We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mango House
Ranked #6 of 274 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We only managed to stay at the Mango House for one night, however it was one of the most delightful and charming stays we have ever had in any hotel. Lovely and attentive staff, tasteful decor, delicious breakfast - all round a great place and very good value for money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
It was lovely having you stay with us and we are very happy you had such a nice stay!

Thank you for the great review - It’s a shame you couldn’t stay longer, but hopefully you’ll be back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    56
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
139
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

In a quiet street you can found this hotel. At arrival you will receive a mango juice. You also get this with breakfast (fruit or yoghurt + english or continental). It has a laundry service, wifi and there is a choice of a lot of dvds to watch in your room. The room is clean. The bed was al little bit hard for my taste and even with the curtains down there was a lot of light coming into the room. It is located in the middle of the fort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for the review!

We have shaken it up a bit and while we still offer a freshly made mixed healthy juice with mangos for breakfast, we also offer a refreshing iced tea when guests arrive at the hotel.

It was a pleasure having you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in mango house for 2 nights. Very friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. Nice clean room, if a little small. Comfy bed. Brilliant location right in the heart of Fort Galle. Delicious mango juice on arrival. Great places to eat nearby. They arranged taxi pickup from airport and were very helpful with any queries. Couldn't fault it. Worth the price.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank journeymanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your Mango-nificent review!

We were very happy to have you stay and are glad you liked Mango House!

You are more than welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Mango house is a gorgeous boutique hotel in a great location in galle fort. The decor in the entrance hall is beautiful and stylish. We loved the local art and elements of local decor. The staff are lovely and friendly. We thought Hugh (manager) was really great. Decent wifi and TV (although small and some channels don't work). The breakfast was the best we have had-freshly cooked lovely food. However, could offer a variety of juice flavours.

Unfortunately, we had booked the cheaper double room - 'the oriental room' which is on the ground floor in the foyer. Reception, kitchen, breakfast and the entrance/exit were literally right outside our room and window. This meant the room was quite loud and didn't feel private or relaxing.

Other little annoyances: a lot of light coming in through window at night, small and compact room, our room smelt damp and a dehumidifier was turned on hinting that there was a damp problem, wet room showers means whole bathroom gets soaked, need fitted sheets so they don't keep coming off.

Come to this hotel, it is by far the most beautiful in galle, just be wary of the cheaper ground floor double room. Get a courtyard or balcony room for sure, it is worth paying a bit more. Family room also looks nice. Note 2 of the balcony rooms are much bigger than the third.
We stayed in the ground floor room for 2 nights and then managed to move upstairs to the smallest balcony room which was better for us.

Room Tip: We think a large balcony room is best.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
It was great having you stay and thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and great review! Thank you also for your praise of the décor, the service and breakfast!

While we love the Oriental Room and we get a lot of positive feedback on the room, it is true it isn’t as secluded as the other rooms, which is one reason it is cheaper than the other rooms. We don’t have a damp problem, but we are aware that the tropical climate can leave rooms a bit muggy from time to time especially during the rainy season – so we sometimes leave the dehumidifier on to counter the problem. Along with the AC in the room and a daily airing that usually does the trick!

We were glad we were able to upgrade you to our courtyard and a balcony room during your stay and that you enjoyed the extra space and we very much hope you will visit us again at Mango House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really lovely such a change from all those marble floored shines hotels. We were made to feel welcomed and had a relaxing two days. Loved seeing the monkeys in the trees on the garden. The hotel is ideally located. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewerigoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
A huge thank you for your great review!

You are right – we have tried very hard to be a far cry from the marbled floored shiny hotels ☺ Hopefully Mango House is a home away from home to our guests where they can relax and enjoy their holiday.

The monkeys are also very welcome and definitely always great fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

A beautiful and well renovated building in the centre of Galle Forte, the staff are helpful the food is good.
Our room was a good size with a nice ensuite bathroom the viewon the balcony is okay looking across the forte.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for staying at Mango House – it’s great to be able to welcome Colombowans (Colombians?) to Galle – you are most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent location in the centre of Galle. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and functional. The breakfast options were more than adequate and the dining was either in the lobby area or peaceful garden that fronts the walled property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunandSam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are pleased you had a great time here!

I like your straight to the point review – thank you very much! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 60 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango House

Property: Mango House
Address: 3 Leyn Baan Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic Galle Fort, Mango House is a bright and airy Dutch colonial-style villa, mixing old elegance with a hip, Asian contemporary feel. From hand-made terracotta floor tiles and bespoke furniture to exclusive pattern designs and a carefully crafted lighting scheme, guests at Mango House enjoy a unique experience, bridging the best of colonial-era architecture with funky, modern twists.Set in a beautiful garden of mango trees and palms, the 7-room boutique hotel offers a peaceful haven for guests within easy walking distance of all Galle Fort's historic sights, restaurants and shops.Each room has a queen size four-poster bed, AC and fan, satellite TV and DVD player, with guests free to choose from an extensive library of films and documentaries. Two of our rooms open out onto a private courtyard, while three others enjoy private balconies. One room offers a second queen-size bed on a mezzanine, perfect for families traveling with children. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, rainforest showers and luxury organic amenities. Wifi access is free throughout the house and our complimentary breakfast is a choice between the full English, Continental or spicy Sri Lankan omelette topped off with fruit salad, yoghurt and Muesli, fresh juices, Italian coffee and Sri Lankan teas. For lunch and dinner, guests are less than five minutes walk from all Galle Fort's delicious range of cafes and restaurants, serving everything from traditional Sri Lankan curry to the best of European and Asian fusion cuisine. Those wishing to stay in can order from the menu of Crepe-ology, one of Galle Fort's top ranking restaurants, who will deliver delicious savoury crepes, salads and sweets for guests to enjoy on our veranda, in the garden or on their private balcony or courtyard. Mango House also offers guests personalised services including airport pick up and drop off, restaurant and spa bookings, tours and a 24-hour concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mango House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing