We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Dew Guest House
Ranked #18 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Found the hotel through the very helpful tourist office opposite the train station.Comfortable room with mosquito netting.Rooftop Restaurant with good food and good service.Nice sea view.Everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

It's a lovely little guesthouse in the fort. Clean, bright and welcoming. We had a sea view room which was beutifull. There is a comfertable bed with a muskito net. The electric hot water device in the shower gives you a warm shower but with a very weak water flow, but this seems to be the standard in the coast area.
All in all, the best value in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Fort Dew hotel is just opposite a small Buddha temple, with the fort walls and the ocean in the back. Had a great and clean room with balcony along the house. Great people watching! Nice roof top terrace with good food. Staff is very friendly. The neighbour car has babies.

Room Tip: Ask for a window to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fausta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent one night here and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and well decorated and there was a balcony to sit out on and watch the world go by. There is a restaurant on the top floor with good views across the walls of the fort. Everything inside the fort is within easy walking distance. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't eat here but the menu looked reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Called in for a late lunch time snack & a good cool view at the top, good service & friendly staff, not expensive. a good location for parking opposite & avoiding the tourist crowds. Enjoy the walk around the area & take many beautiful photos.

Room Tip: look at room before showing passport & credit cards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice roof top restaurant and little hotel aswell. I can only write about the restaurant, but would certainly consider taking a room the next time. We came across it while looking for a nice place to have a beer which you won't get everywhere within the fort. We also had food here and were very happy with it. Another big plus: Clean toilet facilities, and you can also take look into the kitchen. Perfect to end a daytrip to Galle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gronings_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The Sri Lankan breakfast (order the night before) on the top floor overlooking a field was the best we had in the 9 days we spent on the island. Egg hoppers and roti with 4 curries, ginger tea and juice. 

The building looks lovely from the outside but the rooms have seen better days. Little repairs and better house keeping would make a difference. The ventilation shaft of the bathroom of the room next door led directly into our bathroom so we could hear whatever toilet conversation our neighbours had.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 25 in Galle
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 153 in Galle
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 153 in Galle
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 153 in Galle
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Dew Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Dew Guest House

Address: No 22 Sri Sudharmalaya Rd, Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort Dew Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing