to anyone we can - thankyou Sofie!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

You are both most welcome! You’re right Unawatuna has nice restaurants, beach bars and shops – a great lively alternative to Galle Fort.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and you’re most welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent a couple of nights here recently and loved all aspects of the place. The trees in the garden give their name to the hotel and if you are there at the right time of year breakfast will include mangoes from the trees. There are also day beds with colourful cushions in the garden where you can relax after a day's sightseeing. The foyer is spacious and has a sense of fun and colour. Staff very welcoming and efficient. Our room was small but had everything we needed and bathroom spacious and well appointed. (Some rooms have balconies so check when you are booking). Breakfast is served in garden and included Sri Lankan delicacies as well as the usual continental offerings. One evening we did a guided walk and when we passed Mango House several people remarked how beautiful it looked, so were pretty pleased to be able to say 'that's where we are staying!'

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scottie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you both so much for the lovely review!

We’re so happy you picked up on the sense of humour (the Bollywood posters in particular) – although the house itself is an old colonial building we wanted it to be a relaxed place for travellers – a place to feel right at home.

You are always welcome back – and we hope you’ll come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Galle Fort during a 9 day trip around Southern SL. Whilst we stayed in other lovely (and more expensive) hotels elsewhere in SL, this was by far our favourite. The hotel is tucked down a quiet side-street in an old cinammon factory. The hotel has been lovingly and tastefully restored and is a quiet, peaceful haven, with a homely feel and is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in a ground floor double with a (shared) balcony at the back. The room was simple yet chic and stylishly decoarated, with nice touches, such as flowers on the bed and personalised Mango House toiletries.

The owners, Sofie and Hugh hare got it just right. Sofie was extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Sofie arranged for us to have spa treatments at Galle Spa (also great), transfers and restaurant recommendations in the area.

The breakfast was great, with a choice between continental, English or traditional SL.

Having done a mini tour of Galle and enjoyed cocktails at many other of the hotels in Galle, for price, quality and overall experience, Mango House is unrivalled and I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca8106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We are so chuffed Mango House was one of your favourite places on your tour – and humbled(!) – It is such a great sense of joy when guests enjoy their stay here and it forms part of their overall impression of Galle and Sri Lanka. We, like the rest of the country, are always open to new ideas and it’s a work in progress.

Thank you so much for your great review! You are both more than welcome back anytime - It was really great getting to know you and we hope you’ll always view this place as your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Mango house is a great place to stay. We stayed 2nights. Udera is a great manager. He helps us a lot and staff is brilliant!we will recomended to our Chinese friends really enjoyed the stay at mango house this is really quiet place and breakfast is good and very tasty.we miss srilanka and specially this lovely place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hzyilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words – and your lovely review!

We are very happy to have had the pleasure of welcoming many Chinese guests – not least you ☺

We are pleased both the breakfast and the house lived up to your expectations and you are always most welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Well, there is not much to say rather than the Mango house is amazing. We stayed for two nights in a superb room on the first floor. It had a nice balcony and it was very nicely decorated and super clean.

The location you can't beat and their garden with mango trees is beautiful... A nice place to relax and read if you like. Their breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruit, great coffee and a selection of three breakfasts.

Another thing to mention is their staff. They are super friendly, helpful and would go the extra mile anytime for you - just perfect service!

We would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling to Sri Lanka - don't miss it!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank prapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you’ll come back again

We are very glad you were happy with the service – we are a close-knit family who enjoy our work at Mango House. It is always such a privilege to meet people from all over the world – what a great experience!

Thank you also for your warm recommendation – you are of course always welcome back! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

While only open for 5 months, the Mango House is already a stunning success. Wonderful staff who make you feel at home, great breakfasts, amazing location and real class, for much less than we would have expected to pay. Book it before the secret gets out and they are completely filled up! Sophie, one of the owners, is amazing, and while we travel all over the world on a regular basis, the Mango House has honestly become one of the places we will continue to come back to because of the people who have made it so special. Located in the heart of the Galle Fort, only minutes walk from great restaurants, shopping, culture, museums, and the very best sunset views in Galle, the Mango House still makes you feel at home rather than just a number like the bigger hotels. We loved it so much we stayed an additional three nights after our initial three night booking. Nothing to complain about here, and unlike most of the other hotels that are just in it for the money, the Mango House is making a real effort towards an eco-friendly operation, and actively working to make the Galle Fort the first carbon-neutral UNESCO World Heritage site in the world. Amazing experience!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen9883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

A huge cheers from Mango House to you two! It was really great having you stay and inevitably it also felt a bit quiet when you left.

What an amazing review! We are so chuffed you felt it was a special place and you enjoyed your stay – we hope you had some well deserved rest and recuperation.

We do try to make Mango House a place where guests can feel at home while looking after the local environment. We are together with a group of other business owners trying to come up with sustainable solutions in the local hospitality industry and ultimately the aim is to create a carbon neutral hotel… and hopefully even make Galle Fort carbon neutral too. We feel privileged to be here and we really want to preserve it for the future.

We often think of you guys and you always have a second home away from home here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Such a pleasant surprise. The Fort throngs with people, both tourists and residents. Mango House is located on a quiet side street, half a block in either direction from museums, restaurants, shops, banks. As soon as you step onto its property you know it's special, with pink mango-colored cushions on lounge chairs beneath palm trees. There are 3 rooms on the ground floor. The two rooms to the right (sorry I don't remember room numbers) each open up to large verandas. The left-most room does not. The rooms on the second story have balconies (not sure if all of them do). My ground-floor room and bath were spacious, clean and well-appointed. I had injured my leg and the staff gathered a first aid kit to re-bandage my leg. In the evening one of the staff members walked with me to a local doctor's office and waited while my leg was examined. Supurb service! Breakfast (included) was delicious and the setting a delight, with a choice of eating outside in the courtyard or in the large open-air reception room. And the location cannot be beat. I stayed 3 nights and was truly sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ber357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

It was a joy having you stay with us and we too were sorry to see you leave!

We completely understand how it can feel when you’re travelling in a foreign country and need medical attention – we were happy we could assist you and we hope your leg is healing well.

You are right we have three rooms on the ground level, two of which have access to a private courtyard and four upstairs – three of which have access to balconies and one which is a mezzanine room – our Family Room - which can sleep four people, ideal for families.

Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast – we are very happy you enjoyed it – and thank you for the great review.

You are always welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 24 in Galle
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 152 in Galle
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#1 of 152 in Galle
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango House

Address: 3 Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £63 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Galle Fort, Mango House is a bright and airy Dutch colonial-style villa, mixing old elegance with a hip, Asian contemporary feel. From hand-made terracotta floor tiles and bespoke furniture to exclusive pattern designs and a carefully crafted lighting scheme, guests at Mango House enjoy a unique experience, bridging the best of colonial-era architecture with funky, modern twists.Set in a beautiful garden of mango trees and palms, the 7-room boutique hotel offers a peaceful haven for guests within easy walking distance of all Galle Fort's historic sights, restaurants and shops.Each room has a queen size four-poster bed, AC and fan, satellite TV and DVD player, with guests free to choose from an extensive library of films and documentaries. Two of our rooms open out onto a private courtyard, while three others enjoy private balconies. One room offers a second queen-size bed on a mezzanine, perfect for families traveling with children. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, rainforest showers and luxury organic amenities. Wifi access is free throughout the house and our complimentary breakfast is a choice between the full English, Continental or spicy Sri Lankan omelette topped off with fruit salad, yoghurt and Muesli, fresh juices, Italian coffee and Sri Lankan teas. For lunch and dinner, guests are less than five minutes walk from all Galle Fort's delicious range of cafes and restaurants, serving everything from traditional Sri Lankan curry to the best of European and Asian fusion cuisine. Those wishing to stay in can order from the menu of Crepe-ology, one of Galle Fort's top ranking restaurants, who will deliver delicious savoury crepes, salads and sweets for guests to enjoy on our veranda, in the garden or on their private balcony or courtyard. Mango House also offers guests personalised services including airport pick up and drop off, restaurant and spa bookings, tours and a 24-hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Mango House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing