We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Dew Guest House
Ranked #18 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We loved our room with the balcony outside overlooking the Galle fort wall and cricket pitch. We spent hours watching the sea water come over the wall, the monks next door, light traffic meander by, and the boys playing endless cricket. We were conveniently located near stores and attractions. The restaurant on top served an excellent seafood soup and breakfast. The owner was friendly and accommodating. The only complaint was that it takes a degree in engineering to figure out the hot water in the shower. This was a fitting stay on our last night of a fantastic tour, all arranged to perfection by our new friend, Bhathiya, of http://www.toursinsrilankabathiya.com

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Forget the expensive hotels in Galle for sleeping - pop into those for a spiffy afternoon tea or cool drink. For sleeping, the rooms at Fort Dew are all that you want - crisp white sheets - clean - friendly staff - good Sri Lankan food. Sit on the verandah for a grandstand view of the cricket matches being played on the other side of the road - and watch families fly kites from the ramparts. Gorgeous! You're right in the fort, so the location is as good as any more expensive place. I'd be happy to go again.
The only downside is that, as it's a lovely old place, the doorways are shorter, and the bed is the length of a standard double - so the very tall may struggle.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great view from the rooftop, which is a great spot to enjoy their excellent breakfasts. Great location within the fort - overlooking the little cricket pitch and convenient for a stroll around the walls. Rooms were clean and functional.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AB_and_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Room was basic but clean. Beds were comfortable. AC was effective. Toilet was adequate. Towels are changed on request and water bottles are provided if asked. Location is outstanding. Did not have breakfast as on one day we left early for our day trip and on the other day there was none available due to the Sinhala New Year. Price was a little on the high side considering that this is off-season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a nice,clean place situated inside the Galle fort. Its surroundings are the ground of the fort, temple Dutch church and lot of jewellery shops. There are nice places to have a bath in the sea where there are very little sea waves...
Food and rooms are perfect and the staff are ready helpful. Recommend for any local or foreign guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsadesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the end of our Sri Lanka trip. We arrived to everywhere being full and when we arrived so were they. In the end they gave us their son's room. It was clean, spacious and nice.

The family who owned it were very welcoming, Ravi spent plenty of time chatting and joking with us. He knew the fort and the people very well and spent time showing us around. Staff were very friendly and happy. You could tell it was a fun place to work. The kitchen is very clean, the food fantastic. I suggest trying their curry for dinner.

The friendliness of the Sri Lankans we met typified by the folk at this great guest house. Next time I'm in Galle definately staying here!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ayumsy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We found Fort Dew very good value. The owner speaks good English and was very accommodating in changing our reservation. He even offered us a shower in his private bathroom on the day of checkout as all rooms were occupied. We enjoyed the Sri. Lankan breakfast on the rooftop a lot!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BBMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 25 in Galle
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 153 in Galle
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 153 in Galle
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 153 in Galle
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Dew Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Dew Guest House

Address: No 22 Sri Sudharmalaya Rd, Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort Dew Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing