We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful colonial mansion in the heart of Galle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mango House
Ranked #6 of 274 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delightful colonial mansion in the heart of Galle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Mango House is a beautifully maintained open and airy colonial mansion in the center of the Gall Fort. It is an ideal location for walking around the fort or a stroll into New Town. The staff were very obliging and accommodating, especially when we had to spend about a half an hour on their only phone rearranging travel plans. The rooms are neat and nicely decorated, though the mattress was a bit soft for me. The included breakfast was tasty and sufficient, the included fruit and juices particularly good. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are so happy to hear that you had a good experience with us! And we’re so lucky we have staff that enjoy their jobs and always seem to go above and beyond. We feel we are a great little family and it is definitely our main goal to help make the experience for guests as good as possible – especially when guests need assistance. We are happy we could help solve your travel issue.

Thank you for your great review – and you’re welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    55
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
136
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Mango house immensely. The place is set back from the street with a lovely garden. The rooms and overall building seem very new and well decorated. The rooms are clean and bright and have a really nice feel to them. Also importantly the aircon works well!

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast provided was nice, especially the coffee.

I think the main reason to stay at Mango House however is the fantastic location. It is in the centre of Galle Fort which is fantastic for walking around looking at the beautiful architecture, eateries and shops along the way.

Highly recommended

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review!

When we decided on the interior design of Mango House we wanted to keep it in conformity with the overall style of the house – Sri Lankan colonial architecture – but at the same time not make it too dark and severe. We wanted to keep it light and fresh and contemporary, with a bit of humour. A place to feel at home and welcome. And we are very lucky with the location – we couldn’t be more central in the Fort. But most of all we love our garden with its many birds and occasional cheeky visitors – the purple faced Langurs (you can see photos of them in the guests’ photos on Tripadvisor.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely 7 room guesthouse. Very cheery place, nice helpful staff and gorgeous decor. The roof skylights make the building nice and light but also let a lot of heat in so it's a bit hot in the main common areas but ok if you air con or have fan left on in your room. The garden is beautiful and location terrific and quiet.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodnomad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your great review!

We were very happy to welcome you at Mango House!

When we decorated the house we were very mindful to keep the building not only in conformity with the strict regulations that govern Galle Fort as a world heritage site, but at the same time keep the house light and airy. While the AC’s and fans greatly help keep guests cool in their rooms, we made a conscious decision to not hermitically close off the rest of the house and run ACs, but instead let natural air circulate and breezes run through the house helped along by the fans to cool the house… this is also better for the environment… but we can never quite get away from the tropical climate ☺

You are most welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this guest house, it's clean, spacious rooms, highly recommend the rooms with the verandas. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Gorgeous location inside the fort where there are lots of cafés and boutique stores. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 000leigh000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review and for recommending Mango House!

You are right there are loads of small restaurants, cafes and shops to visit in Galle Fort and all the time more open. But what makes it unique, I think, is that the Fort at the same time as catering for visitors from around the world is a real ‘living world heritage site’ where normal people go about their daily lives.

We hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We, a family of four, stayed for just one night at “MangoHouse” in Galle, but it was the spectacular close of our self-organized SriLanka-Roundtrip.
We shared a very nice room with two double beds on two levels in the first floor.
The room, the hall, the garden and the breakfast and the service was amazing!

Room Tip: One room in the first floor has two double geds on two levels with a nice shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmaex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are very happy you enjoyed the Family Room – we have had great feedback from families travelling together (and even small groups of friends) on that room.

You are of course most welcome back – if you should decide on another visit to Sri Lanka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level Contributor
529 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Mango House is a lovely guest house tucked in the centre of Galle township. In actual fact, everything is within walking distance here. It's been wonderful to have a brief chat with the owner, Hugh yesterday, originated from England. There's so much passion in his words and what this place meant to him. One could only fathom the sweat and tears that took him and his partner to restore this building to its former glory. The courtyard in front of the house as you walk in is truly lovely and it's dotted with (you guess it), mango trees. There are sitting areas spread around the building and sprinkled with Bollywood posters. The rooms are white washed with terracotta floors. Mango House is very much into sustainability and good on the owners for taking a stand against plastic bottles for shampoos, conditioners, water bottles! The bed is comfy, the WiFi is amazingly strong, satellite tv channels that I don't use anyway, balcony area with outdoor furniture for smokers inside the room, there's aircon and fan in the room (much needed) especially during lunch time when first floor can be searingly hot. Breakfast is served in the morning but not for lunch and dinner (all coming down to turnover). My only gripes are minor such as nowhere to lounge to read my book inside my room(only at public area), no coffee/tea making facilities, no number or symbols to know where my room is (all doors are white in colour). Apart from that, Mango House is a nice spot to be in. Nothing pretentious but just a sweet place to chillaxing in. Keep up the great work:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Firstly thank you very much for your great review!

It is true that we spilled blood, sweat and tears working on the renovation of Mango House ☺ But overall it was such an incredible experience!

Renovating a house within a world heritage site brought us not only close to all the various archeological departments in charge of overseeing and protecting the historical area, we got to know many of their staff personally and to see what drives the people behind one of Sri Lanka’s most important heritage sites.

The building process itself was also fascinating not least because of our close cooperation with the workers who never ceased to surprise us and made each day special!

The result after nine months of renovation works was a complete transformation of Mango House – into what it used to look like when it was a Cinnamon factory.

We try to make our guests’ stay comfortable, while keeping the hotel as ‘green’ as possible and to create a relaxing atmosphere, while also catering to guests who want to be ‘online’ and watch TV.

We do, by the way, have a tea station by the stairs leading upstairs in the main hall with all of Sri Lanka’s best teas, I am sorry you missed it – but thank you for staying with us and you are always most welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I visited in May 2014. May is low season in Sri Lanka, so we were the only guest in the place. It was very quiet and gorgeous! High ceiling, big open courtyard, monkeys in the morning. This place has gone through a major renovation last winter --2013, so do expect to pay 2x to 4x more for the room than 2012 published Lonely Planet. The room was clean and spotless.
Even though we agreed not to have a breakfast to lower our rate, they still prepared us a complimentary breakfast with toasts, butter, jam, and mango juice! How nice of them :)
We enjoyed staying there. Great location, great service, great room :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokimn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your brilliant review!

You are right the hotel has undergone major renovation – in all, nine months worth of it – bringing it back as close as we could to the original architecture. That along with top notch amenities, great service (with ethical and fair salaries) and keeping the hotel as ‘green’ as possible does drive the rates up from when it was a very simple guesthouse run by a family.

We are aware that all travelers have different budgets, which is why our rooms have different rates. This means we get all kinds of guests, which we really like. But while we negotiated a very low rate for you on account that it is low season, we felt we couldn’t let you leave without breakfast – that’s no way to start the day.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you’ll return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango House

Property: Mango House
Address: 3 Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Galle Fort, Mango House is a bright and airy Dutch colonial-style villa, mixing old elegance with a hip, Asian contemporary feel. From hand-made terracotta floor tiles and bespoke furniture to exclusive pattern designs and a carefully crafted lighting scheme, guests at Mango House enjoy a unique experience, bridging the best of colonial-era architecture with funky, modern twists.Set in a beautiful garden of mango trees and palms, the 7-room boutique hotel offers a peaceful haven for guests within easy walking distance of all Galle Fort's historic sights, restaurants and shops.Each room has a queen size four-poster bed, AC and fan, satellite TV and DVD player, with guests free to choose from an extensive library of films and documentaries. Two of our rooms open out onto a private courtyard, while three others enjoy private balconies. One room offers a second queen-size bed on a mezzanine, perfect for families traveling with children. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, rainforest showers and luxury organic amenities. Wifi access is free throughout the house and our complimentary breakfast is a choice between the full English, Continental or spicy Sri Lankan omelette topped off with fruit salad, yoghurt and Muesli, fresh juices, Italian coffee and Sri Lankan teas. For lunch and dinner, guests are less than five minutes walk from all Galle Fort's delicious range of cafes and restaurants, serving everything from traditional Sri Lankan curry to the best of European and Asian fusion cuisine. Those wishing to stay in can order from the menu of Crepe-ology, one of Galle Fort's top ranking restaurants, who will deliver delicious savoury crepes, salads and sweets for guests to enjoy on our veranda, in the garden or on their private balcony or courtyard. Mango House also offers guests personalised services including airport pick up and drop off, restaurant and spa bookings, tours and a 24-hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mango House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing