We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful indeed!”
Review of Fort Bliss Galle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort Bliss Galle
Ranked #4 of 121 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful indeed!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at this charming B&B recently & absolutely enjoyed it. We had a room with a view of the beautiful ramparts & the ocean, the sound of the sea most pleasing, finely furnished, clean linen & a well appointed ensuite. An early morning stroll just outside offers magnificent sunrise views. Being a house with only 4 bedrooms, it has just enough guests at full house to make the shared living areas warm & communal but not crowded. The caretaker & cook are most helpful & serve a very fine breakfast, the pancakes excellent. Galle Fort in itself is such a ver charming place and this,a very handy place to explore it from. So many choices for eating places just a stroll away, quaint, posh, stylish, off the beaten track... or to any preference.

Room Tip: The end room upstairs has got to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilpand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    93
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
149
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
792 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

A wonderful old building that is so well situated in the old part of Galle Fort.A group of six ,so we had the place to ourselves .The upstairs rooms had views of the Indian Ocean ,I stayed in the room downstairs winch was a bit noisy when the workers arrived in the morning .
We were there during the monsoons so we had a lot of rain!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Convivial communal space where you have breakfast, with pretty clean and comfortable en suite rooms in colonial house next to the ramparts. Service warm and friendly, but low-key and reactive. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaDawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

At a stone's throw away from the Indian Ocean, the location can't be beaten. The hotel has only four rooms, which means the service is personal. The location makes a walk along Fort Galle quite easy. The room was wonderful with modern amenities except for a telly, which was located in the foyer. There're many restaurants in the vicinity. The area is safe and the sunset is best enjoyed from the ramparts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Fort Bliss and it's ideally placed to explore all that Galle Fort has to offer - everything within easy walking distance. We had the downstairs room, and while it would have been nice to have the views from the first floor it didn't really matter as we spent very little time in the room. It was a reasonable size, nicely furnished, very clean with a good sized shower room. The lounge/reception/breakfast room was beautiful, with high ceilings and interesting furnishings. We enjoyed meeting other guests from around the world at the breakfast table. The two young men who manage Fort Bliss on behalf of the owner were very friendly, pleasant and helpful. A lovely bed and breakfast in a unique building.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Tucked away down a side street (as everything is in Galle) was Fort Bliss. It had a laid back and charming and arabic feel and the whole place was beautifully clean, the bedroom was massive and the bathroom looked as though it had recently been modernised with a great walk-in shower and nice little touches. Thushara and Jayatha were most attentive and made the best banana pancakes for breakfast (not sure about the sliced olive for decoration though!) with a massive cafetiere of coffee. We were only staying one night and would have liked to have stayed longer but given that most of their clients turn over so quick, we were treated as friends and made so welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We really enjoyed our one night stay at the Fort Bliss in Galle. The location is excellent, inside the fort close to the lighthouse. Our room and bathroom were beautiful with a lovely four poster bed and an ocean view. We had to leave this hotel very early at 4am and the wonderful owners brought coffee to our room as we were getting ready and also made us a packed breakfast to take with us to the airport.
I would definately choose to stay here again if visiting Galle

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereToNextTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#2 of 121 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Bliss Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Bliss Galle

Property: Fort Bliss Galle
Address: 84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Bliss Galle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Bliss Galle, a breath taking Dutch-style colonial villa situated in the paradise Fort of Galle, a UNESCO world heritage site. Overlooking the green swept ramparts and armed with an electrifying sea view, the villa is a sight to behold. Antique furniture alongside intricate Moroccan lamps adorn this exquisitely decorated four bedroom getaway. Modern facilities such as A/C, ceiling fans, hot water, Wi-Fi and cable TV in the lounge area are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Bliss Galle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing