We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roof top:Perfect location to have sundowner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Dew Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fort Dew Guest House
Ranked #42 of 274 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Roof top:Perfect location to have sundowner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice roof top restaurant and little hotel aswell. I can only write about the restaurant, but would certainly consider taking a room the next time. We came across it while looking for a nice place to have a beer which you won't get everywhere within the fort. We also had food here and were very happy with it. Another big plus: Clean toilet facilities, and you can also take look into the kitchen. Perfect to end a daytrip to Galle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gronings_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    56
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
63
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The Sri Lankan breakfast (order the night before) on the top floor overlooking a field was the best we had in the 9 days we spent on the island. Egg hoppers and roti with 4 curries, ginger tea and juice. 

The building looks lovely from the outside but the rooms have seen better days. Little repairs and better house keeping would make a difference. The ventilation shaft of the bathroom of the room next door led directly into our bathroom so we could hear whatever toilet conversation our neighbours had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Room:
Our room was basic but ok, a little small.

Location:
The location of the hotel is very good: right in the middle of the Fort with a very nice view. However: this location also makes the hotel very noisy. Starting very early, traffic comes right across the hotel.

Other:
The restaurant on top of the hotel has very nice views.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FemkeNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This lovely clean hotel is both exceptional value for it's location and rooms but the best bit is the fantastic family that run this great little hotel. It has an amazing roof top terrace overlooking the fort wall and is in the best location for a sunset views and drinks. The family that run the hotel are great people who are both funny and welcoming and ensure you have a great stay. It's accomodation is basic but clean, spacious and good value, my girlfriend and I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Galle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I spent 3 nights in Fort Dew Guest House and can definitely recommend it. I was there during off-season (June) so I don't know about the normal prices, but for me the value offered was hard to beat. Best thing about the guest house is definitely the roof top terrace which is dining area and chill out playground at once. You have a very good view over the ocean and some local life going on. I could literally sit there for hours. Thanks to the very helpful and friendly staff I know now much more about Cricket than I ever hoped for in advance. By the way: all the meals I tasted were really high-class so also the food gets two thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyRomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Spent 3 nights at this friendly, laid back guesthouse with its balconies and dining area overlooking "the cricket pitch" and the fort's ramparts. The room was simple but had A/C, fan and a mosquito net. The bathroom was adequate. The hot and cold water system worked separately but wasn't a problem. Getting breakfast at a reasonable hour was a bit hit and miss but the friendliness of the staff made up for it. Good mix of travellers: young and old couples, families and locals. Good value for $50 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a room with A/C and balcony for a little extra comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I had to walk past this place three times before deciding that it was in fact the same place I saw online. They must have used some kind of special lens to make this place look bigger, because its positively miniscule and ramshackle compared to the pictures on its website. We were led to believe that it was a fairly new place, or at least newly renovated, from the photos on its website, which we believed was why the price was so much higher than other guesthouses in the vicinity. But Fort Dew is run down, dirty, with a very rude staff. There are so many other guest houses in that area for less than half the price of this place. Don't be fooled by their website, choose another place and save your money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#2 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort De 19 Villa
Fort De 19 Villa
#15 of 256 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#9 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#31 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#77 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Dew Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Dew Guest House

Property: Fort Dew Guest House
Address: No:22, Sri Sudharmalaya Rd, Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fort Dew Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing