We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Bliss Galle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Bliss Galle
Ranked #4 of 117 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This place is in a great location and the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. On this leg of the trip I was travelling solo and I felt very safe here, in some places the locks aren't great and anyone can access, but the Fort Bliss was secure. The guys who work here are friendly.

Room Tip: Try get an upstairs room. Great view of fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelLKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    93
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
147
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We reached Fort Bliss after our morning drive starting from Induruwa while exploring the Turtle Hatchery and a brief attempt at Snorkeling in Hikkaduwa. The moment we reached the Galle District center we were worried if had landed ourselves in a commercial center with a lot of noise. To our astonishment, the Fort Bliss was fairly peaceful (just what we wanted). The hotel is in the Dutch Fort and is meters away from the Lighthouse and Fort walls. Our check-in couldn't have been smoother as we were directed to our room peacefully. More so, the room was a jackpot - precisely as shown on Agoda pics. I would rate this place as the best in our entire trip to SL. The hotel is few meters away from Barista outlet, a few meters from Peddlars Inn Cafe and a few meters from Indian Hut (popular North Indian restaurant). In short perfect!

Room Tip: If you are two single travellers, book the standard room in the ground floor with twin beds. But be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explore_Tarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were only here a short time unfortunately having to leave at 2.30 am for the airport, but the rooms were clean and comfortable and had character, it's more a guesthouse than hotel. Great location in Galle Fort, which is lovely and easy to walk around, with limited traffic. Galle fort has some lovely shops but price tags to match!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dink20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Two nights in the centre of Galle Fort was a welcome change from the jungle hotels experienced so far. Fort Bliss is a very well appointed home with four rooms. Ours was very clean and well appointed. On arrival we were glad that our guide/driver was with us as the manager was a little vague and language barriers would have been a problem. However, we were delighted with the accommodation and, on the first morning, an excellent breakfast was provided. Unfortunately, depite advising the manager that we needed to leave by 8am on the second day, when we came down for breakfat at 7.15 he was fast asleep on the sofa! He could not be aroused until, by chance, a local came looking for him and had to physically shake him to wake up. despite this, and the lack of a second day breakfast, this was a good place to stay in order to explore the fortress town. Do visit Fortaleza for a fantastic dinner in tranquil surroundings, just three minutes walk away from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortBlissGalle, Manager at Fort Bliss Galle, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fort Bliss to spend your holiday in Galle. Your review is greatly appreciated as we sought to better our hotel, by the comments offered.
I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused by the steward present and assure you that we have taken steps to correct the situation.
We, at Fort Bliss welcome you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka for a more enjoyable experience.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. Everything about the experience was first class. We arrived in Galle on the new 1st class train service (well worth the 760 rupee fare - leather seats, tea in china cups, air conditioning and in carriage movie! See www.blueline.sl for details)
As we were too early to check in the staff let us leave our bagage and offered us coffee. We had the superiour room on the first floor with its 4 poster bed. The room was exactly as it appears on the hotels web site as was spotless. The breakfast was very good and the lounge area pleasant. The staff really make you feel at home and welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SriRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Loved the non hotel atmosphere of being in a restored home. Only gripe was that the fan in both rooms (upstairs) were squeaky enough for us to turn them off and resort to the during the night. Very clean and well furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful and stored our luggage for a day for an evening dash to Columbo. Thank you for being so accommodating. Great convenient location to explore Galle Fort.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel set perfect spot in the Galle Fort. The staff are fantastically friendly and welcoming. The rooms are thoughtfully set out, very clean and comfortable. The only reason not give a 5 rating seems trivial but was significant enough to disturb an otherwise peaceful night, and that was the position of the air con unit. Unfortunately it blew directly onto us in bed and was cold enough to wake us up, a shame as otherwise this may have been perfect.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#2 of 117 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Bliss Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Bliss Galle

Property: Fort Bliss Galle
Address: 84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Bliss Galle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Bliss Galle, a breath taking Dutch-style colonial villa situated in the paradise Fort of Galle, a UNESCO world heritage site. Overlooking the green swept ramparts and armed with an electrifying sea view, the villa is a sight to behold. Antique furniture alongside intricate Moroccan lamps adorn this exquisitely decorated four bedroom getaway. Modern facilities such as A/C, ceiling fans, hot water, Wi-Fi and cable TV in the lounge area are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Bliss Galle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing