We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kimbulagala Watte restores and revives the soul.”
other travellers have booked this property
Crocodile rock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crocodile rock
Entrance of the front sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Crocodile rock
Entrance of the front
sitting room
Living area
Breakfast bar
Master bed room
Double bed room
Twin bed room
Bath room
Infinity pool
Fantastic lake views from the pool
Pool & the lake
Varendha
Glorious villa by the lake
Night view of the pool and the lake
Out side dining
Romantic evenings
Night view of the house
Tropical garden
Garden
Varendha
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BigBird33...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kimbulagala Watte restores and revives the soul.”
Reviewed 22 July 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Kimbulagala Watte manages to be luxurious and stylish as well as making you feel comfortable and at ease as soon as you set foot in it. And that's before you meet Shishika and her small team, who seemed to have a sixth sense for what we wanted before we knew it ourselves - like a delicious banana cake suddenly appearing with tea.
Nothing really is too much trouble without the feeling of being fussed over. We ate some really fantastic food - local favourites as well as international dishes. No matter how much you think you don't feel like breakfast, missing it is a mistake!
The villa oozes cool and serenity with generously proportioned en suite bedrooms, a large, well thought-out main living area and kitchen. Shuttered doors open out onto a broad veranda surrounding the villa which overlooks Koggala Lake - the perfect sunset trap.
There was always a tuk-tuk on hand to take us down the hill to the beach or the short distance into Galle for restaurants, shops and markets. The Fort alone is definitely worth a visit for its faded colonial grandeur, gorgeous shops and eateries.
Unspoilt paradise is necessarily a long way from transport hubs and the drive from Colombo is a long one, but most definitely worth it.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere was incredibly relaxing
Liked least: The distance/drive from and back to Colombo
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm57
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful villa in a majestic setting”
Reviewed 20 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We spent a fantastic time here over Easter with our 5 children .The Villa is set in a lovely position overlooking the lake the peace only interrupted by the inquisitive wildlife , a real fascination for the children. What a treat to be totally spoilt by the staff ,the cuisine was fantastic and hardly matched by any of the other restaurants nearby.Galle the local town had plenty of interesting shops and restaurants and the nearby beaches are still uncommercial and unspoilt. Jannake was really helpful and full of sound advice. We would love to come back here one day and would thoroughly recommend this villa

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJMT
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic week in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We spent time here in March of 2011 and had the most fantastic time, we spent half of our time relaxing at the stunning house enjoying the pool and cracking views of the lake, the other half at nearby places which had been recommended including the Fortress, Wijaya Beach, Mirissa Beach and some excellent restaurants on the way towards Gaulle. (all of which are within half an hour or less)

It was so nice to be completely relaxed for the week and in a great house with very generous proportions and great style. The food that was cooked at home was very good, I recommend going for the curry and rice and other local dishes.

A truly relaxing Holiday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lollypai
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Paradise come true”
Reviewed 28 June 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Kimbulagala Watte really was all our dreams come true when we stayed there as a family (2 adults, children aged 11 and 13) last year. Near enough to Galle to get in easily for a bit of shopping, touristing and dining but away enough to really feel the sense of peace and tranquility that this lovely home offers. We were so glad not to have chosen to stay near the beach (noisy waves and damp due to sea air) and be up in the hills giving balmy breezes in the evening with the lake glinting below in the moonlight. We spent many happy hours reading, sitting, sleeping, eating and playing games on the fabulously wide verandah.

The house was immaculately clean at all times, the beds exceptionally comfortable and food that was worthy of a 5* restaurant. The staff looking after us were kind, friendly, professional and discreet all at once. When we went out for the evening our children were given and Sri Lankan cooking lesson and loved every minute of it.

Would I go back there? In a heartbeat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara099
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a private tropical paradise, the perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 20 June 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving at Kimbulagala Watta and being greeted by Shashika offering cool drinks on veranda, with spectacular views of the lake below, made us forget our long drive from the Tea Trails. Watching the fishermen, the monkeys and the fabulous birdlife whilst the staff looked after our every need, cooling off in the deep rock pool, choosing from hundreds of books to read, we would have been happy never to leave the house! If you can drag yourself away there is much to see and do in the area - Janneke will point you in the right direction and will book restaurants, bike rides, canoe trip, whale watching and more. Shashika is a fantastic cook - her food was the best we had on the island. Will definitely be going back soon !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragon041
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unspoilt Paradise”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

One of the most unspoilt and rare finds for a peaceful, romantic and "get away from it all" holiday. The house is stunning, comfortable and authentically furnished with delightfully helpful staff. You will fall in love with Kimbula and this part of the world................can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$450
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing