We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooftop Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Dew Guest House
Ranked #18 of 161 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This place is very adequate for a few days in Galle. The rooms are basic but clean. The rooftop restaurant is lovely with views over the Fort. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Although the website states that it has rooms with a sea view, one needs to come out of the room on to the balcony for a distance glimpse of the sea, over the ramparts. However, this was just a minor observation. The staff (Chaminda) was extremely polite yet not "in your face", the food was good and in liberal proportions. The room had a for poster double bed, a dressing table and a clothes rack. The toilet was clean and well lit. It didnt have a shower cubicle or curtain. A must try is their chocolate milk shake! The view over the balcony is on the road and a play ground and then the ramparts. The road can be quite noisy/ busy during the weekdays, but very peaceful and quiet during the weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view to the front would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

fort dew is just nextdoor to seagreen where we had stayed 2 nights. we moved to fort dew as seagreen was fully booked.

fort dew only have a few rooms so we were lucky to get one of the better rooms facing the sea. just outside the room, there is a small balcony where u can relax and watch local playing crickets or student marching at the field opposite.

room is basic, a bed and dressing table. it would have been better if they offer a chair. bathroom is ok but welcome some improvement.

there is a restaurant at the roof top that serves the coldest coke you can find in galle. a real treat on a hot day within the fort!! dinner atmosphere was also nice.

good value for a budget guesthouse.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljunied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

First you see the rooms and you can that it's a nice place. It has white sheets, fresh and clean. And you think to yourself;- yeah, I can sure stay at this place... Than you walk upstairs to the restaurants, and you'll find this mix between European and Sri lankan atmosphere and you have a beautifull oceanview, and you know that this is the place where you belong.
The staff is very warm, helpfull and welcoming. They will make sure that you'll have a pleasent stay. Nancy

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Spent one night at the Fort Dew after a very unpleasant experience at a another guesthouse which had been reccommended by a guide book. Our new tactics were to use trip advisor and we set off to view a handful of guesthouses that had received numerous good reviews. On the way to one suggestion we stumbled upon this gem. The guesthouse is relatively new. It has few rooms which are all simple and clean with four poster beds. Air con or fan choice. Bathroom is practical and clean. Room opens onto communal balcony. Whole guesthouse has dark wooden features giving character yet remaining bright and airy.

The restaurant on the roof (an addition 18 months ago) is great. Good selection of dishes - the Sri Lankan curries are a highlight. Good views over to the Fort Ramparts if mildly obscured by a large Frangipani tree which shelters a buddhist shrine so no sunset but also no big issue. Host really friendly, chatted to us for a while about our trip and made suggestions as to onward destinations.

Highly recommend staying at the guesthouse and either eating or simply taking a drink in the restaurant in the breeze.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in November! Took a non zircon room for around 2000+ rupees but that's off season price!
Room and toilet are clean, but our hot water isn't working ( not a problem due to the hot weather! )
Rooftop bar is a nice place to chill and relax, good spot for sunset!
Reasonably priced food, tasty too!
One of the most enjoyable stay in Sri Lanka (3 weeks!)!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nystul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights as part of the Gall Lit Fest, and we weren't sure of our accomodation until we arrived here. Needless to say, we were very pleasantly surprised with Fort Dew. It's very small with only a few rooms and a rooftop restaurant/bar, but it's got a nice homely vibe to it. The room was very comfortable if a bit bare, with a nice four-poster bed. The bathroom, while clean, could have been better furnished. The service was good, and the rooftop restaurant provided us with some really good food. All in all, for the price, it was well worth it. It's right next to the ramparts as well, and not far from the other more popular eating places, should you choose to dine elsewhere. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 26 in Galle
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 161 in Galle
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 161 in Galle
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#4 of 161 in Galle
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kikili House
Kikili House
#10 of 161 in Galle
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#6 of 161 in Galle
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Dew Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Dew Guest House

Address: No 22 Sri Sudharmalaya Rd, Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £53 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort Dew Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing