We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mango House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Deco On 44(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amangalla(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
196
66
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
66
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely gardenbalcony roomboutique hotelgalle fortmangoquiet side streetpowerful showersri lankasmall balconybreakfast was deliciousentrance hallfamily roomthe ground floorfour poster bedpeaceful havenan oasissmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We only managed to stay at the Mango House for one night, however it was one of the most delightful and charming stays we have ever had in any hotel. Lovely and attentive staff, tasteful decor, delicious breakfast - all round a great place and very good value for money.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

It was lovely having you stay with us and we are very happy you had such a nice stay!

Thank you for the great review - It’s a shame you couldn’t stay longer, but hopefully you’ll be back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

In a quiet street you can found this hotel. At arrival you will receive a mango juice. You also get this with breakfast (fruit or yoghurt + english or continental). It has a laundry service, wifi and there is a choice of a lot of dvds to watch in your room. The room is clean. The bed was al little bit hard for my taste and even with the curtains down there was a lot of light coming into the room. It is located in the middle of the fort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for the review!

We have shaken it up a bit and while we still offer a freshly made mixed healthy juice with mangos for breakfast, we also offer a refreshing iced tea when guests arrive at the hotel.

It was a pleasure having you stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in mango house for 2 nights. Very friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. Nice clean room, if a little small. Comfy bed. Brilliant location right in the heart of Fort Galle. Delicious mango juice on arrival. Great places to eat nearby. They arranged taxi pickup from airport and were very helpful with any queries. Couldn't fault it. Worth the price.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank journeymanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your Mango-nificent review!

We were very happy to have you stay and are glad you liked Mango House!

You are more than welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Mango house is a gorgeous boutique hotel in a great location in galle fort. The decor in the entrance hall is beautiful and stylish. We loved the local art and elements of local decor. The staff are lovely and friendly. We thought Hugh (manager) was really great. Decent wifi and TV (although small and some channels don't work). The breakfast was the best we have had-freshly cooked lovely food. However, could offer a variety of juice flavours.

Unfortunately, we had booked the cheaper double room - 'the oriental room' which is on the ground floor in the foyer. Reception, kitchen, breakfast and the entrance/exit were literally right outside our room and window. This meant the room was quite loud and didn't feel private or relaxing.

Other little annoyances: a lot of light coming in through window at night, small and compact room, our room smelt damp and a dehumidifier was turned on hinting that there was a damp problem, wet room showers means whole bathroom gets soaked, need fitted sheets so they don't keep coming off.

Come to this hotel, it is by far the most beautiful in galle, just be wary of the cheaper ground floor double room. Get a courtyard or balcony room for sure, it is worth paying a bit more. Family room also looks nice. Note 2 of the balcony rooms are much bigger than the third.
We stayed in the ground floor room for 2 nights and then managed to move upstairs to the smallest balcony room which was better for us.

Room Tip: We think a large balcony room is best.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

It was great having you stay and thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and great review! Thank you also for your praise of the décor, the service and breakfast!

While we love the Oriental Room and we get a lot of positive feedback on the room, it is true it isn’t as secluded as the other rooms, which is one reason it is cheaper than the other rooms. We don’t have a damp problem, but we are aware that the tropical climate can leave rooms a bit muggy from time to time especially during the rainy season – so we sometimes leave the dehumidifier on to counter the problem. Along with the AC in the room and a daily airing that usually does the trick!

We were glad we were able to upgrade you to our courtyard and a balcony room during your stay and that you enjoyed the extra space and we very much hope you will visit us again at Mango House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really lovely such a change from all those marble floored shines hotels. We were made to feel welcomed and had a relaxing two days. Loved seeing the monkeys in the trees on the garden. The hotel is ideally located. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewerigoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

A huge thank you for your great review!

You are right – we have tried very hard to be a far cry from the marbled floored shiny hotels ☺ Hopefully Mango House is a home away from home to our guests where they can relax and enjoy their holiday.

The monkeys are also very welcome and definitely always great fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews