We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find!”
Review of Fort Bliss Galle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Bliss Galle
Ranked #2 of 142 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Fort Bliss was our 5 th stop on our trip around Sri Lanka. It is situated inside the fort and right by the edge of the ramparts overlooking the sea. It's an attractive and original Colonial building with 4 rooms so a nice homely feel to it. As you entered there was a large 'living area' where we ate breakfast.
Our room was upstairs right at the end so a beautiful sea view over the ramparts!! Good sized room with a nice bathroom.
Breakfast was freshly made with fresh fruit platter, eggs,toast, all you really need!
Well situated for exploring the fort area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, we would highly recommend this guest house for a trip to Galle especially if you want to stay within the Fort area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Fort Bliss Galle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

A lovely small guest house within the Old Fort, our room was immaculate, clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again if visiting Galle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is situated in Galle Fort, an ancient Fort devoloped during the colonial eras of Portugese, Dutch and English. The hotel also inherits the colonial architecture. Hotel and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Two pleasant boys are available for services. Ideal place for sight seen as two ancient churches one Dutch and Protestant, Marine museum and all the ancient buildings are just around Fortbliss. Hotel provides superb breakfast. The banana pancake not to be missed by visitors as nowhere else to be tasted. Good if the two boys would be clad in traditional colonial indigenous dresses.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at this charming B&B recently & absolutely enjoyed it. We had a room with a view of the beautiful ramparts & the ocean, the sound of the sea most pleasing, finely furnished, clean linen & a well appointed ensuite. An early morning stroll just outside offers magnificent sunrise views. Being a house with only 4 bedrooms, it has just enough guests at full house to make the shared living areas warm & communal but not crowded. The caretaker & cook are most helpful & serve a very fine breakfast, the pancakes excellent. Galle Fort in itself is such a ver charming place and this,a very handy place to explore it from. So many choices for eating places just a stroll away, quaint, posh, stylish, off the beaten track... or to any preference.

Room Tip: The end room upstairs has got to be the best!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilpand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

A wonderful old building that is so well situated in the old part of Galle Fort.A group of six ,so we had the place to ourselves .The upstairs rooms had views of the Indian Ocean ,I stayed in the room downstairs winch was a bit noisy when the workers arrived in the morning .
We were there during the monsoons so we had a lot of rain!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Convivial communal space where you have breakfast, with pretty clean and comfortable en suite rooms in colonial house next to the ramparts. Service warm and friendly, but low-key and reactive. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaDawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

At a stone's throw away from the Indian Ocean, the location can't be beaten. The hotel has only four rooms, which means the service is personal. The location makes a walk along Fort Galle quite easy. The room was wonderful with modern amenities except for a telly, which was located in the foyer. There're many restaurants in the vicinity. The area is safe and the sunset is best enjoyed from the ramparts.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morningsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
538 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#2 of 23 in Galle
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 142 in Galle
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Bliss Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Bliss Galle

Address: 84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £44 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Bliss Galle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Bliss Galle, a breath taking Dutch-style colonial villa situated in the paradise Fort of Galle, a UNESCO world heritage site. Overlooking the green swept ramparts and armed with an electrifying sea view, the villa is a sight to behold. Antique furniture alongside intricate Moroccan lamps adorn this exquisitely decorated four bedroom getaway. Modern facilities such as A/C, ceiling fans, hot water, Wi-Fi and cable TV in the lounge area are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Bliss Galle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing