We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARVELLOUS”
Review of Mango House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mango House
Ranked #4 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CHEMELLIER, FRANCE
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“MARVELLOUS”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in early March.
The hotel was well situated within the fort.
The property had been very tastefully restored. both our bedrooms were gorgeous, roomy and airy with a tiny balcony. Above all it smelt fresh.
The lounge area was superb and one could have your breakfast here or on the tiny verandah that was cool in the morning.
The small garden contained numerous chairs and day beds to relax in the shade.
The breakfast we had was excellent and included many varieties of fresh fruits including mangoes from a tree in the garden.
What surprised me was the numerous species of birds that were present in the trees, a delight for anybody interested in bird watching.
The Proprietors and the staff were very obliging, friendly and helpful. What more could you ask for?
If I ever visit Galle again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdealwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review!

You are right we do have quite a few different birds visit our garden, which is such a joy to watch. We usually have a couple of nests scattered in the different trees or bushes – we even had one recently above one of the fans in the living room(!) While I’m by no means an ornithologist we often have quite distinctive birds such as kingfishers, hummingbirds and even peacocks grace our garden.

We hope you will come back and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    59
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
148
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Beautiful guest house right in the middle of Galle Fort. After a hot journey there we were welcomed in their beautiful shady garden with a cool glass of mango juice. Very friendly and welcoming staff, clean rooms with comfortable beds and great showers. Very airy, bright and spacious public areas inside, where you can sit and leaf through their varied books about Sri Lanka and Galle. Breakfast is served in the garden under the mango trees - fresh fruit, a selection of mains options and excellent coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms which look over the back gardens - we saw a monkey sleeping in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odinino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review and for the great photo of one of our cheeky visitors, the purple-faced langur. While troops of them grace us with their presence daily, we can never quite believe our luck that we have such rare and friendly visitors – one of the most endangered primates in the world.

We hope you too will grace us with another visit one day – you are most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Mango House is a charming little house situated in the middle of Galle Fort. The rooms are light and breezy. The garden is a perfect little taste of jungle in the middle of the city.

The hosts are very knowledgeable of where to go and what to see, and they serve the best breakfast in Sri Lanka! Yes, they serve proper coffe:)

We are coming back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank badeanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
It would be lovely having you back!

We are very happy you liked the breakfast – between English, Continental and Sri Lankan there should be something for every one – and while Sri Lanka is famous for its tea, we too love a good coffee in the morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Mango House for just one night in March, and would have loved to stay for longer. As others have said, the property itself is gorgeous, and a little haven; very calming, light, and comfortable (lots of chairs, cushions etc in the communal areas), and beautifully restored so it still retains a feeling of the history of the building. Sofie (we did not meet Hugh) was absolutely delightful, and very helpful, especially with restaurant recommendations, and advice on getting to Colombo (our next stop).

Galle itself is gorgeous, but very sleepy, especially past about 9pm. We therefore caught a tuk tuk (on Sofie's advice) to Unawatuna for dinner. This was a lot of fun, and there were far more people about, but it was also a real pleasure to be able to then come back to the peaceful haven of Mango House afterwards! We will highly recommend it to anyone we can - thankyou Sofie!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
You are both most welcome! You’re right Unawatuna has nice restaurants, beach bars and shops – a great lively alternative to Galle Fort.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and you’re most welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here recently and loved all aspects of the place. The trees in the garden give their name to the hotel and if you are there at the right time of year breakfast will include mangoes from the trees. There are also day beds with colourful cushions in the garden where you can relax after a day's sightseeing. The foyer is spacious and has a sense of fun and colour. Staff very welcoming and efficient. Our room was small but had everything we needed and bathroom spacious and well appointed. (Some rooms have balconies so check when you are booking). Breakfast is served in garden and included Sri Lankan delicacies as well as the usual continental offerings. One evening we did a guided walk and when we passed Mango House several people remarked how beautiful it looked, so were pretty pleased to be able to say 'that's where we are staying!'

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scottie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you both so much for the lovely review!

We’re so happy you picked up on the sense of humour (the Bollywood posters in particular) – although the house itself is an old colonial building we wanted it to be a relaxed place for travellers – a place to feel right at home.

You are always welcome back – and we hope you’ll come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham, London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Galle Fort during a 9 day trip around Southern SL. Whilst we stayed in other lovely (and more expensive) hotels elsewhere in SL, this was by far our favourite. The hotel is tucked down a quiet side-street in an old cinammon factory. The hotel has been lovingly and tastefully restored and is a quiet, peaceful haven, with a homely feel and is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in a ground floor double with a (shared) balcony at the back. The room was simple yet chic and stylishly decoarated, with nice touches, such as flowers on the bed and personalised Mango House toiletries.

The owners, Sofie and Hugh hare got it just right. Sofie was extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Sofie arranged for us to have spa treatments at Galle Spa (also great), transfers and restaurant recommendations in the area.

The breakfast was great, with a choice between continental, English or traditional SL.

Having done a mini tour of Galle and enjoyed cocktails at many other of the hotels in Galle, for price, quality and overall experience, Mango House is unrivalled and I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca8106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are so chuffed Mango House was one of your favourite places on your tour – and humbled(!) – It is such a great sense of joy when guests enjoy their stay here and it forms part of their overall impression of Galle and Sri Lanka. We, like the rest of the country, are always open to new ideas and it’s a work in progress.

Thank you so much for your great review! You are both more than welcome back anytime - It was really great getting to know you and we hope you’ll always view this place as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Mango house is a great place to stay. We stayed 2nights. Udera is a great manager. He helps us a lot and staff is brilliant!we will recomended to our Chinese friends really enjoyed the stay at mango house this is really quiet place and breakfast is good and very tasty.we miss srilanka and specially this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hzyilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words – and your lovely review!

We are very happy to have had the pleasure of welcoming many Chinese guests – not least you ☺

We are pleased both the breakfast and the house lived up to your expectations and you are always most welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,735 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango House

Property: Mango House
Address: 3 Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Galle Fort, Mango House is a bright and airy Dutch colonial-style villa, mixing old elegance with a hip, Asian contemporary feel. From hand-made terracotta floor tiles and bespoke furniture to exclusive pattern designs and a carefully crafted lighting scheme, guests at Mango House enjoy a unique experience, bridging the best of colonial-era architecture with funky, modern twists.Set in a beautiful garden of mango trees and palms, the 7-room boutique hotel offers a peaceful haven for guests within easy walking distance of all Galle Fort's historic sights, restaurants and shops.Each room has a queen size four-poster bed, AC and fan, satellite TV and DVD player, with guests free to choose from an extensive library of films and documentaries. Two of our rooms open out onto a private courtyard, while three others enjoy private balconies. One room offers a second queen-size bed on a mezzanine, perfect for families traveling with children. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, rainforest showers and luxury organic amenities. Wifi access is free throughout the house and our complimentary breakfast is a choice between the full English, Continental or spicy Sri Lankan omelette topped off with fruit salad, yoghurt and Muesli, fresh juices, Italian coffee and Sri Lankan teas. For lunch and dinner, guests are less than five minutes walk from all Galle Fort's delicious range of cafes and restaurants, serving everything from traditional Sri Lankan curry to the best of European and Asian fusion cuisine. Those wishing to stay in can order from the menu of Crepe-ology, one of Galle Fort's top ranking restaurants, who will deliver delicious savoury crepes, salads and sweets for guests to enjoy on our veranda, in the garden or on their private balcony or courtyard. Mango House also offers guests personalised services including airport pick up and drop off, restaurant and spa bookings, tours and a 24-hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mango House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing